We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel! 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Ranked #4 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel! 10/10”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a special occasion and were not disappointed! We stayed 3 nights Tues - Friday.

The moment you walk into the hotel you are met with beautiful decor and super friendly staff. We did originally book a 'standard' room, but were a bit disappointed at the lack of a window. We missed having a natural light, so decided to upgrade to the 'premium' room. The only real difference was the window and balcony - but for only 20 euros I would recommended the upgrade. The road outside wasn't that loud at night, and we couldn't hear anything with the windows closed.

The hotel staff made my birthday perfect, with excellent restaurant recommendations and I even returned to Ice Cream in my room - a big winner in my opinion. I cannot praise them enough from the bell boys, reception staff, room service and house keeping. (House keeping was good enough to tidy my horrendously messy make up!)

The location was great, the Cheucca district is modern, young and hip. Take time to explore and you will find something to your tastes, we HATED the Gran Via and the Cheucca district offered us a true Madrid experience.

Restaurants that we enjoyed included - Cafe Olivier (I think that's what it's called) and Pecado Carnal.



A small note in general for Madrid - during a bike ride around the park we were cornered by 5 teenage girls who INSISITED that we gave them money for a charity. We politely declined, but they subsequently became quite forceful and intimidating to the point of asking for our ID, Credit Cards and phones before trying to split us up. As a young couple we were able to be forceful enough with them to leave us alone but I fear that anyone on their own or an older couple may struggle to avoid their insistence for 'charity donations’. As for any city, have your whit’s about you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the premium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Catherine H,

Thank you so much for taking a bit of your time to write about us!

That's great news that you really enjoyed one of our Premium rooms and the cosy balcony that comes with it. But we also would like to thank your comments and compliments to our staff. We all very excited about it!

The tips provided about your walk around Madrid are also very helpful for future guests!

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,336
    295
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
150
960
104
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in a Premium Double. Big bathroom with large shower Everything you need in your room is provided, toothbrush,hairdrier, hair tongs, bathrobes,wifi, flatscreen tv etc. Our room overlooked a covered courtyard so you did have natural daylight. One window was frosted out and couldn't be opened so we don't know where this looked onto The room was very quiet with excellent aircon We arrived on a Sunday and on entering the street I was a bit put off because the area seemed to be a little rundown with graffiti on some buildings. However the next day the whole area was very vibrant and thriving and the graffiti didn't much matter. The hotel is approx 15 mins walk from P. del Sol with lots of shops and bistros on the way Tube nearby and very close to Prado Museum The staff in the hotel couldn't do enough for you They are lovely and certainly make you want to return My only downside was I would have liked to have tea/coffee making facilities in my room. However I didn't ask until the last day and the staff said they would have sorted something out for me so my fault Learn from my mistake you want something ask! Bar and lounge areas very comfortable. Didn't use restaurant so can't comment but breakfast appeared to be served all day! - We would certainly go back and highly recommend a stay

Room Tip: Bear in mind overlooking the courtyard is NOT an outside space so don't think you are opening wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamick999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear shamick999,

What a fantastic review!

The team is very excited that you enjoyed the whole experience at the Only YOU Hotel & Lounge!

Can't wait to see you again around us!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is ideally located a short walk from the city centre which is looking tired and tacky anyway. It is about half way to the Salamanca area which is where the best shops and restaurants are located. The hotel itself is tucked away in an ordinary side street in an area which is worth exploring for its small authentic bars and restaurants. The bar, lounge, restaurant and reception areas are not large but very comfortable and elegantly appointed and decorated in modern style. The rooms are all situated around a central atrium, the base of which is the restaurant. The rooms themselves are a little small we were upgraded from a standard to a deluxe but it was still cramped with little wardrobe space and storage so we ended up living out of our cases. However the appointment and decor are excellent with great wifi, AC and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom lacked a bath (not unusual) but was spacious with twin basins and a shower the whole family could have fitted in and again beautifully appointed. We did not try the restaurant for an evening meal but if the al la carte breakfast service was anything to go by, it would have been superb. A superb breakfast menu was presented by very smart and attentive waitresses and the food preparation was outstanding. We used the bar where as you would expect the price were high but again the staff were helpful and attentive. But for me the highlight of this hotel is the customer service at the reception, without exception they were all outstanding, going out of their way to make sure everything was to your liking and to help with directions and general advice on attractions restaurant and travel. The only downside was the fact that they have roofed the atrium with poly carbonate which when it rains makes a noise like a jet taking off! Fortunately it does not rain very often.

Room Tip: Look for Only you in other locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for writing such a nice review on Trip Advisor!

It is true that the Only YOU Hotel & Lounge counts on a great location right in the middle of the action but far enough from the crowds!

Thank you for pointing out our "great wifi access, the Air Conditioning system and our very comfortable beds". We are improving our services on a daily basis and always trying new things, so your feedback is much appreciate it.

The whole crew at the Only YOU Hotel & Lounge would love to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Good hotel about 5 minutes from Gran Via. Only concern is that the rooms are a bit small , as is the case with most hotels in good locations. Excellent hotel and excellent staff. Had a great stay.
Would come back again !!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishwasj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Vishwasj84,

It is a pleasure to learn that the Only YOU is an "excellent" hotel. Thank you for your kindness!

Can't wait to see you again at our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for four nights as a (gay) couple.

Loved the location of the hotel in the Chueca district, lots of restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood, close to the metro and a short walk to the Gran Via and tourist sights.

Loved the entrance and the lobby decor. Stunningly designed. We received a warm welcome and were offered some refreshments on arrival. Had a premium room with a lovely large terrace and soaring ceiling in the bedroom. Very comfortable bed. There was a lot of space but it was oddly laid-out; the space outside of the bedroom was long and narrow and pretty useless for anything other than walking between the bathroom and the bedroom. Limited storage was a problem.

Front-desk staff was warm and friendly, but we didn't ask them for much advice. The bar was nice and served great cocktails. Didn't use room service, but had an ice bucket delivered (EUR3.50 charge).

We didn't have breakfast included in our rate (although it should have been). We tried the breakfast once during our stay and it was utterly bewildering...no prices on the menu and impossible to figure out how it worked. The staff tried hard to explain it, and finally just asked us how hungry we were and brought some breads, meats and cheeses, but I had no idea whether it was going to cost 10 EUR or 50! (Turned out to be 10.) I just think there must be a way for it to be less confusing.

A special comment about the wifi. Fast, reliable wifi is extremely important to me, and this hotel failed miserably. The service kept dropping, the speed varied wildly, and it was unreliable, which made it difficult to make plans and reservations without using up precious international roaming data. There was computer in the lobby, but this was inconvenient, and for this level of hotel the wifi is something that they just need to get right, and we were very disappointed.

I enjoyed the experience but thought that it was overpriced for what was received (our rate was about EUR280 per night). I don't mind paying for five star experiences, but in this case I feel like I got a four star stay at a five star price. I was looking to be blown away and I simply wasn't

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Dm0,

Can't stop reading your words about our staff! Thank you for your kindness!

Our free wifi access should be fast and easy to use, and would like to apologize if it was not during your stay. At the Only YOU Hotel & Lounge, we believe that there is not better way to learn than from our mistakes, so thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sorry if you found our brekkie menu a bit over the top. We wanted to make it a little bit different from all those boring buffets... Please, come back soon and we will make sure that your breakfast experience will be amazing!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arranged travel to Spain and Portugal through a Madrid travel agency, which was excellent. However, although the hotel was in a good location and the staff unbelievably helpful, our room was disappointing for the following reasons. There were essentially no or little storage areas so we were essentially living out of our suitcases. The bathroom, although very modern in decor and of excellent quality, like the rest of the hotel, was open and not enclosed so that taking a shower got a good deal of the rest of the bathroom wet. The bathroom appeared to be arranged for a wheel chair bound or disabled person, which we are not. We did complain later to the tour operator, who was perplexed but found out that we were in the wrong room. They were not satisfied with the explanation given to them. They were most annoyed, apologetic and refunded part of the cost of the room to us. At the end of our stay, I mentioned the above to the front desk of the hotel who mentioned that we should have complained. My thought was that it is up to the hotel to place the visitor in the correct room and should not need to have the visitor complain before there is some correction.

It may be the room we should have had is much better. I am left with the thoughts that they should have known better and we should have complained earlier. The other point to make is that the staff was very helpful in all other matters, and somewhat surprised that this type of problem would occur at all. The location of the hotel was great, the breakfasts were sit down any time of the day, good but not raves.

Room Tip: Better have a clear idea of what the amenities of your particular room are. Hopefully this is a one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Theodore N,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us!

We really appreciate your comments with regards the helpful staff and good location.

Regarding your room allocation, we would love to apologize should our staff at the front desk could not satisfy your request. The room where you stayed was one of our Accesible rooms which are actually much bigger than a standard room to let a wheelchair user to move around.

Please, next time you are coming to stay with us, send us and email or give us a call and we will make it up for you.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We loved everything about this very attractively decorated hotel situated right in the heart of Madrid. We were lucky enough to have four very comfortable nights is this stunningly decorated hotel. We had booked a junior suite and were delighted to find that we also had a large and comfortable roof terrace.
The staff could not have been more friendly and charming if they tried. The breakfasts were delicious, and the bar, in the evening was a fun please to be Everyone did their utmost to make us welcome .
If I was to make a couple of criticisms they would be that there was not really enough storage space for clothes in the bedroom, and the bathroom, although appearing spacious, because of it's design, was actually rather cramped.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Madrid, but having read other reviews on Tripadvisor, I would be weary about which room I booked.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms looking into the courtyard. Go for a suite or a junior suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GainsboroughLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayre Hoteles A, Guest Relations Manager at Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear GainsboroughLondon,

It is an honour to read such a lovely review!

We are very excited to learn that you enjoyed the whole experience at the Only YOU Hotel & Lounge, from the yummy brekkie in the morning to our helpful staff.

Thank you and be welcome to come back anytime!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
991 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
Only YOU Hotel Atocha
#11 of 436 in Madrid
349 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 436 in Madrid
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid

Property: Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Address: Calle Barquillo 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid is designed for you, to make your stay in Madrid a unique experience, whether you're visiting the Spanish capital for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the center of Madrid, on Calle Barquillo, just a few meters from Paseo de Recoletos and the Chueca neighborhood. The carefully designed interiors by Lazaro Rosa Violan complement the beauty of the building (a former Palace, dating from 19th century), giving the hotel an eccentric touch with colonial-style color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ayre Hoteles, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing