We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostal in Great Location”
Review of Hostal Acapulco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Acapulco
Ranked #8 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable clean rooms. A great value. Its location just off Puerta del Sol couldn't be more convenient to major sights, metro (with links to train stations and airport), shopping, restaurants --- everything. Puerta del Sol is full of life, yet our room was blissfully quiet. It was so pleasant, we stayed there twice during our multi-city trip to Spain (before and after touring cities in Andalusia), and left luggage there between stays in complete confidence that it would be looked after. Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else upon a return visit to Madrid!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regenbogenforelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My second trip to Madrid and glad to come back to stay at Hostal Acapulco. It is a good base to see all the sights in Madrid and make day trips to nearby cities. Close to the Metro, walking distance to all the sights in Madrid, Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemiza, Reina Sofia, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Gran Via, etc. Javier and his staff will go out of their way to help you and make sure you have everything you need. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 317Phil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I could have simply repeated all of the positive points made by the previous reviewers but I decided not to do that. Instead, I will simply make a couple of points. First of all, we had a room with a balcony and we stayed over a weekend. And yes, Saturday evening was quite noisey. However, Sunday and Monday evenings were very quiet. We loved being able to look out onto Plaza del Carmen and the plaza is a great place to retire to for a late evening glass of wine. Secondly, inspite of all the warnings, we always felt safe and secure even in the evenings on Puerta del Sol. Nevertheless, one needs to be aware of ones surroundings. Finally, the TI in Plaza Mayor has a better map of the center. Ask the desk for directions as Plaza Mayor is not on the Hostal's map. In all aspects, Hostal Acapulco is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's called a hostel but it's more like a hotel. I had a private room with a balcony overlooking the square. The location was absolutely perfect, only a few blocks from Puerta del Sol.

This is a family-owned hotel, occupying one floor of a building. The staff were probably the most friendly of any I encountered in my month-long trip. I felt great about supporting a local, family-owned business. They will even take care of your laundry (for free!) for stays longer than three days.

I would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Request a balcony--the square below is fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am a 20-year-old university student who traveled to Madrid on her own! Hostal Acapulco was clean and located in the heart of the city! The people were friendly! Both English and Spanish were spoken. The workers were kind and could answer any travel questions while providing free maps. Drinks were available 24 hours and the price was right! PS- Javier sends personal e-mails and makes you feel like part of the family! Thanks Hostal Acapulco! -Alexa

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my sister. The rooms are big and spacious, super clean. The service was excellent. Javier and Marco are super nice. Flu from Barcelona to Madrid and my luggage stayed in Barcelona. Javier, was so nice that he made some calls to the Airport for me and gave the news that my luggage was arriving later that afternoon. The location is excellent. I will recomend this Hostal to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Hostal Acapulco was perfect for our 6 days visit to Madrid this past October. Overlooking the Plaza del Carmen, it's a great location with clean, comfortable and bright rooms, A/C, mini-fridge. Gran Via, the metro, Puerta del Sol are just minutes away. Service was excellent- thank you, Javier, and staff!! The Hostal Acapulco was an excellent value in beautiful Madrid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
NH Madrid Ventas
#58 of 440 in Madrid
832 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 440 in Madrid
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 420 in Madrid
263 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#2 of 420 in Madrid
369 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 420 in Madrid
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acapulco

Address: Salud 13, 4th Floor. Madrid | Plaza del Carmen, Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 420 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £43 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run place in the heart of Madrid ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Acapulco Hotel Madrid
Hostal Acapulco Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing