We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, basic room with great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Acapulco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good value, basic room with great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I should start by saying that Javier is the most responsive and helpful person I’ve ever dealt with when booking hotels by email. He usually replied within an hour and could answer any question. My daughters needed to train for swimming while we were in Madrid, and he was so helpful at finding us a nearby indoor pool. Hostal Acapulco is in a great part of town, little markets in the plaza right across the street, metro nearby and only a few minutes walk to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. We had a triple room with balcony, it did get a little noisy at night (we were there just after Christmas so the city was very busy, but we were tired enough to get back to sleep. Beds are on the hard side, but not unusual for Spain. Good place for breakfast right below, which opens around 8am. Hairdryer available from reception, small fridge in room was great, clean and serviced daily. Wifi also worked really well, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    174
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
227
75
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Members of our family have stayed at Hostal Acapulco on three different occasions. With its convenient location, immaculately clean rooms, reasonable prices, and extremely helpful staff, why would we go anywhere else? Javier speaks excellent English and knows what questions to answer almost before you ask them. He helped us avoid tourist traps, guided us to excellent restaurants we never would have found on our own, and was always attentive to our family's particular needs. The entire staff is gracious and flexible. Javier remembers us each time we return; there is truly a personal touch to this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hostal Acapulco is an excellent place to stay in Madrid. It is centrally located near Puerta del Sol with easy transportation by taxi or metro. Very comfortable rooms, friendly helpful and courteous staff. We were pleasantly surprised with a room with a balcony overlooking Plaza Carmen. There are also excellent places to eat within walking distance including a vegetarian restaurant, and for early morning, a cafeteria. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014CEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable clean rooms. A great value. Its location just off Puerta del Sol couldn't be more convenient to major sights, metro (with links to train stations and airport), shopping, restaurants --- everything. Puerta del Sol is full of life, yet our room was blissfully quiet. It was so pleasant, we stayed there twice during our multi-city trip to Spain (before and after touring cities in Andalusia), and left luggage there between stays in complete confidence that it would be looked after. Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else upon a return visit to Madrid!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regenbogenforelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My second trip to Madrid and glad to come back to stay at Hostal Acapulco. It is a good base to see all the sights in Madrid and make day trips to nearby cities. Close to the Metro, walking distance to all the sights in Madrid, Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemiza, Reina Sofia, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Gran Via, etc. Javier and his staff will go out of their way to help you and make sure you have everything you need. A home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 317Phil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I could have simply repeated all of the positive points made by the previous reviewers but I decided not to do that. Instead, I will simply make a couple of points. First of all, we had a room with a balcony and we stayed over a weekend. And yes, Saturday evening was quite noisey. However, Sunday and Monday evenings were very quiet. We loved being able to look out onto Plaza del Carmen and the plaza is a great place to retire to for a late evening glass of wine. Secondly, inspite of all the warnings, we always felt safe and secure even in the evenings on Puerta del Sol. Nevertheless, one needs to be aware of ones surroundings. Finally, the TI in Plaza Mayor has a better map of the center. Ask the desk for directions as Plaza Mayor is not on the Hostal's map. In all aspects, Hostal Acapulco is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place. It's called a hostel but it's more like a hotel. I had a private room with a balcony overlooking the square. The location was absolutely perfect, only a few blocks from Puerta del Sol.

This is a family-owned hotel, occupying one floor of a building. The staff were probably the most friendly of any I encountered in my month-long trip. I felt great about supporting a local, family-owned business. They will even take care of your laundry (for free!) for stays longer than three days.

I would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Request a balcony--the square below is fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acapulco

Property: Hostal Acapulco
Address: Salud 13, 4th Floor. Madrid | Plaza del Carmen, Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run place in the heart of Madrid ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Acapulco Hotel Madrid
Hostal Acapulco Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing