We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location of a very new and modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Ranked #59 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location of a very new and modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is obviously a very new hotel making it look very nice and unworn. Added to its great location just on the Gran-via making it a great choice for most type of visitors, primarily leisure yet business guest will be able to find it comfortable just as much, given the rate is reasonable.
Room was a bit on the small side though didn't feel very tight at least not for me being single person.
Business traveler may find the desk as too small for conveniently working a laptop and this is increased by all the things that are placed on the table: coffee machine (executive room) and phone and desk lamp - I would recommend to hotel staff to look for other arrangement to allow more desk space.
Few bad points to mention: Noise isolation does not seems to be of the best, its not that I've heard any people talking but rather heard pretty clear knocking when the next room was being cleaned as well as doors slammed in the hallway.
In addition, the cleaning staff had its equipment spread across the floor blocking the way even at 4:00pm afternoon which I found a bit annoying. It was cleared later in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Y66,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us!

We really appreciate your feedback and take your comments into account for future actions.

We apologize for the inconveniences caused during your last stay in relation to the noise isolation. Next time, please let us know and we will change your room to a quieter room.

Concerning your comment referencing the desk size and distribution, we have already change the distribution of the stuff on the table giving response to several guest's reviews.

Please, next time you are coming to stay with us, send us and email or give us a call and we will make sure 100% pleasant stay.

Kind Regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    268
    71
    20
    6
See reviews for
89
373
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 4 night stay in this lovely new hotel funky hotel. While the rooms were not overly large (with 2 suitcases and other assorted bags we still has room to move around), they were certainly comfortable, especially the beds. The bathroom was also good with a large shower that had options for overhead or side water flow. The size of the room did not concern us because when at the hotel we spent little time in the room and when at the hotel most of our time was on the roof terrace taking in the atmosphere and talking to other guests. The breakfast area was not large and breakfast was essentially a continental breakfast, the types of fruit wa limited to 2 and my wife could not eat one of the fruits offered. The staff were great and attentive to our requests (one of whom also helped us when he had already signed off the day and out of his hotel uniform). Our room had a window facing the side street and not far from the hustle of Gran Via but we were never disturbed by street noise. The curtains were fantastic and virtually blocked out all light. Overall, a lovely hotel that is recommended and made better by its position just off Gran Via.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BeeJayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear BeeJayAustralia,

What a great review! Thank you!

The team would love to thank you for sharing this incredible experience with us and we would love to see you back soon!

Kindest Regards,

Rafael Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for one night. The room was comfortable but quite small. Our room also had no view and was very dark. You had no idea whether it was day or night. The rooftop is great and quiet (you didn't here any noise from the Grand Via). The swimming pool was small and not heated so nobody used it. Service and food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Eric S.,

First of all thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is very important and we take your comments into account very seriously.

We are glad you enjoyed our roof top terrace, it is an unique selling point of the hotel and we are doing our best to improve the guest experience.

Concerning your room, unfortunately our interior rooms are darker than the rest but as you say they are as comfortable as the others.

In response to several guest's reviews like yours, we are installing a heater in our pool in order to warm the water and make possible better guest experience.

Next time you pass by, please do not hesitate to visit us, we will be delighted to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,

Rafael Ramirez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This Hotel is new. BEAUTIFULLY PLANNED BOUTIQUE HOTEL that surprises you in many ways.
Decor, planning ,rooftop pool and bar and 1st floor Restaurant.
Comfortable bedrooms with thick mattresses to sooth you after a day walking this lovely City. Great showers (no bath) so what The Restaurant is great. We ate there 3 times without loss of quality or service.
Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms have no view. We slept well anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Yechezkel ,

It's a real pleasure to receive such a wonderful review. All the team work very hard to deliver the best service to our guests and this kind of comments encourage us to continue working with the same passion and love. Because the key is that we love what we do.

As you could try, our restaurant surprises with its refinement and quality, and our goal is to make it gastronomic reference in the city.

Lookig forward to receiving you again at the hotel in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is brand new and everything is clean to standard ! Wifi is fast, ihg status honoured, small rooms ( everywhere in Madrid city centre) with a big rainforrest shower, the breakfast buffet was quite limited but high quality (12 euro if you need to pay).
Fancy roof top bar with small pool but the view isn't all that beautifull...

it's located in the centre of Madrid, 25 min by metro (€5) /taxi (€30) from the airport

If the price is right ( <€150 with breakfast ) this hotel is my "go-to hotel"" for Madrid !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oester83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Oester83,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review!

We are happy you decided to stay with us, but we are even happier to read that you had a great time at Hotel Indigo Madrid-Gran Via.

As you say we are within walking distance of all the main touristic places, and we are in the most upcoming neighbourhood in Madrid. Next time you visit us please don`t leave with out trying our restaurant. You wont regret it!!

Hope to meet you in your next trip to Madrid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Really pleased with finding Hotel Indigo. From the moment I checked in, all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculately clean and I loved the waterfall shower in the morning - I will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafael R, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Andy,

Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. For us it is very helpful to know that we are doing things right and that our customers are satisfied.

It is a pleasure to offer our clients the best service, and your comments help us to improve every day.

Looking forward to seeing you in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It's not a bad hotel. However, my expectations had been a lot higher as the rate was very high, despite my stay being during a quiet weekend [most of my regular hotels in Madrid were around half the price].

Starting with the positives:
- Good location, towards the better end of Gran Via.
- Good bedding.
- Installations are brand new
- Staff very pleasant (perhaps a bit less formal than what you'd encounter in most hotels in town, but that's probably a positive for me).
- Large TV with a very ample selection of channels (although there were only a handful of non-hispanohablante networks)
- Late checkout request cheerfully accepted.

No shortage of negatives, however:
- Basic rooms are quite small.
- The fit and finish of certain things could have been better (e.g. bathroom fittings with exposed screws).
- The Nespresso machine came with no usage instructions, and the coffee cups were completely inappropriate for espresso.
- Breakfast buffet was laughably small, the cheese and charcuterie options were high-quality, but it was obvious that a lonchafinista (thin slices, and not a lot of them in the plate) policy was in place to discourage patrons from eating too much of them.
- No hot items available at breakfast. Asked for mushrooms and was told that I had to order a full English at extra cost! In the end, they relented and brought me some, but they still ended up charging me an extra €2 for them.
- A newspaper was ordered but never delivered to my room.
- The walk-in shower wasn't designed very cleverly and managed to almost flood the bathroom floor despite the glass divider.

In summary, the hotel is not that bad, and it may improve with time (it opened very recently), but there are better options available, probably at better prices too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Desanerxomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Desanerxomai,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#18 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,549 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#19 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via

Property: Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Address: Calle Silva 6, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing