We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sucked”
Review of Hostal Numancia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Numancia
Ranked #296 of 391 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sucked”
Reviewed 18 June 2008

I thought this placed looked decent, but when I arrived it looked was old and cramped. For some reason I was brought to the hostel below, Hostel Graciela, the room was miniature, extremely old, and felt very unclean. I was in a room right next to the front door, so the buzzer to get in was going off all night. I came home and checked Graciela's website, the photos are very misleading and the room should have been 8 euros less then what I had paid. I was there only ten hours and was very happy to leave.

Pension Adeco, however, also in Madrid was a nice, clean, comfortable place to stay for only 2-5 euros more!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dldidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
1
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad & Tobago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Stay in this hostal to save money while enjoying a convenient location near to a metro station and within walking distance of the Plaza Major, Gran Via and most sights.

While I would NEVER take my girlfriend here, I can recommend it for the budget savy. Bring along a can of Lysol to give the room a good spay down!

  • Liked — Cheap, convenient.
  • Disliked — Seedy neighbourhood, old building, questionable sanitation, noisy.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

I chose the hostal numancia purely on the basis of price. At under 20 euro a night for a private room it saved me a lot of money while I was finding my feet in Madrid.

I booked a single but was given a twin, with a sink, wardrobe and small table. The room was a nice size for one, but may have been a bit more of a squeeze if there were two and you had a lot of luggage.

There were indeed only two bathrooms, but both were very clean and outside peak times there wasn't too much of a queue. The place seemed to mostly be frequented by groups of young italians and was very noisy at night, but at the prices they charge and given the part of town its in, that's pretty much to be expected.

It is located south of the gran via in a rather seedy part of town, and I felt a bit unsafe outside as a young woman alone after midnight, but I had no problems and in a group wouldn't anticipate problems.

I left a pile of books at the hotel and after emailing got a quick response and was able to pick them up two days later.

I probably wouldn't stay here again because I would rather pay a bit more to stay in a safer part of town, or pay less and have the friendliness of a youth hostel but my experience here was pretty positive overall and the staff were friendly.

  • Liked — value, sink in room
  • Disliked — noise, seedy location, shared bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osprey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

While this hostel is well located near the metro and in the center of town (though not in a very good neighborhood), that is the only thing that it has to recommend it. The whole place smells bad, and although there is no smoking in the rooms (supposedly), the air in the reception and the hallway is so thick with cigarette smoke that it's hard to breathe. On top of that, the room we stayed in had bed bugs, as we found out when we woke up covered in large, itchy red bumps. The staff was courteous but far from friendly, and there are only two bathrooms in the whole place, so unless you are willing to get up quite early, you will fight for the bathroom or skip your shower when you finally lose patience.

If you are strapped for cash, this could be an acceptable option, but make sure that you check your mattress carefully for bugs before you accept the room!

  • Liked — near the metro
  • Disliked — smell of smoke and bedbugs
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevilla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2007

I thought the hostel was well situated, but in fact the street was rather unsafe. Three guys surrounded me when i was drawing money and tried to deturn my attention to steal from me.
The hostel itself: the building is nice and clean from the outside but the inside is not as new, it's actually being redone so maybe in a few years it will be better. It's not cosy, nor welcoming.
The room was small but OK, the bathroom rather clean.
The person seemed nice but she wrote me an injurious e-mail because i left a neutral opinion on another website, so they're not as friendly as you might think they are!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — not safe
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Willishew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2007

Great location, nice and big rooms, very clean, friendly staff, cheap prices,...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank John0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2007

The hostel was clean and the staff were friendly. The location is pretty convienient to the the Metro, however don't try hailing a cab in front of the building the morning of your flight. There weren't any available cabs that drove by. We had to walk up the hill a few blocks with suitcases. I would say the worst part of staying there was the lack of A/C. The area is obviously a hot spot for the night life, and if you happen to be in an outside room, forget about sleeping with the windows open. There were always drunk people outside the building screaming and loud trucks driving by. It was mid-June, and it was hot. I had to open the window and would wind up sleep deprivied, with a stinky room. Do yourself a favor and stay at a real hotel with A/C and a doorman to hail you a cab.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank YaMomma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Pacios
Hostal Pacios
#292 of 391 in Madrid
41 reviews
Huertas
Far Home Atocha Hostel
Far Home Atocha Hostel
#43 of 391 in Madrid
89 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Tokio
Hostal Tokio
#111 of 391 in Madrid
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Pension Numancia
Pension Numancia
#78 of 278 in Madrid
18 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hostal Las Cortes
Hostal Las Cortes
#152 of 278 in Madrid
43 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Pizarro
Hostal Pizarro
#72 of 391 in Madrid
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Numancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Numancia

Property: Hostal Numancia
Address: Calle Magdalena 8 | Plaza de Tirso de Molina square, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 391 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Numancia 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single and double rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Numancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing