We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras
Ranked #46 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Having read the previous reviews, I emailed the hotel before we left home to ask for a room at the back of the hotel as I'm sensitive to noise. We got given a room on the 2nd floor, about the middle, and had very little problems with noise. The exception was Saturday night, with noisy revellers in the street playing the trumpet at 2am! Can't really blame the hotel for that though.

Otherwise, the hotel was good - modern, clean room and good sized bathroom. I have to agree the lighting was shocking, although the side lamps were good enough to read by. The central location was really great, handy for both sides of town and with a decent supermarket nearby.

Overall, we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhNoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

The front desk was friendly throughout the stay. The room on the 3rd floor was nice enough, though the noise from the street was sometimes frustrating. I recommend a room away from the street. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

If you expect to get to sleep before 4am don't stay here. If you are here to party all night
then the place is great, good value, clean room, fast internet. But the road noise and the band noise from the restaurant make it impossible to sleep. It is 1:00am as I write this review and the pounding bass and drum machine means I will still be up for several hours in spite of the fact that I have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eab405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a long weekend in Madrid staying at the Hotel de las Letras. Upon arriving in Madrid we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which cost around €30 and took about 30mins. It is possible to take the metro all the way from the airport to Gran Via metro station (which is only a 2min walk from the hotel). We did this on our return to the airport. As we were only carrying one small piece of baggage each this was not much of a problem, however do be warned that this is not a direct route so you have to make a couple of line changes on the way and depending on the time of day the metro can be very busy! The bonus is it only costs €1 to ride the metro plus a €1 supplement for travel to the airport. The journey by metro took about 45mins.

We were given a very warm welcome by the friendly reception staff that quickly checked us in. All of the staff we encountered on the hotel desk spoke perfect English and were more than happy to help with any questions we had, directions to attractions and suggestions for things to see and do. The hotel's location on the Gran Via is good for exploring the city. Madrid is very pedestrian friendly and we walked easily to most destinations from the hotel. If however walking is not your thing or you need to get somewhere further afield there are a number of metro stations close by. We only used the metro on a couple of occasions but from this little experience found it very easy to use, safe, frequent and cheap!

The exterior of the hotel and the public areas look great. The modern touches compliment the historic building very well. Carpets and curtains in the public areas are a lovely deep red, contrasting against the beautiful stone staircase and wooden floors. The original iron elevator has been kept in the centre of the staircase which looks fantastic. There is a wonderful roof terrace with planting and seating and great views across the city skyline. I believe there is a seasonal bar on the roof terrace but this was not open during our stay. The main restaurant/bar is again very well decorated in a similar theme to the rest of the hotel. The lounge was nice enough to relax and have a drink in, but we did feel it had a rather sterile atmosphere.

Our room was a superior on the first floor. The main room and the bathroom were both very spacious and well furnished. One whole side of the room had floor to ceiling windows which let in a great natural light during the day. However the room did feel very close to the street and so we had to have the curtains drawn the entire time or be on exhibition to every passer by! The main room area had a nice parquet floor and very calming pale blue walls, one of which was inscribed with a literature quote. The bed was firm but comfortable and it had a couple of different types of pillows to choose from. The bathroom was very large and well furnished, big sink and mirror area, toilet and bidet and a big bath/shower. As with the main room area one entire side of the bathroom was floor to ceiling window which got great natural light during the day, however at night the room was a bit dark and could have done with better lighting. The shower was very good but as someone has pointed out in another review it was prone to soaking the bathroom floor even with the curtain fully drawn. Lovely fluffy towels and robes were provided. Other features of the room included a safe, desk, sofa and coffee table. Free wifi was offered to us, however we did not use this.

Our room and all public areas of the hotel were impeccably clean. The maid service was very good at keeping our room that way each day and providing us with top ups of toiletries and towels.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomohola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

A great location but being right on gran via makes it very noisy despite double glazing. What makes it harder to sleep is the hard bed and hot room which the a/c struggles to cool. This hotel pretends to be a four star but misses out on the small things which make a stay comfortable.
A shower that suddenly goes cold every 20 seconds; TV that has only CNN, BBC news and sky News as english language stations; no vanity kit or face washers in the bathrooms( good fluffy towels though); and duvets without sheets despite requests to housekeeping for a top sheet; poorly lit rooms; no concierge to advise about the city.
Use this hotel if you are a Spanish speaker and a heavy sleeper, otherwise, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Stylish and central - this hotel is perfect for a mini-break in Madrid. Rooms are thoughtfully decorated and situated in lovely old building with plenty of character. Bathrooms are spacious and clean and bar area full of action and music in the evenings. However, choose room with care, as my first night was spent in smelly room on Gran Via, with all its associated traffic noise, number 217. The previous occupant was a heavy smoker despite the ban and the room should have been taken out of action until aired. This was noted upon my arrival but it took a night and my insistance to change room to fresher locaction. The main receptionist was not helpful in the first instance but warmed up as the week progressed. Suggest you opt for rooms at back of hotel - 305 was lovely. That side of the building is very quiet and the views are attractive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I had very much looked forward to staying here for 4 days but unfortunately I was disappointed. Upon arrival the man on reception was arrogant, rude and unwelcoming and the experience didn't get much better when I got to the room. It is true that the rooms are generously proportioned and that the bathrooms are large but that is the positives done with. The hotel is on a busy main road which has traffic noise throughout the day and night. The lighting is awful and a case of design over function. Dreadful dimmed lighting which casts blue and yellow shades means that you can't even see yourself properly but if you can you look weird. The walls are a vivid orange colour and despite some nice touches like the bed head, wall inscriptions and the wooden flooring it has the feel of a cheap hostel in parts with the bright colours and minimalist furnishings. Each room has a balcony but mine overlooked the hectic main road and within seconds of stepping on to it the traffic noise got too much. There was no gym facilities or spa as boasted, these have been under renovation for over a year! Characteristically no apologies were made by reception... simply "it says so on our website". No ironing facilities in the room which is disappointing for a supposedly 4 star city hotel. As a tourist the location on the Gran Via isn't the best even if you take away the main road you still have a walk to the nicer parts of the City such as the 'Golden Triangle', the main Plaza's and the restaurant districts, but it is handy for shopping. The final insult was that I had to pay 5 euros for an adapter plug I thought that I had 'borrowed' from reception. As I bid the hotel adios and certainly not hasta leugo the staff were cold and rude again. I wouldn't return to this hotel but Madrid is lovely. highlights included; a day trip to stunning Toledo (50 mins by coach- Plaza Eliptica or 30 mins by train), morning pastries and coffee at the bakery near Sol Metro-La Mallorquina and the Thyssen Art Gallery which could take a whole day to explore.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManchesterPudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 440 in Madrid
3,985 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 440 in Madrid
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#198 of 440 in Madrid
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras

Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £112 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via hotel is a boutique hotel that's ideal for guests who seek an enchanting experience in Madrid, brimming with the charm of the city's Barrio de las Letras district. Located on the Gran Via, the Las Letras Gran Via hotel invites guests to enjoy fantastic services such as casual fine dining at its Al Trapo restaurant. Not forgetting, its rooms with a terrace and Jacuzzi, fitness centre, library, accommodation for pets, free Premium Wi-Fi...The hotel is perfect for a tour of the main points of interest in Madrid's city centre, and it's also close to the theatres and musicals on the Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Iberostar, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing