We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“i would stay again”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

de las letras offers a comfortable stay in the heart of madrid. i can describe this hotel as facsinating as madrid itself.
it is very enjoyable to stay in a historic building as such. the interior design of the hotel creates a wicked contrast with the historic heritage. the bed i slept in was ery comfortable; i felt like stealing the pilows to be honest (but sure i did not). the staff is helpful and very down to earth. rooms are clean.
its central position, proximity to metro station makes it highly accesible. if you like peace and quite, then why are you in madrid? go stay in a small german town. so as you would expect from a hotel in the hear of a city like madrid, the animated street reflects to your experience of this hotel. the noise from the street was entertaining for me. on the other hand, when i closed my windows and turned on my air condition i could sleep early when i needed to.
internet connection was fast and reception was good.
i really enjoyed the service at roof restaurant and breakfast is very sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmet u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    591
    102
    46
    29
See reviews for
188
741
98
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is very well situated on the busy Gran Via, within easy walking distance of the royal palace, the Prado and the shops of Puerta del Sol. The street was noisy till late on Friday and Saturday nights but much quieter other nights. Our rooms were excellent, spacious and airy, simply but stylishly furnished. The room lighting however was totally inadequate with just a couple of side lamps to provide illumination. It was impossible to read while seated in the sofa area. Also the free wifi didn't work in either bedroom, we had to hover around the staircase to get connected. The bathroom was excellent, well-lit, with a large walk-in shower. The staff were helpful, changing a room for a quieter one with better lighting. The bar, restaurant and lounge areas are obviously popular locally and were very busy at night. We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to try the local cafes and restaurants instead, but the occasional coffees and glasses of wine we ordered in the bar were very reasonably priced (€6.70 for two glasses of white wine and a dish of crisps). I would be happy to recommend the hotel for a weekend stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you need quiet in order to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aominedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The hotel is good. Location of Las Letras is wonderful, rooms are big and clean. The main problem for me was the lack of light. It was too dark in the hotel.
The Internet was free, but very slow.
Breakfasts in the hotel were not wonderful, but not very bad.
O, I forgotten to say, if you want to sleep at night, the hotel is not for you, because it is too noisy at nights.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigromania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We spent a week here, and found it ... admirable but not more than that. Perhaps my expectations were too high.
I loved the room, which was large, attractive and clean. The bathroom was perfect (bring shampoo though). We had a room at the back and with the pollution and noise of Gran Via outside, I don't think you could really cope otherwise. A beautiful view of the back streets of a gorgeous city.
But the staff was hostile to the point of outright rudeness. Even if there was a problem that was easy to fix--the card that had to be inserted in the wall for water and electricity, the cleaner leaving the balcony doors unlocked (it would have made theft easy from the street, with the hotel offering no responsibility even for the room safe), the air conditioning breaking down--the staff always reacted as if we'd done something wrong.
An earlier traveller was right. Occasionally the air conditioning vent would send in room scent and on one night, heavy cigarette smoke. Better that than the unseasonable heat, even in September, but it wasn't pleasant in the middle of the night.
The bed was very hard. Not everyone would like it, but I found it okay with an extra quilt.
The restaurant was dreadful and the computer room really inadequate. There are many small cafes just off Gran Via that have breakfast for two at 6-10 euros rather than the 38 euros the hotel charges.
It's a beautiful, clean hotel. But I would advise staying here for no more than a night or two. The location, close to the Prado and the Thyssen and a subway stop, is very good indeed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the back if you value quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlenecolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A very pleasant surprise. Big room in European standards, very modern design but yet the type of furnitures you could have in your own home, great bathroom and facilities, best location and friendly stuff. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The location is excellent , we stayed for 3 nights over the weekend and walked till we dropped ! The wonderful areas of Latina, Chueca , Museum district and Retiro Park are all in easy reach with wonderful selection of cafes'bars etc all en route.
We stayed on the 4th floor of the hotel - rm 401 in the corner , great room with balcony and extremely comfortable bed ! Madrid is a 24 hour city so its not wise to sleep with the window open ! The bathroom layout is spacious and well decorated. Great lounging areas in the hotel for down time and the roof terrace was perfect for a Sunday afternoon chill out ! The staff in the hotel couldnt have been more helpful - didnt experience any of the wifi problems mentioned by previous review. Breakfast - didnt have the main restaurant breakfast, opted once for light option in the bar/ cafe area - quite good value and nice selection ! however what a great opportunity to get out and sample some of madrids bakeries / cafes ! We also went to the Mercado San Miguel - extremely busy in the day and sincerely over priced but what a lovely experience, buzz and local produce on show. We opted to return to the portuguese coffee bar at the end of the building after night out at 1am and have coffee, brandy and dessert - great end to the day !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiketyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This hotel has an excellent location!
We were in Madrid for 4 days and not once did we take the metro, except to get to the airport. We walked everything
The hotel is very close to the charming La Latina district and also very close to the Chueca and Paseo del Prado districts. Retiro Park is also a short walk.

The rooms are wonderfully decorated.
We had a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony on the Gran Via. Yes, sometimes you can hear some traffic but it was not disturbing to us and we slept very well!
The bathroom is also nice and large with 2 sinks.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel, wel simply walked out on the streets and had breakfast in Chueca with the locals or in a nearby bakery.

Tip: go to the Mercado the San Miguel behind Plaza Mayor for some real Spanish atmosphere and drink a wine and have a tapas at one of the bars. You can also buy the mose exclusive ham there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 436 in Madrid
512 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,717 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 436 in Madrid
3,364 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Iberostar, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing