We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True comfort in a great central Madrid setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“True comfort in a great central Madrid setting”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Firstly this was our first visit to Madrid and what a beautiful city it is.
From the warm welcome at reception to walking into our lovely room with its own balcony, we felt we were expriencing something special. We didn't use the restaurant as it was a bit pricey, but the buffet breakfast was very good. The roof terrace afforded some fantastic views, but sadly in April the bar was closed as it was too chilly up there. Would love to experience it at a warmer time of the year. I have marked the sleeping experience down to three stars; not really the fault of the hotel, but being right on Gran Via emergency vehicles used it all the time and still insisted on blaring their sirens at 2.00am & 3.00am - why ?
We never realised that Madrid was such a compact walkable city and the Letras being situated so centrally, we walked to most of the sights like the Royal Palace.
Would thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel and we hope to revisit it some day

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steamyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    591
    102
    46
    29
See reviews for
188
741
98
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I chose this hotel because I wanted an updated feel in an older building. This hotel had high ceilings, French windows, charming balconies, and a great location. We walked to the art museums, the royal palace, the parks from here as well as many restaurants. It was a bit pricier than other options but I felt it was well worth it. The beds were plush and the furnishings simple but elegant. The rooms were impeccably clean as well. My only minor quibbles - my room had really bad wi-fi reception and the shower liked to suddenly go cold.

We had a couple meals in the bar/restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the food and the service. The desk was very helpful and was able to recommend great restaurants and made us feel welcomed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys beautiful rooms, bathrooms, and the charm of an historic building.

Room Tip: The street is a bit noisy although it didn't bother me. Go for an room that is not directly on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViVaCeAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This place is a real jewel, a modern reinterpretation of the Spanish charm. The rooms are spacious with a sleek, contemporary design but very warm and cozy. Everything is elegant bright and clean, the bathroom was big with two sinks a large sinks and bright red walls. My room had a balcony on the Gran Via and the sight at sunset was amazing. The hotel is right downtown, the location can't get any better. As it was winter, the roof terrace was closed but the view must be great. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of local, continental and international options. The bar is very modern and relaxing and the cocktails are good: the service was a bit cold and lacking the Spanish joviality one would expect, but still impeccable. I would definitely stay here again!.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our third stay at this hotel and they never disappoint. Sleek, modern and comfortable, the rooms have everything you need including free wifi. The fantastic central location is about a block from Gran Via subway station (which is in the center of town) and also just a few blocks south of the popular Chueca district. The views of Gran Via from the balcony are exhilarating. We would definitely return to this hotel when in Madrid and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a quiet room in the center which was lovely as well, but we prefer a balcony roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faroutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
356 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a very well located hotel and it is very stylish. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are spacious and very clean and modern but yet it still retains its old world charm. We had a room with a balcony and it was lovely. It is noisy but you get used to it and when the windows are closed it is not so bad. There is a lovely room top bar and across the road is a fabulous cafe called Vitminas it is straight across from the main entrance to the hotel. We had an excellent stay and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. We didn't eat in the hotel but did have drinks in the bar which is really enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great hotel, the design of the hotel facilities and room is amazing. The staff very pleasant and helpful. The decoration is modern, simple and always having a touch of the spanish culture. I stayed for two days anf that was perfect. The location is great, just on the Gran Via. I did not have breakfast so i cannot comment on that. But the room was very spacious, the bathroom large and very clean. My room was on the sideroad and not on the Gran Via so there was no noise, I had a veranda and a larfe window. I recommend it to anyone. The only thing i found not that great is the price, which is higher that i could affford for more than 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Good hotel for Madrid city break. We booked for 4 nights via LastMinute.com and were very happy with the deal. Hotel ideally placed - 2 metros just a stroll away, Gran Via and Sevilla and you can board the Metro at the airport and travel straight to the city for a few Euros.

Another bonus of this hotel is that it is opposite a red tour bus stop so no hanging around or lengthy walks to find pick up and drop off points. It is also within walking distance of the main squares, Prada etc.. if you would rather walk.

The room was fine, spacious, clean, comfy. tv, mini bar etc.. We emailed ahead to request a balcony room which they arranged and wished us a happy anniversary too. Our room looked over Grand Via and the traffic noise is 24 hour (bit like Oxford Street). However we liked the city atmosphere so this didn't bother us and you can just close the window and stick on the air con if need be. As mentioned by a previous reviewer the staff were efficient and friendly but not over the top.

We opted for the buffet breakfast which had plenty of choice and filled us up but we didn't try the restaurant as it looked a little pricey and we preferred to explore the city.

So all in all recommended for short stay breaks and ideal location for restaurants, Museums, metro etc...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#17 of 436 in Madrid
514 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,721 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 436 in Madrid
3,366 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#37 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Iberostar, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing