We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern room design, 20 ft ceilings, private balcony, great location, cool bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #47 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, NY, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modern room design, 20 ft ceilings, private balcony, great location, cool bar”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My girlfriend has literally told me to shut up about this hotel because of how many times I told her it was incredible. The rooms are painted with bold, modern color schemes, have sliding bathroom doors, 20 ft. ceilings with crown molding, a ridiculously comfortable bed and great balcony overlooking grand via. We closed out each night with glasses of Cava at the hotel bar, which has 2 separate areas both of which are very trendy.

Take the yellow airport bus for 5 euro to and from, it drops you off at plaza de cibeles, which is not a bad walk if you have just one bag each with wheels. Continuing on proximity to attractions/food, Madrid is a small city and this hotel is top center making it easy to walk to both sides of town, we didn't use the metro once in 3 days.

single bad thing, the wifi is free because it doesn't work, had to try countless times to connect and was dropped frequently.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    591
    102
    46
    29
See reviews for
188
741
98
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Design is a great mix of old/new. It's boutique, but not so over-the-top that your parents will be freaked out by it. The bright colors in the rooms compliment the colors in older details of the building. Front desk was very helpful and efficient. There's a great rooftop deck. Beds are really comfortable. Bathrooms are beautiful and the showers have great water pressure. The breakfast buffet is AMAZING and the restaurant is very nice. H20+ shampoo and soap. Great location near Sol and Chueca (lots of bars and the Mercado San Anton is great place to pick up dinner/socialize). About a 20min walk to the museums.

A few cons:
- Restaurant recommendation was good, but they sent another group from the hotel to the same restaurant which made us a bit suspicious...like are they getting a commission? But it was Sunday and a lot of places are closed. I was surprised that for such a hip hotel the restaurant was sort of old school and not that unique. But the food was good.
- It is located on a very noisy street so you may want to keep your windows closed when you sleep. However, when we tried running the A/C the thermostat is fixed so it won't go lower than 19C, which was a bit warm for our tastes, especially with the duvets.
- Wifi is very spotty in the rooms, but there is a fancy conf. room with computers in the basement that you can use for free.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had a quick check in even though arrived two hours before the suggested check-in time.
I requested a quite room and it was. The room wasnt big but it had a small couch to sit on. The lights work funky there and in general its poorly lit but it wasnt a big deal for us. We didnt eat at their expensive restaurant since there were too many to choose from in the area. Its located close to Metro and a red tourist bus stop. Its about 15 minute walk to Plaza Sol and 20 min to Plaza Mayor. Also Atocha and Prado museum are about 20 min walk away. We like walking so it wasnt an issue for us. There is a shopping district right next to it.
If you want to get some groceries , go to El COrte ENGLAIs store . its in the basement. Also, get a 10% discount on some items at that store at the travel/tourist desk with your passport or its copy.

Room Tip: ask for a quite room in advance if its important to you. but you may not get much of a view the mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParadiseLoverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel was wonderful . Very knowledgable and friendly staff and very helpful. We were given a choice of rooms and chose one on the back side which was very quiet! The room was designed to be extremely accomodating in space and layout - especially for two friends travelling for ten days. Loved the building - conmfortable bed and the bath was spacious espeically for two women. The bar/restaurant areas were fun and innovative in design and food and drink were top notch. The hotel is very convenient for touring and the staff so helpful in making suggestions as to activities and dining options. I would definitely stay again and do recommend this hotel to anyone. I would have liked to have a coffeemaker inthe room - my only suggestion to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasideDsgnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Really impressed - good design, great location, nice rooms, good bathrooms, fantastic bar and all at a very reasonable price. Would definitely go back. Only downsides were that the room was a little warm and the breakfast was pretty lame, but there's plenty of places on your doorstep to go for food

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctordickieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location was perfect. We were a block from the subway and walking distance to the Prado Museum and Retiro Park. We were able to walk to several central neighborhoods, including Cheuca and Malasana, for great meals. Our group enjoyed meeting down in the hotel's lounge for a drink or two to plan our evening. It had a great vibe. Overall service was great.

As we expected based on the hotel recommendation, the rooms were small.

Room Tip: We stayed there a couple times during our 10 day trip. We had two different sized rooms -- one had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Just back from fab weekend at this hotel, great location, rooms lovely, ours was on 6th floor overlooking Gran via. Staff very helpful, good value breakfast .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newlook15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#17 of 436 in Madrid
517 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,724 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 436 in Madrid
3,369 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 436 in Madrid
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Iberostar, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing