We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swell Hotel in Nice Location with Great Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #39 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swell Hotel in Nice Location with Great Views!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I staying in this hotel while on business in the summer of 2012 for 3 nights. It was very easy to get to and I walked to everything. I splurged on the Deluxe Terrace with Jacuzzi room and did not regret it in the least. Everything was top notch in this hotel: room amenities, decor and bathroom. The view from the huge deck off my room was fantastic as well. It was nice waking up and having my morning coffee outside and then relaxing looking at the stars before bed at night. I also enjoyed having the jacuzzi to relax in after a long day of sightseeing.

The hotel is located far enough away from the grand avenue to be quiet at night, but it is close enough to feel like I was in the action. I walked to the Prada Museum on one side of Madrid and the Palace on the other. I always felt safe, too.

The hotel has a nice restaurant I at dinner in twice while I was there. I also had breakfast delivered to my room each morning and it always arrived on time and warm. There is a bar on the roof with great views of the city, but I only went up there to take pictures one day so I can't vouch for the action there at night.

The staff was very nice and helpful. The only small complaint I have that really isn't that big of an issue is whenever I wanted a bucket of ice at night I had to go ask for it at the downstairs restaurant bar. I guess I'm just accustomed to American hotels and their ice machines! The buckets are nice (and fancy). I guess I shouldn't complain because another hotel I stayed in a few nights later had no ice at all! Hmmm... maybe I have an ice problem.

At any rate, I thought this hotel was very nice, comfortable and in an excellent location. I recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: splurge for the deluxe terrace rooms with a jacuzzi. totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babalu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    581
    101
    45
    25
See reviews for
183
719
97
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I had a great stay here. Clean, modern and friendly with a super location.

Watch out in the bar area during the day as unfortunately I was targeted by a couple of children (!) who entered the lower bar area, distracted me and stole my phone!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luiseasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in amaising location, right on gran via, touristic heart of Madrid. Nice fancy bar and coffee. It is an old building renovated, but imagine you renovate a 4* only with Ikea, and that is what you get. As exemple our room was oposit of gran via. Good for noise but the outside wall is only huge windows that are poorely isolated so in 3mars, the room was really cold. Also street lights was easelly going trough ikea cheep curtains so room was kinda pink orangish light during all night. A litle noise of the nearby romanian girls selling their bodys...but let,s sY this was a positive suprise been able to open the curtains and feel like an amsterdam hooker with ppl in street looking at you goi g out of bed....
I payed 140euro for the room and the hotel did not match the price with foom quality or not professional staff at reception over worked and stressed out...

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I love the poetry and quotes written throughout the hotel and rooms. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel has a great feel about it and it was great to sit in the bar each night after a day of exploring the local sites. The position is great, close to walk to the Prado, train station and various big streets and attractions.

The staff where lovely, I requested a couple of candy jars for gifts and they followed up efficiently and were a great help.

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have nice, old fashioned balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailsatansym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Really nice hotel, very central location. Many nice restaurants in the neighborhood.
Our room was spacious with still the old parquet and a balcony. Comfortable beds and helpful staff. There is a nice busy bar on the groundfloor. Just perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was in the side street and didn't have a lot of noice. I don't know how it is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

great location. superb building. nice rooms. but awful bathrooms - mould appearing and uninviting. huge amount of road noise at front - secondary glazing would work.... staff indifferent. great bar, but slow service when busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Hotel de las Letras has a perfect location in Madrid on Gran Via. it is a boutique hotel in an old building, very modern and trendy. Reception staff is extremely friendly. Food is good but too expensive, there are a lot of restaurants around with typical spanish food or other, same for breafast. Starbucks is 5mn walking from the hotel or small cafes offering good coffee and danish.
the last stay was a nightmare with internet : no access. it seems the hotel is facing major challenges with their installation but for travellers this is not an acceptable situation.
i will reconsider staying there even if it has been my home for more than 3 years in Madrid.

Room Tip: to avoid rooms on Gran Via because of the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 444 in Madrid
451 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 444 in Madrid
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
3,600 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía is an avant-garde hotel standing on Gran Vía, Madrid. It has the character of a place for literati and seductive services that include informal haute cuisine, guestrooms with terrace whirlpool tub, parking in the area (charge applies) and fitness room, among others. Boasting an excellent location in Madrid, the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía makes the perfect base to explore the theatres and musicals on Gran Vía, the museums of the Spanish capital and the nooks and crannies in Barrio de las Letras (Literary Quarter). Stay in a special, charming hotel on Madrid’s Gran Vía. The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía is all ready for you. Charming hotel in Madrid: The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía Hotel has a pleasant, alluring atmosphere, created by the historical façade of the building, the impressive coffered ceilings, the majestic staircase and the lean décor taking advantage of natural light. Guestrooms for perfect rest: The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía Hotel has modern rooms where design is at the service of comfort for a holiday or a business stay in central Madrid. Snug beds, huge windows, whirlpool tub, terrace, and quotes on the walls given by the most outstanding writers and intellectuals. In addition, full room service until 11pm. A culinary hotel on Gran Vía. The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía offers scrumptious dining options in a relaxed, carefree atmosphere in the heart of Madrid. The casual haute cuisine you can get at Al Trapo restaurant or Bocablo lounge bar is like a slice of Madrid in your mouth. Ático 11: Located on the seventh floor of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía Hotel, Ático 11 is an exclusive venue on Madrid’s Gran Vía where you can get wonderful views of the city centre’s skyline as you sip a cocktail, grab a bite and listen to DJ music (Available only during the summer season). Free premium Wi-Fi: Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to 3 devices – to use during your stay. Enthusiastic and elegant event planning: The IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía has several rooms to hold events, corporate meetings, press conferences, interviews, photo shoots, wedding parties and other special celebrations. Contact the hotel’s staff if you are interested in holding your event here. Perfect base to explore Madrid: Given its extraordinary location in Madrid, the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía invites guests to explore the main tourist sights in the city: Barrio De Las Letras, Gran Vía, world-class museums like El Prado or the Reina Sofía, theatre shows and musicals on Madrid’s main entertainment thoroughfare. Experience Madrid staying at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Vía. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Iberostar, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing