We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding value and location”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location on Gran Via is unparalleled -- convenient walking distance to many Madrid highlights (Sol, major museums, Retiro Park, shopping, Plaza de Espana, Plaza Mayor, cute neighborhoods of Chueca, Malasana, La Latina, etc.) Easy access to express airport bus and three or four different metro stops. Room was large by European standards, with a nice sized bathroom that included a full tub (great for soaking after a day of sightseeing). High-quality bed linens and comfortable mattress. Over my ten-day stay, the staff was always friendly, helpful, professional, and genuinely pleased to be of service -- they seemed as delighted as I was when my luggage finally showed up three days after my arrival :) Never ventured into the bar/restaurant, but it is a happening place on weekend nights. Due to the location right on Gran Via, street noise is evident but represents only a very slight nuisance on Friday and Saturday nights. The other nights of the week are quite mild by comparison. That said, if you are expecting a catacomb to sleep in, you may want to try a neighborhood off the beaten path...

Room Tip: Rooms on the side streets will be a bit quieter; however, you don't stay on Gran Via unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    593
    102
    46
    29
See reviews for
189
742
98
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Right at the Gran Via. Perfect place in the centre of Madrid.
Room very spacious and very nice seating area.
Taxi very well organised and quick.
View was very nice from the terrace, breakfast also very good. Not too much, not too little.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The best thing about the hotel is its location in the middle of the center of Madrid, very close to the metro stations Gran Via and Sevilla and the train (and also metro) station Sol. Good, but not decisive things are how clean the rooms are, that the hotel is small-sized and the reception with always two persons. For those who like fancy-pancy-trendy interiors - e.g. my girl-friend -, it's a very nice place. Those who don't like interior, which looks good, but isn't really practical - e.g. in my girl-friend's flat - aren't going to like the beds without light control, the towels without strap, the loose and (too) thick bathroom hooks, the non-fitting bath tub plug, the long water tap in a deep washbasin ecc. Affordable food: There's a 100Montatidos in Calle Montera, which is open late, serves good food and has a cheap menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room, which is not towards Gran Via!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiodeugenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I liked las Letras, especially after I moved out of the first room I had, that smelled like someone had thrown up in the bed, with windows that didn't open, but nevertheless didn't block the noise of trash pickup at least twice in the middle of the night. (Seriously? Is it necessary to pick up trash Sunday night, at like two a.m., and then again around 430 or 5? Seems excessive, and excessively noisy.) This room was on the first floor, facing the small street at the back of the building. To the hotel's credit, as soon as I asked, they moved me to another room, on a higher floor, with windows that opened. It faced the same street, but I wasn't bothered by the noise, even with the windows open. Both rooms were about the same size, though with a slightly different layout. I like the second one, on the 4th or 5th floor, with its dramatic dark maroon walls, much better than the first, with its boring light blue. The bathroom(s) had a great shower, and full bath tub. The bed didn't make me want to live there for the rest of my life, but it was fine and comfortable. I'd definitely recommend a trip up to the bar on the roof for an afternoon drink while enjoying the great view, but take a pass on the ground floor restaurant. Not only was the food underwhelming, the service was fairly incomprehensible -- I think 5 different people served my table. Maybe confusion among this sizable team is why I nearly grew old enough to get my AARP card while waiting for someone to bring my bill... even after asking two different people... twice. Skip it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirl_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stylish and affordable choice in a great central location, especially convenient to Chueca, Paseo del Prado, and Puerta del Sol. Housed in a building of historical interest, the rooms have unique floorplans and distinctive architectural features, while the interiors combine bold colors and a minimalist sensibility.

The street outside the hotel can get noisy at night, and the sound carries even to the upper floors. It shouldn't be an issue for guests who are also enjoying the city's nightlife and are on the same schedule as the passing revelers. But if you are a light sleeper and plan to turn in early, it could be an issue.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is wonderful, staff is friendly, rooms are excellent, you can not do better on location. etc. all te good stuff.

I do advice management however to upgrade their WiFi network. Downloading a 20mb newspaper took 15 minutes, and network coverage is not very good in some rooms. Furthermore having to type in the user name and password every time you want to use WiFi is annoying.

Room tip: the rooms at the front of the hotel are directly at Gran Via. The sound of the most busy street of Spain does come in. Especially the audio signal from the pedestrian crossing right in front of the hotel can be annoying for some. If you are sensitive to outside noise, ask for a room at the back.

Room Tip: Windows are not sound proof (especially in balcony rooms at the front of the hotel). Become a member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos-Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I travelled to Madrid with my Girlfriend and after a quiet and unassuming flight we arrived at the Hotel. To my horror the company we had booked the hotel with had gone bust, taken our money and cancelled the booking without telling us. The two people on checkin were wonderfully understanding and made several calls to their finance department pleading to help us, as a result we were given a very generous discount and upgraded to a superior room. The staff are a credit to both the Hotel and to Accor Group (who chain who own the Hotel).
The rooms, Bar area, and Restaurant are all high class with a very modern feel to the public areas, all tastefully decorated and in a perfect spot for all that Madrid has to offer. I look forward to returning to las Letras and the fantastic welcome from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 435 in Madrid
519 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,728 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 435 in Madrid
3,369 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Iberostar, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing