We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style in Spades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #46 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Style in Spades”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Love the decor of the rooms. Surprisingly effective considering how out of the box the design is. Lovely big bathroom. Nice and attentive reception. Cute if smallish roof bar. Did not like being on Gran Via which has the charm of an Autobahn. Fortunately I did not hear the traffic noise after the second day. Breakfast included was great in nice restaurant. Gym a plus. The gay-friendly area of Chueca to the north is ok but there are nicer streets in Madrid, like Barrio de Las Letras and plaza Santa Ana. The famed Museo Chicote bar is right across the street but was empty every time I went.

Room Tip: If you face Gran Via you may need earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    591
    102
    46
    29
See reviews for
188
741
98
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here four days and were first of all very pleased by the location. It seams to be centered in the middle of everything which is great when you're walking around a lot and need a place to chill from time to time (or place your shopping). The recommendations from the receptionists was just ok (very tourist specific), but having TA this was not an issue for us. Also the Wifi only worked on our laptop and iPad, not our phones.

The room was very nice, especially the bathroom with two sinks and a tub. We had a big balcony where we could tan in the afternoon. The air condition was in great condition with variable settings for day time and night time. Spain was playing in the FIFA world cup while we were here, and the hotel invited us to watch it on TV on the rooftop with burgers (6€) and beer (3€). This was really pleasant.

The staff was pleasant and spoke good English, but didn't go out of their way to greet us when we walked in and out. The women cleaning our room always greeted us with a "hola" and a smile. They also left us something new every day: a cleaning cloth or an extra pillow case that they forgot.

The coronation of the new king also took place while we were here, and the staff informed us of this by slipping a notice under the door. They also pointed out that some streets (also the main street outside the hotel) would be closed of for many hours due to this, which was good information to get incase we were traveling that day.

All in all we were very pleased by this stay and would recommend it to others traveling to Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridA483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. A great location on Calle Grand Via - very comfortable light and airy rooms, good shower lots of hot water , air con , safe in the room and free wifi. Very friendly and helpful lobby staff .

Great roof top bar with views over Madrid skyline.

Probably one of the best locations in Madrid as it is within 10-15 minutes easy walking distance of everywhere - bars and restaurants every where.

A very safe area and I would definitely go back .

We flew in to Madrid and took the Airport Express bus from Terminal 1 to Place de Cibles ( 20 minutes and 2 stops) which is 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The bus is excellent value runs every 15 minutes and is 5 euros. www.esmadrid.com

I can also recomend the guided tour walks of Madrid from the Plaza Mayor Tourist office at 5 euros 80 each .

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here 5 days on the last leg of our Spain discovery trip, it was within walking distance to so much of what we wanted to see, plus we were able to explore neighborhoods nearby on foot as well. Large and comfortable room with a balcony that wrapped around our entire bed/living/bath area so we could step out there at night and watch the people below in the quaint streets nearby. Outstanding staff here in all ways.

Room Tip: If you like a less firm bed, ask that they put something like a foam topper on bed. Bed here was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here back in 2009 for 4 days as the last phase of our tour of Spain. After 2.5 weeks of traveling from Barcelona-Seville-Granada-Malaga-Lisbon, we were now at the end of the road and the road led to this wonderfully central hotel. You cannot ask for a better location. The Prado (one if the very best museums I have ever visited) is only a few minutes around the corner. You also have delicious restaurants, bus stops, shops, grocery store all within a 3-5 minute walk from the hotel. You must check your schedule to see if you can catch the changing of the guard at the Royal Palace (it only sits right around the corner- 5 minutes). It is so worth it! The area right behind the hotel is like a cultural haven. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are very well maintained and modern. I love the hardwood floors and that bathroom was among that best I have seen. I also love the french doors that covered the windows and the little terrace that you get to walk out on. The staff were friendly and helpful with suggestions. Overall rating 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My second stay at this hotel and it won't be my last. Great location within easy walk of many attractions. Plenty of interesting restuarants and tapas bars nearby. We stayed in a 6th floor suite and the bedroom upstairs was lovely and quiet. Hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel will pre-book a taxi back to the airport and this will ensure you pay the standard flat fee rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is amazing. Smack bang in the centre of Madrid. close to all the major attractions. Staff here are so nice and helpful. Rooms are beautiful, and overall the hotel is very well maintained. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 436 in Madrid
512 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,717 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 436 in Madrid
3,364 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via

Property: Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literature can be found in every corner of the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via and, just like your favourite book, it will whisk you away from the moment you arrive. Literary quotes adorn the walls of its rooms and famous writers have used its library to write and present their stories and novels. From A to Z, we’ll tell you the story of this hotel on Madrid’s Gran Via. A is for Anti-stress. That’s the essence of our hotel rooms. Take your pick from rooms with a whirlpool bath, with strawberries and cava for a romantic getaway, with views of the Gran Via,… and even rooms with two terraces! Room service is available for all rooms, and you can also choose the pillow that’s perfect for you. D is for Delicious. Quinoa croquettes, flame-grilled skate with salmorejo, grilled Iberian pork shoulder loin, steak tartare… Whether you enjoy our dishes in the loft, in our modern space with an open kitchen or at street level, the dishes from the restaurants at the IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via will leave you searching for words. G is for Glamour. Presentations from renowned brands, cultural events, awards and fashion galas… This hotel is one of the most centrally located in all of Madrid, and its versatile spaces are perfect for organising your events, including your wedding! Y is for You. If you’d like to clear your mind with a quick cardio session or by putting in a few miles on the exercise bike, our 24-hour fitness centre is waiting for you. We also have nutritionists and a personal trainer on hand to help you reach all of your fitness goals. P is for Pet Friendly. Holidays just aren’t the same without the furry members of your family. So bring them along! For a small supplement, you can book a room with a balcony or terrace, along with little extras including a special bed and water and food bowls. Just like we do for you, we’ll make sure your pet has everything it needs. M is for Madrileno. “Madrilenos” are those who are born and bred in this capital city. Feel like a local and weave in and out of the narrow streets that lead to the Plaza Mayor, grab a calamari sandwich for lunch, take a stroll through Retiro Park or spend a Sunday at the Rastro, the city’s largest street market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Iberostar, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing