We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Lacking service Front desk Like Faulty Towers !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Ranked #45 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This is a good hotel the room was good, I stayed in a mini suite top floor but ther is a few issues to watch out for, the front desk is like Faulty Towers all over the place lacking service, ther is 3 steps up to the left the reception is in teh hall way 4 guests and ur stopping access to the hotel, the hotel front of house has alot of Gay people ther and you know know if ther eyeing you up or just want to rid you before you get to the lift and man that walks by the reception area gets eyed up Sad but can make you feel like a piece a meat even my wife commented on it, Internet access is a disaster on the top floor. rooms are huge, clean and a bit out of date design wise seems to be old stock from habitat which it is a habitat hotel but its grand but the service in teh bar restuarant is shocking down stairs just eat else where is teh best thing

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maclers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

817 - 823 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

Very cool hotel, well renovated to preserve the charming historical details, but with all the modern comforts. The location is excellent - within walking district of the Palacio Real, Retiro Park, etc. Staff are very helpful. One note of caution - dinner at the restaurant was good, but very pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Salsera6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

We booked two rooms, a double for the nannies and children and a suite for ourselves at this hotel in February.

We just loved the suite. The hot tub on the roof terrace overlooking the Madrid skyline was simply out of this world--totally unforgettable to be sitting there, the steam rising in a great cloud from the tub, and us swirling around in the hot water in the depths of a cold wintry night...sensational.

The nannies and kids also enjoyed it, and particularly the room service. The hotel was quiet even though it was nearly full. The restaurant was very mod, and we would have enjoyed eating there had we not had reservations elsewhere...

The concierge staff was efficient and helpful, finding the phone number of our restaurant, confirming the reservation, and printing out google walking instructions from the hotel.

We were very happy and quite pleasantly surprised--for an artsy hotel, this represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed in the hotel 4 nights. The room was quite small and warm. It had a small sitting area, and nice decor. Air conditioning was centrally controlled and not on during our stay at the end of October. We had a nice small balcony with a view, and could open the doors to cool down the room. The bathroom was nice, and did not flood constantly, like other hotels we stayed in on this trip. The hotel had free internet access in the lower level library, which worked fairly well. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful with directions. We had a bad experience in the lounge with very unfriendly, rude service. The location was good, with Metro stops within several blocks on several lines. We didn't like the empty storefront in front of the hotel. It looked rather shabby. Apparently, the hotel will be taking this space over soon.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lucky29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We requested a low floor and got the first. Very positive that special requests are respected. However the window did not open, you needed a special key which the front desk could not give to us and they were too busy to go to our room with us. Front desk staff was under average in any case, very cute but inefficient. The guys were chaotic and helping three people at a time when we were checking in. Hotel is overdone and exterior is more important than quality. When leaving, Gran Via was car-free (for bikers) and we could not get a taxi. When asking where a taxi would be available (Sol or ...), the guy did not know and made not at all an effort for asking the taxi company. Twice the question was asked how many nights we were staying. As if that matters for being able to open a window for fresh air. Does not seem necessary for two nights only. Would definitely not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Sonnets from shakespeare on the walls and one of Madrids best known restaurants across the street...what more do you want?
My 18-year old son loved the breakfast buffet, the free internet, the cool tv and music installation and our terrace with jacuzzi.
I loved the las letras shampoo (did'nt need a conditioner), the comfortable bed, the location (the Prado is nearby) and the library.
In short: very stylish hotel, excellent location. highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Talkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Staying in Madrid was a delight for me and my family….warm and sunny climate, great Spanish architecture and off course our nice Hotel De Las Letras made it a memorable stay….We have 2 toddlers which makes it a little challenging for the hotel staff to cope up with our constant requests and special cleaning efforts had to be put up by the housekeeping staff…But the overall job that they had done, was quite nice. We hired a small car in Madrid to roam around and do the sightseeing with the help of only a map, but after having gotten lost for hours, we came back to the hotel and at the recommendation of the hotel staff, we hired a tourist guide. Getting the very professional and nice David was invaluable and quite a help I must say…Hotel staff was nice and helpful, although at times I did feel that their speed was a little easy….but all the jobs did get done eventually…:) The breakfast was elaborate and nice and gave us the best possible start to our day…the room had a stylish balcony facing the gran via and still not noisy. The Air conditioning initially made us feel uncomfortable, but after a while, it used to get better….its because it was hot in Madrid in July when we were visiting….

Overall I’d recommend this hotel for its great location, service and architecture…!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UMKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#17 of 438 in Madrid
598 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 438 in Madrid
3,868 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#23 of 438 in Madrid
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 11, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel de las Letras)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Madrid
#26 Family Hotel in Madrid
#35 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#40 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £121 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via is a boutique hotel that’s ideal for those wishing for a fascinating stay in Madrid, oozing with all the charm of the city’s Barrio de las Letras district. Located on the Gran Via, the Las Letras Gran Via hotel invites guests to enjoy fantastic services such as the informal haute cuisine of its Al Trapo restaurant. There are also its rooms with terrace Jacuzzi, fitness centre, library, accommodation for pets, free Premium Wi-Fi…The hotel is perfect for a tour of the most interesting points of interest in Madrid’s city centre, and it’s also close to the theatres and musicals on the Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Iberostar, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Las Letras Hotel
De Las Letras Madrid
Hotel De Las Letras Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing