We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Location with clean spacious rooms - Would highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Ranked #119 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
princeton, nj
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Location with clean spacious rooms - Would highly Recommend”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The location of the hotel was phenomenal. Within a walking distance of less than 20 minutes to all the major historical sights and museums and great restaurants. We had a quad room on the 6th floor and the room was spacious with a large bathroom and a huge balcony. The staff, especially, the English-speaking ones - Daniel and Maria were very helpful and always ready to provide tips and going out of their way to find the right restaurants etc. We are vegetarians so that was a big help. All in all, would highly recommend the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book it through online booking sites because, I checked the prices directly and it was a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjiv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest:

First, I would like to thank you for choosing High Tech Hotels for your stay in Madrid and for use most of your time to send us your comments about that. We appreciate your kind words, especially to our reception as they try their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again in one of our High Tech Hotels.

We also remind hotels in Barcelona-Sevilla-Malaga-Valencia-Bilbao-Getxo-Salamanca and here in Madrid.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    382
    133
    51
    27
See reviews for
282
287
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. Excellent central location right next to Sol. Very handy for exploring Madrid. Rooms and bathroom good, although there is some delivery noise in the morning. Breakfast was ok, although things started to run out near the end of the breakfast period.
Try the tapas bar next door, very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt face the back of El Corte Ingles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Right in the heart of Puerta del Sol, very convenient location. The safety box did not work the first night, and the front desk staff said he would arrange for the maintenance guy to fix it the next day (which he did!). Only thing is that the rooms looks a bit dated, bed was a bit hard and when we asked for extra pillows, I had to wait in the room for over an hour for them to bring it up.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JammerMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed here on a one night stopover so didn't spend long in the hotel but all facilities, staff, room and continental breakfast were faultless. Not the cheapest hotel in the centre of Madrid but for convenience, comfort and friendliness it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee8Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of HT. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Located ight next to Sol Metro station. Staff are incredibly helpful and speak very good English. We arrived much earlier than we were due to check in and we were still given our room early. They provide you with a password for free Wi-fi. Bathroom is amazing, great shower and rooms very clean with air conditioning. Beware it is noisy as you are in the centre of everything but we didn't mind this so much as there was a large group of us and we were there to enjoy the nightlife. In all a fantastic hotel in a great location which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty83London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Manager at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you feedback about your stay in our hotel. It is very gratifying comments as yours.

We hope see you in your next visit to Madrid!

Best regards.

María García Hernández
Directora
Hotel Petit Palace Puerta del Sol***
High Tech Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel is on a pedestrian cobblestone road, so it's not accessible by car. Our taxi dropped us off at the main road and instructed us to walk a few mins down this promenade. We pulled two heavy suitcases each, past street performers and gypsies in our faces, begging for money. Being on the street is great during your stay.. but getting your luggage here is a nightmare!The hotel is not clearly marked - and to make things more confusing, there is a Petit Palace on every street corner. We overshot the hotel and stepped into "Petit Palace Arenal" by mistake. We left and pulled our luggage back to the Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol.

The quadruple room we booked was unavailable. The woman offered 2 double rooms instead. We insisted that the 4 guests remain together after flying 17 hours to meet. After all, we paid for a quadruple, and she would not price adjust for 2 doubles. She called Petit Palace Arenal to confirm they had an available quadruple room there. So again, we pulled our luggage right back to Arenal. There, we discovered that the room would not be ready for 2 hours! After travelling across the world, this runaround was ridiculous. We returned to Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol and accepted whatever room was immediately available. We needed sleep!

The double room was TINY. There was only room for two adjacent twin beds, and barely space to walk around it (picture posted). Upon sitting on the mattress, I became itchy and developed red bumps. We immediately called our travel agent for help relocating to another hotel. The front desk was notified of our early departure while we were still on the phone w/ the travel agent. Seconds later, the front desk woman was pounding on our door... demanding that we leave at once!!! She refused to let us continue our phone call to make other accommodations, claiming that she would be unable to resell the room if we stayed another minute. She stood at the doorway as we collected our belongings and ushered us out of the hotel. We were left stranded in Spain, with no accommodations and no local phone to arrange lodging.

We never heard an apology. In fact, they somehow made US feel guilty for inconveniencing the front desk when in reality, they could not provide the service for which we paid. Rather than making a scene at the front desk, we quietly attempted to arrange alternate accommodations. In retrospect, we should have given her a piece of our minds. Worst travel experience ever.

On a happier note - we loved the hotel we switched to: Petit Palace Tres Cruces.

Room Tip: Although a great location, rooms are small and staff is RUDE. Please stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#139 of 435 in Madrid
906 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#79 of 435 in Madrid
1,090 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#122 of 435 in Madrid
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#41 of 435 in Madrid
2,552 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#98 of 435 in Madrid
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol

Property: Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Address: Calle Arenal 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Puerta del Sol is a hotel in the Puerta del Sol of Madrid, with an ancient XIX century facade, perfectly combining innovation and tradition. Relax in a comfortable hotel nearby the Puerta del Sol, Madrid, with a large range of services: Free Wifi, press, breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing