We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Ranked #117 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful small hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. Located in a great area of good shopping and restaurants. Close to the subway and cabs. Also close to attractions such as Plaza Mayor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We liked that it was a smaller hotel.. we feel that this is in the interest of the people staying as the service was more personal. We plan to do this trip again next year, and we will stay at the same hotel even though there are many choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaR553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Julia,

I appreciate a lot your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our location and staff. Thank you to let Tripadvisor users and us know about your stay in Petit Palace Puerta del Sol.

We will always be there to welcome you back.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    367
    133
    51
    25
See reviews for
269
278
35
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Nothing much to write about except--good location. Fifth floor rooms are extremely hot. Air did not work. Bathroom was dirty. Walls were splattered with stains of unknown origin. Matresses were hard. Blankets looked a bit scary, did not want to touch them. So a place to crash, nothing more. Would be a better place to crash if it was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tais24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I appreciate your comment. Due to the quickly changing weather, our air machine stopped blowing warm air and we couldn't activate the cold one. Regarding the other issues, we are working on them with the aim of fixing them as soon as possible.

I would like to thank you once again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Because of the hotel's proximity to one of the main squares of the city of Madrid, he certainly answered our primary purpose on a trip to Madrid, the hotel was our base in Star trips. We could return to the hotel at any time we wanted, which is very convenient. The hotel staff were kind and welcoming. Affordable and clean rooms. The hotel is definitely recommended
Welcome
Yoel & eliyahu famely from israel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnyoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear guest
Thanks to inform to our staff about your stay and experience in Petit Palace Puerta del Sol.
Remind you we have other hotels with the same good location in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, Bilbao, Getxo, and as you know here in Madrid
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed here on a school trip for 5 nights. It was the perfect location because we took the metro to get to most places. The room I was in faced the street behind the building. If you close your windows at night you won't hear the late night partiers as much. I slept great every night there. Nothing wrong with the bathrooms, the water was hot in both the sink and shower. The service was great although the maids only spoke Spanish so it was hard to tell her that we only needed towels changed. I loved the breakfast. They even had a nice sitting area in the basement. There is a computer but you won't use it, there are so many things to go in Madrid. It was very convenient to get to Plaza Mayor and the building felt very safe. I did not worry when I left things in my room.
Our group stayed in 4 separate rooms. The rooms all had different shapes to them but were all spacious. The layout of the building is traditional Spanish with a courtyard in the middle.. which you cannot get to from my understanding.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Departamento ventas online at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in Petit Palace Puerta del Sol. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us .

We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!

Best regards
Eri Martinez Varela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This hotel is in a great location, has pleasant helpful staff, free Wi-Fi and the breakfast was good value for money. However that's where the good points end. The air-conditioning only delivers hot air in the winter, so for UK visitors the rooms are too warm. Consequently the bathrooms smell stale due to a lack of airflow. The room had french doors to a juliette balcony but you cannot have these open at night because of the people noise and the early morning (5am onwards) delivery trucks. The floors are laminate even in the bathrooms. Our bathroom showed signs of significant water damage to the floor. The floors, except in reception showed significant wear. The hotel is in need of a refurbisment with those laminate floors replaced by ceramic tiles, particularly in the bathrooms. I have stayed in better B&B's in the UK than this. This hotel is rated at 3 star, I think it deserves no more than 2 star. I did enjoy Madrid however, it is a great place with friendly people and a great Metro system for getting around,

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper don't stay here because you will not get much sleep. If you are young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri_Martinez_Varela, Gerente at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for you comment about our Hotel Petit Palace Puerta del Sol.

We will bear in mind your comment about the bathrooms and we will do our best to improve in this issue. We are making reform in all rooms.

Your feedback helps us to improve every day.

Ultimately, we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.

Kindest regards.
Alfredo Torralba Fernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

1. Staff was young and seemingly dry, but friendly if you ask or request something.
2. I enjoyed breakfast. For example, kinds of cheese were four or five.
3. The room was so-so spacious. My family, three people, could simultaneously open trunks on the floor, not on each bed. But it was not clean.
4. The quantity of shower is enough and bath was provided in my room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Departamento ventas online at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to the city. We appreciate the time that you took to post your comments; your feedback will allow us to improve our service every day.
We regret not having met their expectations and we would like to give us another chance for your next stay in Madrid

Best Regards
Eri Martinez Varela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very Central Hotel in a nice old building. Cozy hall with free wifi in the entire hotel. The hotel corridors are noisy since they have a wooden floor. The guest rooms have just enough size, Decor and ambiance are modern but very simple. Lighting is good, the working area is useful for business travelers but the wardrobe is on the short side. The TV and the cable service are good, plus all the plugs. The bed is comfortable and of decent size. Bathroom is spacious and with a very good shower. Services work well Housekeeping, Reception and Maintenance work well when needed.

There is almost no soundproofing you listen much more than you would want to. The central heating is unbalanced and the air gets too dry. Wifi is too slow. Decor finishing is just not there specially some floor areas. Bathroom windows have no shutters (maintenance solved it promptly). Toiletries are on the budget level. All in all low value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Departamento ventas online at Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments. Always we are working to improve our services for the clients to have a pleasant stay.

Sorry , for the inconveniences, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion.

We will initiate an important reform to update the hotel facilities.

Kindest regards
Eri Martinez Varela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#132 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#90 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#122 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#93 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol

Property: Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Address: Calle Arenal 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Puerta del Sol is a hotel in the Puerta del Sol of Madrid, with an ancient XIX century facade, perfectly combining innovation and tradition. Relax in a comfortable hotel nearby the Puerta del Sol, Madrid, with a large range of services: Free Wifi, press, breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing