We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is great for transit through the airport of Madrid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Don Luis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Don Luis
Ranked #216 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Москва
Level Contributor
248 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Is great for transit through the airport of Madrid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A small hotel in Barajas, a kilometer from the airport, but the distance to walk is problematic. We stayed in just because are arriving late at night and early in the morning flew on. For this purpose the hotel met expectations. The rooms are pleasant, on the top floor, with a sloping ceiling, original.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanislavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    172
    69
    13
    9
See reviews for
51
169
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We chose this hotel because it was the best value mid price hotel close to the subway - ten minutes walk. It is a nice, quiet, clean, old fashioned hotel, close to restaurants and shops. The beds were a little hard but the pillows were soft! We couldn't get the AC to work but we were able to open the window (we stayed there in April). We did not have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Look for good deals online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The airport can be reached on foot to the subway about 5 minutes, then 1 stop to T2 or T4, or you can walk 15 minutes from hotel to T2.
The hotel is very comfortable and quiet, you can relax between connecting flights.
On the square next to the hotel there are several restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akimman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kielce
Level Contributor
387 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the Barajas airport, since we had a morning flight, we went to the airport on foot. Terminal 2 was enough for 15 minutes walk. Hotel seems to be an, basically equipped. We managed to catch the WiFi signal in the room. We haven.t got breakfats.
Service at the front desk friendly and helpful. The area surrounding the supermarket cheap in comparison to prices in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

A clean tidy hotel, we had a one night stay there as a layover between flights.
Reception was excellant, friendly, quick and efficient. Room was clean tidy and just right. Close to Airport, but be careful of sharp practice taxi drivers going the long way and charging double the fare, normal when they realise you dont speak spanish.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Getting to the hotel from the airport is a breeze, and the area (Barajas) is quiet and very 'normal' compared to the city. We arrived at the hotel late on the Friday night and were relieved to find the reception open with a very friendly (despite the time) lady who was efficient and helpful. The hotel is very clean and spacious. The room was simple, similar to most airport hotels really, but there was nothing to complain about. For longer stays i'd recommend something a bit closer to Madrid central but for one or two nights it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights after a trip to northern Spain and didn´t want a hotel in the city. Barajas is perfect if you just want a place minutes from the airport. Rooms are spacious, staff very friendly. Good restaurant on the plaza down the street. Public transport to Madrid via subway takes 20 minutes and beats driving.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Barajas Plaza
Hotel Barajas Plaza
#294 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#134 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa De Barajas
#269 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
#147 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Centro
RC Miguel Angel
RC Miguel Angel
#339 of 445 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Luis

Property: Hotel Don Luis
Address: Avenida General 12, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Luis Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing