We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Pereda Hs
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ILUNION Alcala Norte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
ILUNION Atrium(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tryp Madrid Chamartin(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nuevo Madrid(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
27
77
60
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
77
60
23
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Was about what we expected. Right on the central bit of Gran Via. Easy to get anywhere. Room was clean even though it was a bit "worn" (Like me really). Saved us about £100 based on the accommodation our friends were staying at a couple of blocks away. Had a balcony overlooking the GranVia.
Only drawback was the hot water took rather a long time to reach us from wherever it came from.
No air con so would be very hot at the height of summer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brush-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We went for a 5 day break to Madrid. Having been before and stayed with family we were lucky to know where most things were and what to do. Hostal Pereda is in a perfect location right on Gran Via meaning you could walk to most places if you wanted to. (The metro station is right outside though which means it's easy to get to from the airport).
The hostal itself and the rooms are surprisingly big and also quite basic but still have some character. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding. Our window view was terrible so I would request a front road view before your stay if possible.

The staff aren't particularly friendly but it doesn't matter as we didn't spend much time in the hostal. We thought we had paid online so were unaware that you had to pay on departure which caused a bit of hassle as we were leaving. Another slight issue was the noise; we were woken up with lots of banging from around 7am each morning. Forgetting these couple of things though, it was excellent value for money and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spudles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This is a pretty quaint place - the rooms remind me of staying at my Grandma's place which is not necessarliy a bad thing! They're clean enough, have attached bathroom with hot water, and some rooms have a small balcony which opens out right onto Gran Via! So a brilliant location. If you're a light sleeper the street noise might be an issue, but it didn't bother us. McDonald's is right across the road (if you need a coffee etc) and the Gran Via Metro station is literally a 30 second walk from the front door. The area verges on a red light district so there are quite a few prostitutes around, but it's very safe and not an issue (well, it wasn't for us). WiFi is included in the room price, but breakfast isn't. We tried the breakfast one morning, and I wouldn't recommend it! There's a laundromat about 10 minutes walk away, and loads of restaurants and tapas bars. We stayed for 6 nights and it was fine for what we wanted (a place to sleep). If you're after a romantic getaway I'd look elsewhere though.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

The hostel is noisy because it is on the Gran Via, but if you walked all day, you will sleep anyway. The location was fantastic. The room old, but had a nostalgic charm. The staff were very friendly, only the breakfast was not good, I recommend that you go out for your breakfast, there are places nearby where you can eat for a few euros.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

Since I discovered this quaint, and wonderful small hostal I have been a constant visitor, since 2000! THe people are friendly, humble, and very courteous. The adventure of getting in a cage elevator, then entering your small modest room with a view of the Gran Via --that is, if you have the chance and opportunity to be on the top floors facing the street. If you want privacy ask for the rooms where the windows face towards the inside of the building. The walls may be thin, but just a phone call away and they are kept respectfully quiet. Breakfast is served, but there is so many walking distance places to have it, why bother? They offer sound advice for anything from great places to eat, wine, non-tourist, local places to visit. It's the Madrid you will savor. It's good, t's clean, and cheap. Now, just a matter of clarification. This is not a Best WEstern nor a Red Roof Inn, you may get some bathrooms where the shower or tub's water pressure is not what you expected. Yet, you can't go wrong. It is close to theatres, Cinemas, and El corte Ingles. Plaza del Sol, s less than 5 mnutes away, Plaza Mayor is a 10 minute walk, Plaza de España is a 15 minute walk. It is really the place to be if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cl0setNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews