We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and luxurious-bit lost in translation?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #111 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and luxurious-bit lost in translation?”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here on a short break to madrid recently. Location second to none, very central and across from an amazing park. The building itself is stunning both inside and out. Carpet on stairs a bit scruffy but my hubby reckoned that added to the charm. Room was beautiful, request 109 to 111 all overlook the park. Had CD player, MP3 and very comfy bed and bathroom was massive and well kitted out with Molten Brown goodies...Breakfast was excellent 10/10- we had it served in room both mornings- very fresh and innovative at no extra charge. My only criticism was that the standard of English amongst the staff was poor and some basic requests for food drink got confused or were very slow due to confusion. I accept that obviously madrid is Spanish speaking but overall, as this hotel is five star, it will need to up its game linguistically if it is to adequetely be taken seriously as a venue for delegates etc. Some contingency needs to be in place. When my colleague tried to request time of breakfast foor example, the porter started to charge the drinks to his room!!??Overall though, an enjoyable stay and I would reccommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinTansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    156
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
99
260
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Spent two nights here at the beginning of our trip.We are Marriott members and used points and cash upgrade to get a larger room. Prior to our trip we requested early check- in and when we arrived at 9 am we only had to wait 45 minutes . The staff stored our bags and recommended breakfast down the street at Harina. This is a local bakery/restaurant with tasty, reasonably priced food. My kids recommend the chocolate croissants. We had breakfast there every day since it was so much cheaper than the hotel. The menu is also in English, you just have to ask for it.

Check was very easy! The front desk staff were polite and pleasant and answered all our questions. We stayed in a superior room on the first floor. The room was spacious with a very high ceiling, a king bed and a foldaway bed for daughter. There is an extra charge for foldaway beds unless they're being used by a child under 12 years old.The beds were very comfortable. Everything was clean, lots of towels and toiletries in the large bathroom with two sinks and separate shower and bathtub.I couldn't hear the street noise even though we were on the first floor. All the rooms are different sizes since this is a converted palace. You can request a larger room like I did.
The front desk staff helped me buy train tickets, a bank to exchange $ and a local pharmacy.
The hotel is in a great neighborhood, very safe and a short walking distance to many attractions.
The next time I travel to Madrid I will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeny925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

OK, my first time in Spain and everything seemed golden (the wonderful light! Compared to Seattle, anyway) but arriving light shocked, language shocked, and time-zone shocked, my wife and I were grateful for the gracious and welcoming staff who greeted us in this elegant city hotel. We were too early for our room but bellhops quickly stored our baggage -- without the literal or even figurative holding out palms for tips. Rachel, our first contact at the desk, seemed not only glad to serve (despite our halting Spanish) but positively, convincingly, delighted to have us as guests. We thought her a rarity ... But follow-on encounters with other personnel were just as pleasurable. As a gold member for a number of years -- which requires travel-- I can only say our four days at this hotel, in terms of staff, were the most delightful we have ever had at a Marriott property. (Other subsequent stays in Cordoba and Grenada were also above par, but not nearly so much as at the Retiro.)

The hotel itself is the former family home of the founder of Talgo railroad cars (i recognized the name: The Seattle - Portland Amtrak uses Talgo cars because they "lean" through curves, allowing faster speeds) and there was a good bit of elegance throughout the site. It was not, however designed to be a hotel, so despite a good deal of artful upgrading, the structure does not function perfectly for its current service. The ceiling to our room was very high -- but the quarters were cramped. Plumbing was new but there was little elbow room. The dining room was lovely ( perfect for a family) but it seemed some guests had to eat toast off plates balanced on their knees while sitting in couches the adjoining study. (The ordinary contintental breakfast consisted of toast, a pastry, and very fine orange juice.) The lounge on the first floor was directly beside the front desk, and not terribly appealing. However, the overall feel of the hotel was of Old World grace and it was always a pleasure to walk into such a grand building after having strolled from the nearby Prado or the Plaza Mayor. And there were many nearby sidewalk cafes, downscale to upscale, in which to try tapas at 9 pm. The Retiro park -- much akin to NYC's Central Park -- is just across the street. I would unhesitatingly stay again.


Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was my second stay in Madrid and as much as I liked the last hotel I stayed in (Hotel Atlantico on Gran Via), I found the AC Palacio Real to be even better.

First and foremost, the location is perfect. It situated in Centro Madrid across from the Retiro park. It is located on the relaxed and more quiet Calle Alfonso XIII. Reina Sofia, Puerto de Sol and Plaza Mayor are all within a few minutes walking time. The Prado (a must visit), is a 2 minute walk. We rented the hotel's motorized bikes (15 Euro per hour) and rode throughout Retiro park, I highly recommend this. At the least explore the park, it is amazingly beautiful!

The staff are incredibly nice, all speak English very well and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. A young lady named Mer helped us on many occasions and was terrific!

We had a queen room which overlooked the outside center of the hotel and made for a very quiet atmosphere. The room was decorated very modern with a flat screen TV, a Phillips IPhone tall speaker system and a CD player including a AC Hotel CD with different types of music.

As a Marriott Gold member, our room came with free continental breakfast each morning. This included juice, coffee, toast as well as a delicious fresh croissant with jam and butter. You can upgrade if you wish for full breakfast however we did not as street food is plentiful and less expensive.

Next time I'm in Madrid it will be AC Retiro for me for sure. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akeyes1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent three nights at the AC Palacio in Madrid to finish off our two week trip to Spain. We used marriott points for the three nights and it was well worth the points. We had a huge room with a sitting area, espresso machine, Ipod docking station and cd player. The bathroom was huge with two sinks outside the shower and toilet area. When we arrived the person working, Juan Carlos? was exceptional. He brought everything to our room and would not leave untiil he knew we were happy and had everything we needed. Later that night he recomended a fabulous restaruant for dinner. Each day the staff was very friendly. This is a great hotel and a fabulous way to end our trip in Spain. Some of the players from the Madrid Open were staying at this hotel while we were there. There is a great bakery/cafe right around the corner one street further away from Retiro Park. We ate breakfast there everyday and it was delicious. All in all a great hotel. Great location across the street from the park but still walking distance to everything!

Room Tip: If you don't want to face the street but want a huge room request room 102. It faces the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Read about this porperty in Delta SkyMag. Superior room is big by euro standards. Modern-comtemporary decor. Bath is nice & modern. Not much by way of food service, but why would I want to eat in a hotel all the time! Retiro Park right across the street and it's awesome. Madrid definitely has good green space. The staff were very helpful. Despite not having an official concierge, they fulfilled our requests. It's minutes from Atocha train station and walking distance from the main museums...really. Metro is 2 blocks away, and it's maybe 10 minutes by cab to Puerto del Sol. Quiet at night, but easy to get to the action.

Room Tip: Don't expect big hotel amenities from a boutique property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, ca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent two night here and I must say we were very disappointed. I am a Marriott Gold elite member and called ahead to request a nice room. The room we were put in was dark and small and below Marriott's high standards. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom ok. Service was excellent but we had to pay extra for breakfast. Our friends had a much better room and are not gold elite members thus attention to detail is lacking. It is a shame that this happened to us as the location is excellent and everything was very clean. However, when you stay in Marriott hotels as much as I do I expect to be treated better.

Room Tip: If you are taken to a room with small port hole like windows ask to change rooms. All the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraAnneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
963 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#81 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing