We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #108 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great location- very accessible, close to all the important sights and right across from a great part called Retiro! Warm and helpful staff, good food, decent rooms, overall, a good hotel- a big luxury mansion converted into a boutique hotel. The gym is not well equipped. Plus, watch out for the those door stoppers in the room....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchnTkkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was the last hotel we stayed in after a two week tour of Italy and Spain; my children thought it was the best in many ways. The rooms have been recently renovated and were done very well. We were literally given "the shaft", put in rooms on the ground floor on the air shaft, no view whatsoever and honestly we could have cared less. We spent most of our time out in Madrid and this was a welcome, relaxing refuge. The location, on the Retiro and very close to the Prado and other museums was terrific. I would say that this is an ideal family hotel in Madrid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fopet145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

At the end of 2 weeks of travel in Spain, this was a wonderful place to spend our last 4 days.
Located at the center of all the sights and neighborhoods, and providing proximity to the park.
A former mansion, all the rooms are different, and maintained design features of the original house while providing for the needs of the traveler. We had a separate media room and the bedroom looked out on the park. The third floor was quiet, despite facing a busy street. The staff here attended every request with enthusiasm - making dinner reservations, giving directions, and more.
I would not consider staying anywhere else on the next visit to Madrid!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfandPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here on a short break to madrid recently. Location second to none, very central and across from an amazing park. The building itself is stunning both inside and out. Carpet on stairs a bit scruffy but my hubby reckoned that added to the charm. Room was beautiful, request 109 to 111 all overlook the park. Had CD player, MP3 and very comfy bed and bathroom was massive and well kitted out with Molten Brown goodies...Breakfast was excellent 10/10- we had it served in room both mornings- very fresh and innovative at no extra charge. My only criticism was that the standard of English amongst the staff was poor and some basic requests for food drink got confused or were very slow due to confusion. I accept that obviously madrid is Spanish speaking but overall, as this hotel is five star, it will need to up its game linguistically if it is to adequetely be taken seriously as a venue for delegates etc. Some contingency needs to be in place. When my colleague tried to request time of breakfast foor example, the porter started to charge the drinks to his room!!??Overall though, an enjoyable stay and I would reccommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinTansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Spent two nights here at the beginning of our trip.We are Marriott members and used points and cash upgrade to get a larger room. Prior to our trip we requested early check- in and when we arrived at 9 am we only had to wait 45 minutes . The staff stored our bags and recommended breakfast down the street at Harina. This is a local bakery/restaurant with tasty, reasonably priced food. My kids recommend the chocolate croissants. We had breakfast there every day since it was so much cheaper than the hotel. The menu is also in English, you just have to ask for it.

Check was very easy! The front desk staff were polite and pleasant and answered all our questions. We stayed in a superior room on the first floor. The room was spacious with a very high ceiling, a king bed and a foldaway bed for daughter. There is an extra charge for foldaway beds unless they're being used by a child under 12 years old.The beds were very comfortable. Everything was clean, lots of towels and toiletries in the large bathroom with two sinks and separate shower and bathtub.I couldn't hear the street noise even though we were on the first floor. All the rooms are different sizes since this is a converted palace. You can request a larger room like I did.
The front desk staff helped me buy train tickets, a bank to exchange $ and a local pharmacy.
The hotel is in a great neighborhood, very safe and a short walking distance to many attractions.
The next time I travel to Madrid I will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeny925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

OK, my first time in Spain and everything seemed golden (the wonderful light! Compared to Seattle, anyway) but arriving light shocked, language shocked, and time-zone shocked, my wife and I were grateful for the gracious and welcoming staff who greeted us in this elegant city hotel. We were too early for our room but bellhops quickly stored our baggage -- without the literal or even figurative holding out palms for tips. Rachel, our first contact at the desk, seemed not only glad to serve (despite our halting Spanish) but positively, convincingly, delighted to have us as guests. We thought her a rarity ... But follow-on encounters with other personnel were just as pleasurable. As a gold member for a number of years -- which requires travel-- I can only say our four days at this hotel, in terms of staff, were the most delightful we have ever had at a Marriott property. (Other subsequent stays in Cordoba and Grenada were also above par, but not nearly so much as at the Retiro.)

The hotel itself is the former family home of the founder of Talgo railroad cars (i recognized the name: The Seattle - Portland Amtrak uses Talgo cars because they "lean" through curves, allowing faster speeds) and there was a good bit of elegance throughout the site. It was not, however designed to be a hotel, so despite a good deal of artful upgrading, the structure does not function perfectly for its current service. The ceiling to our room was very high -- but the quarters were cramped. Plumbing was new but there was little elbow room. The dining room was lovely ( perfect for a family) but it seemed some guests had to eat toast off plates balanced on their knees while sitting in couches the adjoining study. (The ordinary contintental breakfast consisted of toast, a pastry, and very fine orange juice.) The lounge on the first floor was directly beside the front desk, and not terribly appealing. However, the overall feel of the hotel was of Old World grace and it was always a pleasure to walk into such a grand building after having strolled from the nearby Prado or the Plaza Mayor. And there were many nearby sidewalk cafes, downscale to upscale, in which to try tapas at 9 pm. The Retiro park -- much akin to NYC's Central Park -- is just across the street. I would unhesitatingly stay again.


Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank bunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was my second stay in Madrid and as much as I liked the last hotel I stayed in (Hotel Atlantico on Gran Via), I found the AC Palacio Real to be even better.

First and foremost, the location is perfect. It situated in Centro Madrid across from the Retiro park. It is located on the relaxed and more quiet Calle Alfonso XIII. Reina Sofia, Puerto de Sol and Plaza Mayor are all within a few minutes walking time. The Prado (a must visit), is a 2 minute walk. We rented the hotel's motorized bikes (15 Euro per hour) and rode throughout Retiro park, I highly recommend this. At the least explore the park, it is amazingly beautiful!

The staff are incredibly nice, all speak English very well and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. A young lady named Mer helped us on many occasions and was terrific!

We had a queen room which overlooked the outside center of the hotel and made for a very quiet atmosphere. The room was decorated very modern with a flat screen TV, a Phillips IPhone tall speaker system and a CD player including a AC Hotel CD with different types of music.

As a Marriott Gold member, our room came with free continental breakfast each morning. This included juice, coffee, toast as well as a delicious fresh croissant with jam and butter. You can upgrade if you wish for full breakfast however we did not as street food is plentiful and less expensive.

Next time I'm in Madrid it will be AC Retiro for me for sure. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akeyes1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#37 of 438 in Madrid
1,949 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#79 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £168 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing