We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, sophisticated, gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #120 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Stylish, sophisticated, gorgeous!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Ideal location for exploring Madrid on foot. The hotel was the personal residence of a Spanish shipping tycoon. The hotel company took a classic space and contrasted it with tasteful modern design to create a breathtaking hotel. This hotel is new with many top of the line appointments. Large bathrooms, spacious rooms and many nice touches (CD in the room with electronic lounge music, shaving kit & tooth brushes). One of the best parts is the mini bar is gratis! Only problem was that we found out only 1/2 through our trip. I like a hotel that doesn't nickel and dime you over basic travel amenities. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    154
    51
    22
    10
See reviews for
95
255
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The hotel is located in a main street, just walking distance from the Prado Museum, the Alcala Arch and many other attractions.
Our room was spacious and beautiful; very modern and very well taken care of. That goes for the bathroom as well.
The breakfast area is also very nice and the presentation of all of the meals is superb.
Staff was nice and the views of the park are magnificent at sundown.

Room Tip: If you like light ask for your room at 4th floor. this used to be a palace o I don't think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay in Madrid at this lovely hotel. The situation of the hotel opposite the Retiro Park cannot be beaten in my eyes and it is in a beautiful pat of the city very near to the Prado Museum and the Ritz Hotel.

The hotel staff were very courteous and could do enough for us. The hotel itself is very smart. From the outside it looks like a private house and inside it is very modern and contempory but the original touches have been kept. Everything about this hotel was excellent and I would definately stay here again.

We did not take breakfast here so cannot comment on this. We did have drinks in the bar which were delicious (a bit on the pricey side but who cares when you are in this lovely city and hotel) and the bar is very cool and welcoming after the heat of the day. The reception staff advised us where to go for food on our first night and this turned out to be an extremely good and trendy restaurant called Ramses. Very good choice. They also advised us how to get about the city on the open top bus tour and called us a taxi when we requested one.

I cannot praise the staff or this beautiful hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A lovely hotel located in a quiet section of Madrid but within walking distance
To the city's center of activities. The staff was professional and extremely helpful
with our questions. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjava911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was an excellent hotel. However, be aware. I handed my bag to the hotel reception area to put into the bag lock. When I had come back to collect my satchel it had been STOLEN. It has been over 3 weeks so far and as of yet they have NOT settled this issue even though I reported it to the Spanish Police within 3 hours. To say I am annoyed is an understatement. Please make up your own mind on as to how high that puts customer care and service on the agenda of this hotel. This was a business trip and so far I am over £1800 out of pocket.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This property is in a great location and in a lovely area right across from the park. We were there for a few days. We learned that, while the Marriott name is used, it is not governed by Marriott. The AC properties are not required to adhere to any Marriott standards. That isnt to say that this isnt a nice a property. Certain aspects were rather frustrating.

The staff couldnt have been more helpful and friendly. They all speak English fluently which was very impressive. The building is a converted mansion. The main staircase has the original handmade carpet which is just about one piece though very worn. You have to leave your key at the front desk when leaving which was a bit goofy to have just one key for a family. We left it in the room several times. Though this is a historic building and modifications limit what can and cant be done to the room and doors. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. We had two rooms and both were the same. The furniture, to us, appeared worn and cheap. It has that minimalistic appearance at first. But then at closer look its just worn and cheap.

Regarding breakfast, the buffet was about as extensive as a Courtyard Marriott. Not worth the 20 or so Euros they were charging. The complimentary breakfast for platinum guests was 2 pieces of toast, a croissant and one cup of coffee. By the third day none of us could even look at bread. Very regimented.

We werent impressed with this property overall and agreed that we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank windsor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stay at this hotel every time I travel to Madrid. It's location is perfect and set in a very wealthy part of the city. The building is wonderfully traditional, but the hotel is extremely contemporary. The rooms are well styled and comfortable with everything you need. The friendliness of the staff is always to be relied upon. Top tip...a great couple of tapas bars/restaurants within 2 minute walk. Come out the front door, turn left and left again and you'll find them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#84 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing