We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Oscar(Madrid)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Urban(Madrid)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mediodia(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SLEEP'N Atocha(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
316
163
55
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
163
55
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarriott pointsmarriott memberconverted mansiongreat locationbeautiful parkcontinental breakfaststained glass windowsold palacefull buffetboutique hotelfront desk staffdirectly across the streetloved this hoteltwo sinkswithin walking distancebusiness travelerroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in mid-May. As a Marriott Gold member I got an upgraded room and it was huge, up on the 4th floor. I should have received a free breakfast buffet but they were getting over 80 bucks a couple for that and they offered me a discount for only $25 per person, about what they get at a stateside JW Marriott. Otherwise we could have a free croissant and coffee. Instead, from a tip on Tripadvisor, we walked around the corner and down one block to Alfonso XI and made a right for another block and there was VAIT a Pasteleria, or pastry shop which also has about a dozen tables and serves breakfast and lunch. We both had delicious hot ham, cheese and egg sandwiches and coffees for about what AC Palacio charged for one person. (18 Euros) The hotel itself was very well appointed and the maid crew made up the rooms promptly. The front desk staff was extraordinary. The level of cheerful help and tips they gave us, pointing out everything we needed to know about this restaurant or that Flamenco show, was wonderful. They couldn't have been nicer; what a great young crew!
The hotel was within walking distance of Calle Serrano, a major shopping street with very high end stores. Walking down this street, we branched off into other connected streets to find other stores and restaurants. The Prado was a five minute walk and the Reina Sophia museum was about 10 minutes. The latter had a fabulous exhibition of the major works of Dali.
We traveled all over Madrid by foot and by taxi. NOTE:Taxi drivers do not expect a tip; most people usually round up to the next Euro. We did this and they were very appreciative. Most fares were between six to twelve bucks, quite reasonable. Note also that Spain and Portugal are two of the only countries in Europe in which restaurants do NOT include the tip on the bill. We were told that the tip is included in the price of the meal but most people leave an extra 5-10%; we did this and they always appreciated it.
The hotel has a bar and dining area for sandwiches and various snacks. These were somewhat reasonable but drinks here and in most restaurants are very expensive. An eight ounce bottle of coke is 8 bucks in most places! There is a giant, beautiful park right across the street from the hotel and I urge you to take a respite from all the hustling and shopping and do take a walk in the park. It is wonderfully maintained and quite beautiful.
Our room had a spacious bathroom with a great, separate shower and also a bathtub, and separate commode. The closet had a safe for your valuables. The room was spotless, just like the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directorpr, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Mr Shellyf,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us while your stay in Madrid recently. As well as the time taken to let us know about your experience at our Palacio del Retiro Hotel. It is always a pleasure for us to receive our guests comments.

Your comments are very useful for us in order to improve in daily basis our service and facilities and to adapt to our guest expectations. Our entire staff has the commitment to make your stay a unique experience.

Thank you very much for your confidence in the Autograph Palacio del Retiro hotel.

Best Regards and we hope to see you soon in Madrid!

Guest Relations
AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A very elegant and classic hotel about 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre and directly opposite one of Madrid’s massive parks (perfect if you enjoy jogging). My room was clean, modern and spacious, the bathroom had a range of free Molton Brown toiletries and a good powerful shower, and the staff were most welcoming. Breakfast was a little expensive, however there’s an amazing café nearby which we used. Hotel recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niknak586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

First time in Madrid. Stayed here on leisure vacation. Let me tell you a few pluses about hotel;

1) location. - on the art museum area so very quiet and "prestigious. "
2) very clean room
3) great service and helpful staff. So polite.

No downs or minuses on this one.

You get the "Palace feel " like staying in the Crillion in Paris but very friendly. If you are the type of person who likes the upper class hotels where they really go all out for their guests then I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The location was great, but other things that make Marriott the Marriott were lacking. First off, the appalling decoration of the room, which had a gross grey sheer curtain full of snags, a grayish black sofa and chair sitting on a brown, orange, and beige area rug that has seen better days, no drawer space to speak of. Only closet space. Instead of the soft, cloud-like mattress pad (which I bought from Marriott and have on our bed at home), the mattress pad was the quality of what one would find in Wal-mart. I found the bed too hard, not the standard soft comfy Marriott bed I am used to.

The wall outlets had a thick, deeply recessed plate on them that made plugging in our adaptor very difficult; the adaptor sagged and could not support my appliances. without us having to do something to prop them up. We asked everyday for the hotel adaptor that would have resolved this, but our requests were met with zero helpfulness and blank stares...nothing but excuses. It was clear that they couldn't have cared less about helping us.

Finally, there were some male desk clerks who had an unhelpful, snotty attitude, barely aknowledged us when we passed by, and whose command of English was less than impressive, however the females were fine. If we only had to deal with the women, I would have had a better impression of the hotel, but unfortunately, the desk clerk becomes the face of the organization, and in this case, it wasn't the right image. I usually find Marriott staff to be helpful and friendly, not better than thou snots.

There was a nauseating, cloying smell throughout the hotel due to a deodorizing spray that was over-used,It should not be sprayed in guests' rooms and gave me an instant headache. With allergies so prevalent, it was an unwise decision to inundate the hotel with the eye-watering spray. The perfume squad did stop spraying our room, but the elevators and halls still reeked of it.

Nice bathroom and good shower, althought we did find dying flies in our sink. To be fair, there were some positives, but not enough. This is not the Marriott I am used to. Marriott ratings should not be AVERAGE.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicoLeChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directorpr, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Nicole,

I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had at our Hotel while your recent visit to Madrid.

We would like to thank you for sincere cooperation making us knowledgeable of the areas of improvement. For sure it will help us to develop our service for your next visit to our Hotel or other Marriott Family Hotel visit.

We will take into consideration your recommendation regarding deodorizing spray use, decoration opinion, insect problem and adaptors shortage.

Regarding Staff´s attitude, We do apologize if some of my colleagues didn’t meet your expectations with your requirements.

Once again, sorry for the inconveniences and thanks for your continuous support on behalf of the Marriott Family.

Best Regards

Guest Relations
AC Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in March 2013. We used Marriott points and were also upgraded to a suite looking out at the park when we arrived. If you like old world luxury, this is the place for you. We felt like we were in a beautifully modernized palace. Our room felt like a little apartment and we loved that there were double sinks in the bathroom. The location was also great -- close to the park, the metro and the museums. We took the subway when we headed to the Plaza Mayor area, but had the weather been warmer, probably would have walked. Also just a short walk to Atocha for the day we went to Toledo. The best part was the staff, particularly the evening staff who were so helpful with restaurant recommendations and suggestions for things to see and do (thanks Juan Carlos). I could have easily spent a few more nights here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews