We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #97 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We were able to walk easily to all the musuems.
The Buen Retiro Park was just accross the street.
Breakfast was included and the coffee fabulous!

The hotel staff were so nice and very helpful.

We will return:)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -RRandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    156
    52
    22
    10
See reviews for
101
262
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a beautiful mansion that was made into a hotel and we'd rate it a 3.5/4.

Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff; great location (next to Retiro park, and a 15 minute walk from Puerto de Sol, Plaza Mayor, and high end shopping.

Cons: How can you be a business friendly hotel with no irons?!?! My wife and I stayed here near the end of our trip to Spain so whatever clean clothes we had were wrinkled. We called down to ask for an iron and were told that due to safety reasons guests cannot iron their own clothes and they have to be sent down to the laundry. I needed 2 dress shirts ironed, so I just bit the bullet and paid the $30 for pressing 2 dress shirts! You think they would at least have discounted or waived the fees for gold/platinum Marriott members.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_n_Eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a pleasure it was to stay here. Gorgeous rooms and restaurant/bar. Sleek contemporary design interiors; elegant palatial exterior. Front desk a tad aloof, but very helpful. A real treat for us as frequent U.S. Marriott travelers.

Room Tip: Ground floor (superior) was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnsjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Adjacent to Retiro (and close to Retiro Metro station) is a huge plus; that's why I picked this hotel, in a wonderful historic building. Room was very nice, except for the hard-as-a-rock bed. But what is up with the snotball service? They act like the customer is privileged to stay there. First there's the spa ("Mr. Kenney, you need to give us 20-30 minutes notice so we can turn it on" -- it was completely unmanned....really??). Then, a truly EPIC argument at check-out over room service I never got.......I gave up and went to sleep about 90 minutes after ordering......the she-devil behind the desk insisted I pay for it anyway. I tried to tell her that this is not how an upscale hotel behaves. Typical European resentful lunacy. Marriott should rein these Andalusian ding-dongs in, and fast if they want repeat business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModfatherDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doylestown, pa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We've been traveling for over 50 years. This hotel is a real winner. I'm thinking maybe some of the reviewers here were confused and at a different hotel maybe? One word of clarification: this is a beautiful, center city contemporary 'design' hotel located in a classic Madrid mansion with glorious stained glass, architectural details and sophistication. Yes the location is perfect across from the stunning Retiro Park. The Madrid Hop On Hop Off bus that can take you everywhere is right outside the door. Our room, #103, was fantastic. Large bathroom, clean and spacious, separate toilet stall encased in frosted glass, the bed very comfortable. Great sitting area. Huge windows, and quiet even on the street. Wonderful lighting in the room too, state of the art heat and cool, flat screen etc. The bar/dining room is small and intimate and delightful. The staff was terrific. The morning buffet huge, with an option for Continental breakfast too. My gluten allergy? No problem. Gluten free breads and even pasta...things I don't find at huge hotels elsewhere. There was nothing that wasn't done well.
We are Marriott owners in Scottsdale. Love the Marriott brand. This place was a standout, and we will go out of our way to find more Autograph Collection locations. Special thanks to Raquel at the front desk. Sweet, helpful, enthusiastic and the ultimate professional.

Room Tip: First or second floor just fine. We were in 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedoylestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are adequate and sufficiently sized when compared to the standard European hotel room. The hotel is close walking distance to museums (across the street from the gorgeous retiro park), but a 20min walk to most everything else. Restaurant choices around the hotel are limited, but there are a couple exceptional gems nearby. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is good assuming you are not paying for it and are getting it for free. BEWARE: MR Gold/Plat. Members get the free continental which includes juice, coffee, cut fruit, and 2-3 miniature pastries. Don't be expecting the full spread unless you pay an additional €12-13.

The reason for the low rating is the €230/night charge and the ATROCIOUS wifi. A four star hotel and you can not connect VPN and get work emails?! For you non-business folks thinking no big deal...how about internet so slow that you can not download emails on your iPad or connect to what's app on your iPhone? Basic, low data requirement activities (no matter where you are in the hotel) not being able to function is simply unacceptable. My solution was daily walks to Starbucks (10-15min walk) to use their free wifi which worked flawlessly for work VPN and personal activities on the iPad. I complained to staff and they apologized and said they knew they had a slow internet connection but not much that could be done.

My recommendation would be to stay at one of the cheaper AC Hotels for 1/2-1/3 of the price and skip this autograph collection which needs some attention from Marriott.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JubilantBeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directorpr, Guest Relations Manager at AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Mr. Beggar,

I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had at our Hotel while your recent visit to Madrid.
We would like to thank you for sincere cooperation making us knowledgeable of the areas of improvement. For sure it will help us to develop our service for your next visit to our Hotel or other Marriott Family Hotel visit.

We will take into consideration your recommendation regarding breakfast and internet service.

Once again, sorry for the inconveniences and thanks for your continuous support on behalf of the Marriott Family.

Best Regards,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My first stay here and the very nice and professional staff at the front desk spoiled me with a large room on the 4th floor in the attic, very quiet and comfortable. large bathroom with separate shower and tub, English luxury toiletries, good bedding. I also liked the the fitness room in the basement and the high quality breakfast selection and the amazing service.
Hotel in a wonderful historic mansion with beautiful period rooms and contemporary furniture. Facing the Retiro Park. Close to luxury shopping as well as walkable to all major museums. Also thanks to Eduardo who made my stay unforgettable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#72 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing