We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't provide basic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #133 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel which pays attention to guests, it is 100% not your choice.

They don't provide iron due to security risk
They don't pick up phone due to ???over busy??? at the night
They don't serve you well because they can't.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Илья С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directorpr, Guest Relations Manager at AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Mr. Илья С,

I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had at our Hotel while your recent visit to Madrid.
We would like to thank you for sincere cooperation making us knowledgeable of the areas of improvement. For sure it will help us to develop our service for your next visit to our Hotel or other Marriott Family Hotel visit.

Your comments are very useful for us in order to improve in daily basis our service and facilities and to adapt to our guest expectations. Our entire staff has the commitment to improve and meet the Marriott International Hotels standards to make your stay a unique experience.

Once again, sorry for the inconveniences and thanks for your continuous support on behalf of the Marriott Family.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent three night at the hotel, which is right across from Retiro Park, and a short walk to the metro. The exterior of the hotel is stunning. The hotel maintains the definite feel of a small inn, with gracious service and attention to detail. Our room was modern, spacious and well-appointed. We appreciated the mini-fridge in the room as well. The continental breakfast was perfect for us. The cozy bar is a great place to grab a night-cap -- we watched World Cup soccer with our fellow travelers. Can't say enough about the location and the service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JetFlyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directorpr, Guest Relations Manager at AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Mr JetFlyr,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us while your stay in Madrid recently. As well as the time taken to fill in this type of comments, and to let us know about your experience at our Palacio del Retiro Hotel. It is always a pleasure for us to receive our guests comments.

Thank you very much for your confidence in the Marriott Family Hotels and specially at the Autograph Palacio del Retiro hotel.

Best Regards and we hope to see you soon in Madrid!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel located close to Retiro Park and museums near lovely Serrano neighborhood. We stayed here for 4 nights upon arriving to Spain before starting our Camino walk in Northern Spain. Great staff and wonderful breakfast buffet. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank jgj_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We flew into Madrid for a 10 day vacation to Spain. Our plane arrived early on Sunday. The cab ride to the hotel was quick and efficient. The staff at the Palacio worked quickly to place us in two adjacent rooms where we could rest before venturing out to see Madrid. We used Marriott points for half the bill. So, this was a huge bargain for a very nice boutique hotel. The Palacio is across the street from Retiro Park, two blocks from the Ritz, three blocks from the Prado and four blocks from the Thyssen. It turns out that some of the best tapas is on a street just one further West from the Prado. No tourists there, except for us. Not too much further is the Plaza St. Anna. Try Tortufo and grilled octopus.

The desk staff arranged tours, knew the neighborhoods, steered us away from seedier parts of the city and helped us navigated transportation. Breakfast was excellent as well. Marriott status lowers the price to reasonable levels.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. There is a small exercise room and spa in the hotel. However, Madrid is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here with my mom and daughter. We had a good size room - my only complaint was I thought it was a bit excessive to charge both an upgrade cost (on top of points) and an extra person charge. One extra charge should have been enough. The service was wonderful, the breakfast fully met our needs. It is in a great location and we either walked or took a short taxi ride to where we needed to go. We really enjoyed our time in Madrid and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located to all of the museums, especially the Prado, and across the street from the Retiro Park. It is also about a 15 minute walk to the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor, but you can take the nearby metro 3 to 4 stops on the red line.
The staff are very nice and do speak English well. They also give you mini tour of where to eat breakfast and where to get the elevator. The bellhop is waiting by your room with your luggage.
The rooms are a nice size, but our room, 404, was very roomy with a big bathroom that had a separate shower/tub and also two sinks with plenty of counter space. Their toilettries were also lovely.
I can not say enough good things about this hotel other than we will be back. Give it try.

Room Tip: Room 404 has a king size bed, big room with a small sofa, chair and desk, but it has a small, decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dremwver86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I traveled to Madrid for business with my boyfriend and stayed at the Palacio del Retiro for three nights. It was a wonderful stay. The staff speaks near perfect English and is always ready to accommodate. The young lady that checked us in shared a bit of the hotel's fascinating history with us. I did not eat in the restaurant, but did enjoy a packed lunch from the kitchen one day. It was great! Mini bar prices are a bit expensive, but that is to be expected. Our room was a little smaller than I had hoped for for the price, but the front door is just steps away from the Parque del Retiro.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 440 in Madrid
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#39 of 440 in Madrid
1,975 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#9 of 440 in Madrid
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#27 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#91 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £161 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing