We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 5-star hotel without showing off.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #121 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Very nice hotel just in the centre of Madrid, providing really good quality of service. The staff is always nice and superhelpful and the prices are alright. I also liked the interior design of my room, which was classical in general but with a cool partition wall with a comics drawn on it.
Very, very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

The service is out of this world. The best treatment we had in Spain. The most comfortable sleep as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apkurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This charming, tranquil unimposing hotel is a wonderful example of quiet luxury. It is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. This is one of Madrid's priciest options, but you won't be disappointed. We had a Jr. suite, but all the roooms are spacious. Our room had a large shower and no tub so if that is a concern specify that you want a tub. We had two vessel sinks. The room looked like a modern NYC loft and was more Design Within Reach than Ikea. It has thick bountiful towels, robes, and a heated towel rack. They give you generous supplies of Acqua de Parma personal products so if you forget or run out of your shampoo, body gel, conditioner or body lotion, you are in luck. One of my favorite characteristics is that the staff is unobtrusive in providing excellent services. Our room came stocked with a mini fridge and the goodies were free. I have only two suggestions. In an attempt to provide atmoshperic lighting, there simply is not enough of it. They need brighter bulbs in the bathroom and desk area. The rooms on the inner courtyard can be dark. Request a room facing the park to solve this issue. There should be a mirror and good lighting over the desk. Like many women I prefer putting my makeup on seated at a dressing table. I always bring my own travel magnifying mirror, but a larger wall mirror is helpful and good lighting is a neccesity. This is an easily corrected fault. Still this is a male dominated culture, and women's needs are not in the foreground. The buffet breakfast is expensive but yummy. It is top quality. There are generous portions of their Iberian ham, Spanish cheese, a home blended yogurt, pastries and breads. Hot items like cooked sausage and egg dishes may be ordered and are included. They also serve smoked salmon but alas there are no bagels. We saw bagels elsewhere in Madrid and see no reason why they could not be on the menu here. Still this is the kind of hotel that would try to meet any need the guest expresses. Madrid like all of Europe is expensive for Americans, but this hotel is in line with other prices. If you are thinking of staying at the Ritz , but want to avoid the stuffines, you will get the same over the top service here. This hotel is not walking distance to the Prado or the Queen Sofia. It is close to the high end shopping streets. Everything is so expensive here that one can buy the items for the same price or less back home. All I bought was a scarf that I wanted at one of the big name stores from Paris. I bought some $100 leather shoes and $35 rubber rain boots that had a fashionable treatment at the top. We purchased an art book at the Prado that we couldn't get elsewhere. This is not a shopping destination. It is an art destination. In order to enjoy ourselves we had to ignore the prices on the menus or we would have driven ourselves crazy. Any decent and even not so decent resaurant is expensive here. Food has gotten better in Spain over the years. Here in Madrid when we tire of Spanish ,we eat italian or something else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEYTOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel during the last weekend. It was really very nice hotel with good room services and good spacious rooms. also not very far from the airport. Also the location is very fine.
Thanks.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank smartnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This boutiqe hotel is truly outstanding. The building itself is gorgeous with very spacious contemporary rooms. The service is as good as I've ever experienced. This is truly a five star experience on a small scale at a fair price. The location makes it perfect for anyone wanting to visit the "big three" Madrid museums as they are all located within an easy 10 minute walk. I will definitely stay again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

NIce hotel - clean, spacious rooms, well located and friendly staff. Travelled on a corporate rate which made the hotel very affordable and included breakfast. As noted before, there is no way I would pay for breakfast at 29 euro's each - totally amazed how they can charge this. I can only assume they are trying to deter people taking breakfast as the restaurant is very small for a hotel with 50 rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibbo2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The room was very nice and clean, and I liked the location. But we were really underwhelmed by the service. No one was particularly helpful or friendly, and we were disappointed. Even getting a restaurant recommendation for dinner was a trying experience. Itwas made even more apparent by our next destination, Barcelona, where our hotel was wonderful. We are likely to go back to Madrid, but I would not stay here again. I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KesslerPark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection

Address: Calle Alfonso XII 14, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#44 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#85 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#96 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £200 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palatial home built in the beginning of the 20th century converted into a discreet 50 room luxury hotel. Unique building protected by National Heritage status where you can enjoy the pleasure of resting in one of the historic buildings of the centre of the city, located in front of the famous Retiro Park and close to the Paseo de Recoletos. It occupies the centre of the magical Art Triangle, Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Collection and Reina Sofia National Art Museum. Ideally located in the centre of the cultural, financial and business area. A full service business centre, counting with 5 meeting rooms of different sizes equipped with internet WIFI system makes of the AC Hotel Palacio del Retiro, Autograph Collection the ideal venue for holding meetings, conferences and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing