We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
84
153
55
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
153
55
10
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2006

We booked at the Hostal Martin but ended up staying at one of their sister sites just up C/Atocha on Luis Velez. Stayed 4 nights.

Very clean, comfortable, ensuite rooms, with balcony over the main street.

TV, air con, great bathrooms: the rooms look like they've been recently renovated and were priced 46 euro per night, which is a great price for such a central location.

The Luis Velez hostal is a 2 minute walk to Plaza Santa Ana (lots of cafes and tapas bars) and handy for the subway (again a bargain at 1 euro to travel from the airport into the city centre).

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FisherTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

I am not a princess, but I do expect cleanliness and a friendly staff. Finding the hostal building was easy, a few blocks from the metro but the office situation was a bit of a mess. The hostal shares an office with another hostal and the staff was not all that friendly, although they spoke English a little. I requested a quiet room and after wandering through a maze reached a smelly room with dirty towels. After requesting new towels, I realized that all their towels were gross. I got used to the smokey smell in the room but not to the bug that crawled across the floor. Also, they only take cash. Location was fine, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Amireh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2006

I spent 5 nights in this spotlessly clean hostal slap bang in the middle of Madrid, near all the main sights. For a simple but comfortable en suite single room it was very good value at about E40 per night (no breakfast, but who cares!). The building with it's old wooden staircase has a bit of character, there's free internet access in the reception area and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only fault I could give it was it was a bit noisey at times, but I still slept well every night.

2  Thank Maurice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

The hotel itself is OK, very small beds and smaller bathrooms, but that's not so much the problem..
We were two couples both booked and confirmed in Hostal Martin. On arrival one of the two bookings was not found eventhough we had a printout of the booking. After long wait we could have two rooms, one of which was facing the road in front and a communial room to the side.., very noisy. All not so much a problem; it's a 2star hotel, dont expect too much. The problem is the manager; Marcelino, who went completely crazy and offensive when asked to change the noisy room. Extremely rude and arrogant for no apparent reason. When we asked him to slow down, his reply was that we should respect his country..(?) He'd managed to completely ruin our stay in Madrid!
We travel quite a lot and are used to the most basic hotels, but this.. Never again! Carefull with booking this one!, It can get busy, and you might feel the need to stay there.., just stay out of the way of the manager if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Footprints26292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2006

We stayed at the Hostal Martin for 3 nights, this is a budget hostal and we were not quite sure what to expect. It is centrally located, and is very clean with good size rooms. If you book make sure you ask for a room back inside of the building not on the road because it is a very busy road and the traffic noise makes it difficult to sleep.

Good overall value for money.

1  Thank somerset94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews