We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price -- but think twice before booking”
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #86 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for price -- but think twice before booking”
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Staying for 3 nights in September. Hotel was clean and well maintained with unique design with reliable wifi, The Gran Via metro is pretty central to getting around Madrid (except for transit to airport requires multiple transfers). My room was a small single bed, no view, in the back corner or the weird hallways. I didn't not have any specific safety issues, but I did feel a little nervous a times. The front door is completely open 24H a day with no doorman/security entrance. And (I wish I had know this before) Montera has its "street traffic" nearly 24H days, and most men get harrassed walking up and down Montera.

The staff was pleasant, but didn't have the best mastery of English, and weren't able to answer simple local questions without looking up on Google (which I can just as easily do!) For example, I asked about the closed cell phone merchant. The front desk staff sent me to a location 2 metro stops away -- when there is a great Vodafone right in Puerta del Sol!!

Anyway, overall, good experience but would NOT stay here again or recommend based on the location/street traffic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herenorthere257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I was a little surprised for you comments and I would like to point some things that are different;
The hotel has 24 hrs Front Desk and from october the building has front desk service in the entrance 24 hrs, all of them are multilingual. Our front desk staff are advanced english speakers and also have a good command of french, portuguese, italian or german. And I also help them sometimes. Also in front of the hotel, is located the Police Station.
Regarding the shops, that are around, in front of the side of Gran Via, is located the biggest shop of Teléfonica, and all our Staff know that it is not neccessary to take the metro to find any kind of shop.
I respect your opinion, if you did not like the location, but I think it is the best location, because being in a place as crowded and secure, (as the Police is round here), is safer. And like this you enjoy Madrid easily.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    520
    142
    36
    17
See reviews for
111
661
122
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Very nice designed hotel on perfect spot in the city. We had a great room with very large bathroom and nice view over the old city. They even have a roof terrace with a perfect view over the entire city! The beds were amazing, dont know the exact size, but i think 220cm by 220 cm... i almost lost my girlfriend one night :-)

In short, don't doubt, just book, perfect hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yesmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your funny review and for pointing out the size of the beds.
We hope you could come again, and don't worry if you loose your girlfriend, our chambermaids can help you to find her among the sheets.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here for the weekend in nov 2011. The hotel just opened so everything was shiny and new!

The hotel is located very near the city center with lots of shops nearby and a metro station right in front of the doorstep. The interior is nicely designed and practical. Good value for money. I would defenitely stay here again next time we visit Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joost R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Joost,
Thank you very much for review, we are more than happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope you could come again soon.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here for my fiances birthday trip and it was amazing! the rooms were beautiful and clean, with brilliant views of montera and gran via..There were several prositutes outside but you never felt unsafe as there were lots of police around and a doorman always outside day or night. the staff were friendly and catered to all our needs, we had a problem with the hot water and someone came to check it within 15mins also had a little problem with the room safe and this was fixed promptly. The location of the hotel is brilliant, walking distance to everything, puerto del sol, gran via, plaza espana everything is within 15-20 minutes walking, The only little niggles were that an iron was not provided which meant we had to go buy a travel one and having stayed in several places before always had a provided iron and found it a bit odd that the sink was in the bedroom also the king size bed was huge but as it was two beds next to each other they always seperated during the night meaning one of us would have to get out of bed to push the bed back! none of these things majorly affected the stay though and if one thing was to be changed it would be the beds, alhtough they were very comfortable it was quite annoying having to push it back together or back, probably because of the wooden flooring! The room was cleaned well by the time we arrived back to our hotel every evening. Although you come to Madrid to see the sights etc and tend not to spend much time in the room, it was lovely to come back to such a lovely place. The corridors were quirky and everythign is well maintained and deocrated! I Would definetly come back again and my fiance is planning on having his stag weekend in Madrid and going back to praktik metropol. Fantastic place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nav k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for a complete review you made for our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed during your stay with us, and we hope you could come again soon.

**PS. We have Iron & iron board in the hotel.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed with my husband for my honeymoon in Madrid for a total of 10 nights. This hotel had me impressed from the get go. The location is the best, right in Gran Vía. The staff was very friendly, from the doorman to the cleaning lady. We got there really early (about 7:30 AM) and they didn't hesitate on giving us a room right away, even if check in was supposed to be at 3PM.
When we got to the room we were very happy to find it had a an imppressive view of Gran Vía. Since we traveled around Europe and came back to Madrid, we had a different room the second time around. This time it was even better, since it was bigger and had a balcony with a view to Gran Vía/ Calle Montera. The rooms are extremely nice, clean and modern. The shower is great and spacious. The hotel is far from finished, so I can't wait to see it when it is. I just hope the prices don't skyrocket!

There was free internet service in the rooms, and free usage of computers in the lobby. The whole ambience of the hotel was inviting to relax and have a good time.

I really can't say there was anything bad with this hotel. I just hope to return to Madrid soon enough to stay in Praktik and repeat that great experience.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view to Gran Vía.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samdhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Samdhya;
What can I say after such a great review of our hotel...Thank very much for helping us to become more known on the net. All the team from Praktik Metropol are very happy for reading this type of comments and because we realize that every single day more people are becoming Praktik. We hope to see you soon again when you visit Madrid, and we will do our best to surprise you even more.
Thank you very much and Be Praktik!
Kindest regards

Carlos Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hotel is ideally suited for a traveller that is more worried about location than space. The rooms are beautiful but small, with a lovely bathroom. The breakfast floor with free internet really came in handy when we were faced with a crisis. This hotel is so centrally situated you literally feel you are in the middle of Madrid. I would recommend it to anyone!!! There is nice restaurants right opposite the hotel and the metro is 20m away!

Room Tip: We would have loved a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I have just got back from Madrid and stayed at The Praktik and I could not fault it or the staff one bit! The room was a lot bigger than I thought it would be and it was very very clean, the staff were really friendly too. We did though have a problem one night where there was no hot water but with just one call to reception they got on it straight away and had hot water back on within 30 mins on a Sunday! If you are looking for a central location and value for money then I promise this hotel will be perfect for you. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndySBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Guest!
On behalf of all our team, and myself, we would to thank you for taking a few minutes to make such a fantastiK review of our hotel and service at Praktik Metropol. We are happy to know that you enjoyed Madrid from our perfect location. We hope to see you soon again at Praktik Metropol.
*One tip: if you visit Barcelona do not miss our brothers The Praktik and Praktik Rambla, they are abosolutely outstanding.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#58 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#87 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#88 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing