We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real find for a Madrid stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #89 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real find for a Madrid stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A first for me - the first time I have ever booked a hotel purely on the basis of user reviews (Trip Advisor & Booking.com) rather than Rough Guide, Time Out, Rick Steves etc and we wre not disappointed. I booked directly with the hotel getting an early booking discount unavailable elsewhere and took other reviewers' advice to get a superior double. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the Gran Via and, amongst other things, from our window/juliet balcony were able to enjoy the celebrations after Atletico won the Europa Cup and the city rolled by below. Once closed the windows supressed street noise very adequately and the air conditioning kept us cool in sweltering Madrid.

The room was spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished and, whilst we prefer a bath, the double shower (both overhead fixed and hand) was a cracker. Although the hotel was full the room insulation was excellent and we barely heard our fellow guests. The roof balcony complete with sun loungers is a nice bonus. Staff spoke excellent English and were friendly and helpful.

Travelling to and from the hotel was a doddle. The new Renfe train service signed "ferrocarril" at the airport Terminal 4) takes you direct to Atocha station and from there Metro Line 1 takes you to Gran Via. Use the C Montero exit and the hotel is directly in front of you. Using this route is not only quicker but cuts out lots of steps on the Metro.

One final tip - you never know who might be a pickpocket in Madrid or where they might have a go. Women especially should ensure that they can reverse their backpacks so that no zip pockets are easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    510
    138
    35
    17
See reviews for
109
649
117
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
369 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The only question to ask oneself about this value hotel is: how many nights could one possibly stand being in a hotel with such small rooms? Not too many would be the answer.

What this hotel is excellent for is a one-night stop on the way to somewhere else. Why? It is right up the stairs from a subway line. It is a few minutes' walk either to the Prado, the Retiro Park, the Plaza de Espagna, etc. But how many times can one wait minutes for an elevator? How many pivots can one make in a hotel room to step around one's mate so as to get into the bathroom? And how many times does one want to walk past a passel of prostitutes in order to enter the hotel?

All the above stated, this hotel seemed to be fine for the many young folks who chose to stay here. Maybe it was the low cost or the somewhat stylish old-style design. Perhaps it was the public computers that a young Mom thought was ok for her little daughter to play with while a line of people waited to print out their airport boarding passes. Or maybe they didn't mind that the damn keyboard on the second, and only other, computer had stuck keys to the point that the very nice person behind the desk had a pen top he regularly used to try to unstick them, unsuccessfully. I mean, a new keyboard costs $20!!!

Room Tip: I have no idea if there's a good room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to acknowledge you for taking a few time to share your experience at Praktik Metropol. But I would like to have the chance to point out some of the features you are relating.

Our hotel phylosophy, starts with a different question: What are you gonna during your stay in Madrid? Going to the theatre, museums, shoppings, for some tapas, to the best restaurants...
A hotel is for sleeping, taking a good shower, helps to stay next to life os the city. That is why we promote a hotel with big and comfortable beds, good and huge showers, and a fantastic location just in the middle of the downtown, in a pedestrian street which is one of the most transitated streets of the city connecting Fuencarral and Chueca area with Puerta del Sol, this area has also CCTV surveillance, with a police station in the middle of street. So it makes of this area, one the most safest in the Madrid.

I apologize for the elevator, one of them was broken, and we had to wait a couple of days to get the new piece we needed for fix it.

Regarding the type of guest we welcome at Praktik Metropol, most of our guests are in their middle ages, around 35-50 years old, despite that we have younger couples or older guests...

The keyboard, still works perfectly, I have checked both keyboards. And should be more kind with the time of use of computers, and use them for a reasonable time, and not for playing.

We hope that if ou visit us next time, you could find everything as you like.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nice and clean hotel, modern, urban furniture, with entr'acte to great rooftop terrace. You may brin your on drinks to The terrace.
Excellent location for sightseeing, nightlife, restaurants an shopping.
Metrostation entr'acte 20 mtrs from hotel, friendly personel!

Room Tip: Room 208 an 308
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milkolisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

This was a very clean, swanky little hotel. Pay the extra for rooms that have balcony view! Metro is right on the corner, and we were able to walk to many locations in the city. Staff was very nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a clean, inexpensive place to stay.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here over the uk bank holiday, very good value for money, funky interior, very friendly service - the chap behind reception was very pleasant.
The one euro coffee/donut combo is a nice touch.
Rooms seem clean, bathroom nice, and even though our room faced onto grand via the noise was minimal due to the effective double glazed balcony doors.
For this price, in this location, probably best deal in Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Edge
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a review about the hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed during your stay in the hotel.
We hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Absolutely amazing location right off Gran Via metro stop. If you're trying to find the place, it's right next door to McDonald's. Check-in was on the 2nd floor - there are 2 tiny elevators that you can take. Our room, 314, was tiny, but I guess that's cuz I booked the cheapest room. Even thought it was small, it was enough for the 2 of us thanks to the amazing hooks all around the room. Bathroom was modern, clean. Sheets were clean. Bed was comfortable. Only complaints are the crappy WiFi when everybody else is on and the lack of hot water during popular showering times.

The staff speaks enough English to be able to answer most questions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charcharLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for take few minutes to make a review about our hotel. I apologize if there were problems with the hot water, as normally it does not happen. We check every single day our water suppliers to keep everthing in order.
Also we checked daily the internet conection, and it usually works properly.
We hope next time you could enjoy 100% your stay with us.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April during a trip to Madrid. Location can't be beat, right on the Gran Via, within a walk able distance to everything in Madrid. Rooms were decorated in an 'Ikea' style, simple and tasteful. Negative points, bed sheets still appeared to have hairs on them ande when we asked the front desk to help us reconfirm a tour we had booked online with a local number, he pointed us to a payphone downstairs. But overall, value is good.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#81 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#105 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Arguelles
Sercotel Suites Viena
Sercotel Suites Viena
#22 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#87 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing