We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #90 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Excellent hotel, right next to the Metro Sta. Gran Vía. Stayed from May 9 to 12. Excellent location, excellent room with every commodity: safe box, hot water, a/c, etc. Got a room with small balcony viewing Gran Vía, probably was a Superior room. The staff was always available and helpful. The lobby has a couple of PC's where you can get addresses, make your flight check-in, etc. Before doing my reservation I did a lot of research and was a little concerned about the night ladies nearby but really wasn't a trouble. The area was very safe including night time and police keep preventive watch aroud at all time. It is an area with people walking around at all times and very easy to walk to Plaza del Sol, Plaza mayor, Palacio Real, the Cathedral and Plaza de Oriente. For sure will stay again in the future and recommend lodging in this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank japlaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    510
    138
    35
    17
See reviews for
109
647
116
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This affordable hotel is perfectly located in a lively spot for exploring this vibrant city. Grand Via, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor were all within walking distance and the Metro, with its connection to the Atocha Train station made our transfers a breeze.
Our room located on the 4th floor was small, dark but quiet and conducive to sleep I like the funky interior design throughout the hotel and the higher end bathroom fixtures add a nice touch of luxury. The reception area and lobby was spacious and inviting and we enjoyed watching the Monteral street action from the armchairs.
We had a comfortable stay and would definately recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed in Praktik Metropol for 4 nights in May 2012. We chose the hotel because of the great reviews from other travellers,,, and luckily we did! The hotel was totally amazing, just like in photos taken from the hotel. The roof terrace was absolutely lovely and the view over the city was breathtaking. Our room on the 3th floor was stylish and it was spacious enough, the traffic noise didn't bother at night, the room was quite quiet thanks to double-doors. The view from our little balcony to Gran Via was very nice. Hot water, air conditioning and free wi-fi worked smoothly. Receptionists were helpful and friendly.
I would definetly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Gran Via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninniksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We hopeyou could visit us again soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights 13 - 16 of May 2012. The location is perfect, right on the Gran Via with a Metro station outside, a shop across the road and McDonalds & other cafes right on the doorstep. There are some ropey looking hookers hanging round outside but they cause no nuisance at all and don't bother anyone.

Our room was on the third floor overlooking the Gran Via, it was bright, large and spotlessly clean, had a lovely big shower and balcony. The bed was comfy and had nice big pillows.

There is a basic breakfast served for 1 euro of coffee and donut that is tasty enough but for something more substantial you are spoilt for choice in the area.

Our friends however were allocated a pokey, internal room with a very of some industrial metal pipes but this did not affect my stay so I will not mark the hotel down for this. They did not complain or asked to be moved so cannot comment on this.

The hotel has a fantastic roof terrace off the 9th floor that most guests seem to miss completely - IMO the management are missing a trick here as they should advertise it more and get a little bar up there as they would surrey cash in. The terrace is on two levels and has sunloungers, deck chairs and tables. Its only 2 minutes down in the lift and across the street to the little shop so perfect for a cerveza in the sun!

I cannot really fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHunter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear John,
Thank you very much for taking few minutes to share your experience at Praktik Metropol. We are glad you enjoy the hotel and the outstanding terrace. We have this space only for our guest, and with a limitated schedule to avoid disturbing the rooms located at the same floor. It's a place for reading, sunbathing, maybe soon we will have a soft drinks machine.
Do not hesitate to come back if you have a trip to Madrid.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

It's a potentially great little hotel, affordable price for the budget traveler and excellent location (very central with the metro stop almost right in front). Interiors are a nice young, modern, eclectic and fresh. On the downside, the female receptionist was quite rude to guests and even to delivery boys hiding it all behind a pasted smile. She does not belong in the hospitality business while the other 2 male front desk personnel were darling. There is a range of sizes for the twin rooms, the lower the price, the smaller the room. Anyway, who cares if you just need to sleep in it. Bathroom was lacking hooks or any kind of surface on which to put toiletries and the like. Lastly, out of the 3 nights we stayed, the air-conditioning didn't work for two. I would still recommend it, just hope others have better luck. One last thing, the building in which it is located is shared with other hotels....and the entrance and surrounding area is frequented by ladies of the night.

Room Tip: when booking, especially the twin, ask about the room size as this varies. Also, these smaller rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0adOnTheR0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for dedicate some time to write about your experience with us. I am quite surprised by your comments about our female recepcionist, Elena. She is a good recepcionist, and you can read other reviews that write about her, and how nice she is. So I think it was a little mistunderstanding. I am sorry for the lack of shelves in the bathrooms, this matter is going to be solved soon.
The hotel and its facilities are completely, therefore they have to work properly, I apologize if this was not your case, but I do not know if you told this matter to front desk staff, as we have 24hrs service to solve this problems.

We hope you could visit us again, and everything is perfect this time.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night break (with a Groupon voucher) from this really 'funky,modern' hotel. It is ideally situated for everything in Madrid...takes you about 5 minutes maximum to walk down the Gran Via,where you are central to access most of the popular streets/bars etc. The metro is situated right outside(although we didn't use it). The hotel itself is immaculately clean and it's design is quite unusual.The room we were allocated was a really good size and we were on the top floor(9th),very close to the wonderfully designed roof top terrace...very comfortably furnished,with superb views across the city.Our only critisicm would be the 2 beds placed together to make a double,are not connected,so the next morning,they have moved considerably!!The only other negative is that there are only 2 lifts,which can be a bit slow(when your on the top floor)but that's only a small price to pay for such a lovely hotel. It has an 'Ecclectic' reception area,which is really cosy and comfortable...and the coffee and donuts are a nice touch. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful(we spoke to 3 whilst there)and on our departure day,were offered the choice of storing our luggage whilst doing last bits of shopping.If you stay there,you will quickly spot a number of 'Ladies of the night' hanging around every evening...however,it's true to say,you are never bothered by any of them...I suppose you could say,it adds a little 'extra' to your break? All in all...if we ever returned to Madrid,which we probably will(as it's a brilliant city,with so much to do and see),then we would definitely stay there again. Give it a go...I don't think you'll be dispointed?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor for easy access to the roof top terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse4cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPraktik, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you enjoy during your stay with us, and it's funny being described as funky. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A first for me - the first time I have ever booked a hotel purely on the basis of user reviews (Trip Advisor & Booking.com) rather than Rough Guide, Time Out, Rick Steves etc and we wre not disappointed. I booked directly with the hotel getting an early booking discount unavailable elsewhere and took other reviewers' advice to get a superior double. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the Gran Via and, amongst other things, from our window/juliet balcony were able to enjoy the celebrations after Atletico won the Europa Cup and the city rolled by below. Once closed the windows supressed street noise very adequately and the air conditioning kept us cool in sweltering Madrid.

The room was spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished and, whilst we prefer a bath, the double shower (both overhead fixed and hand) was a cracker. Although the hotel was full the room insulation was excellent and we barely heard our fellow guests. The roof balcony complete with sun loungers is a nice bonus. Staff spoke excellent English and were friendly and helpful.

Travelling to and from the hotel was a doddle. The new Renfe train service signed "ferrocarril" at the airport Terminal 4) takes you direct to Atocha station and from there Metro Line 1 takes you to Gran Via. Use the C Montero exit and the hotel is directly in front of you. Using this route is not only quicker but cuts out lots of steps on the Metro.

One final tip - you never know who might be a pickpocket in Madrid or where they might have a go. Women especially should ensure that they can reverse their backpacks so that no zip pockets are easily accessible.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#106 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#81 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#87 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing