We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“muy stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #89 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“muy stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

stayed at the Praktik for a total of 9 nights and loved the hotel .... the rooms are adequate in size but big on modish design.... and on the 2nd and 3rd floors where we stayed.. had double opening windows... and what a wonderful passing parade there is below on Calle Montera. The reception area is very inviting for a compfy window seat / breakfast.... and the staff are efficient and helpful (if you require it). This hotel is in a great place to get out and explore wonderful Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and were content with the style of the hotel, with our comfortable lounge and with the hotel’s staff, which is always happy to help.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    513
    140
    35
    17
See reviews for
110
653
119
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Out of the context of our own specific experience, it'd be hard not to give this one 5 out of 5. I'm confused by complaints about the size of the rooms. Beyond the fact that there are several different sizes of room if you think you might need more room, this is after all a low-cost hotel overlooking the Gran Via, steps from the Metro. You have to compromise for price, and there's honestly not much other compromise to make considering the cleanliness, good service, style, comfort, awesome rooftop terrace, etc.

The 4 out of 5 is down to the A/C Funk. We noticed the slightest hint of a strange smell when we checked in, but it was faint and gone by the time we went to bed the first night. On the second day we came back in the early evening to rest a bit. We turned on the A/C then went to the rooftop terrace for a little while. When we came back to the room about 45 minutes later, The Smell was now very strong and very strange. It smelled a bit like backed up sewage. Turned off the A/C - smell was immediately gone. That's nice, but it was much too warm to sleep without A/C. Spoke to the nice woman at the front desk - she said the maintenance person was gone for the day, so suggested to leave the A/C off when we went out to dinner and see how it was when we came back. She said if it was still bad we could certainly see about a different room. She was very nice about it and seemed strangely confident that it'd be better that night, so we went with it.

Sure enough, when we turned on the A/C late that night, no smell. The confidence with which she suggested trying again at night makes me wonder if this is a regular occurrence, at least in our room (302). I don't want to belabor the point too much since it never actually disturbed our sleep, and everything else about the hotel was so great; but it was a pretty dreadful smell when it was there, so I have to mention it.

I asked a couple of people I walked by if they had noticed a smell - nothing, just us. So I guess maybe avoid room 302, or at least don't spend any time in 302 until you're going to bed. Honestly, the hotel is too great beyond this to not recommend.

Room Tip: We were in 302 - maybe the A/C funk is isolated there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUnderstudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you about your comment about Hotel Praktik Metropol.

We are pleased that all in all you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and liked, for example, the cleanliness, the service and the rooftop terrace in the 9th floor of the building.
Furthermore we would like to apologize for the fact that you had problems concerning the bad smell of your room. Our hotel is located in a historic building, therefore unfortunately problems like this can happen. Our maintenance staff is doing the best in order to avoid this kind of problems and our reception staff is available 24 hours to help with incidences like this.
We appreciate your comment and use this opportunity to double check the air ducts so this kind of problem will not occur again in the future.

We would like to apologize again for the inconvenience caused by the bad smell but are please that, except of this incidence, you really enjoyed the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Praktik Metropol.

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester - UK
Level Contributor
278 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I selected this hotel for a midweek break because of a) its location and b) the impression given by their web site of a bathroom view to remember and c) the positive reviews on here. Perhaps I should have also looked at the hotel’s responses to critical reviews as I now see that this can tell you as much if not more than the review itself. So this will be a tricky review to write.
To start with a positive it is in an excellent location. Just off Gran Via, a major shopping route and with good access to Madrid’s highlights both on foot and the Metro with the station literally yards from the front door. The road it is on, predominantly pedestrianized (but look out for deliveries and Police who are allowed to use it). It’s busy, but not noisy, and while all walks of life are out there it doesn’t feel unsafe. Visitors with children may wish to keep an eye on them though just to be sure.
Reception is on the 1st floor (2nd to the US readers). There are lifts but if you travel with what I call ‘American Luggage’ you may struggle to get that and yourself into them. They are also inordinately sedate. Check in was slow, one member of staff to deal with several arrivals, but did the job and then I went up to my room on the 9th floor. No sign of anyone to help with luggage – I didn’t need it but many will expect it.
The Skyline Rooms on the 9th are by the very pleasant Sun Deck (a good addition and another positive about the hotel) I had booked on the basis of having a shower with a unique view, as the web site states – “Have you put the stars in the sky of Madrid in the hands of your partner? You took a shower with views of downtown Madrid at your feet to 30 feet?” (– pardon the clunky Google translation). The picture on their site shows a shower with a panoramic window off the shower. That’s the expectation you go in with but the reality is a view through a window 3 feet high and a staggering 10 inches wide. So technically there is a Skyline View but just not the one expected.
The room itself was comfortable, functional, minimalist in terms of furnishing but still about the right value for money. There is a safe, adequate hanging space, boutique styling but no mini-bar or fridge which would be useful. The Juliet balcony affords good views of the City and being so high up there is not so much noise. Be aware though that this part of Madrid is very much 24/7 so there is activity all the time.
Breakfast is basic but at 4 Euros you can’t complain. A coffee, a juice, a ‘sandwich’/filled roll and a pastry (one of each) is a start to the day but some variety would be nice. Having said that the place seems to operate on minimal staffing, there don’t seem to be many around and maybe a few more staff to help customers would be something to consider.
In terms of turning negatives into positives I believe that all hotels have issues and what sets the good apart from the average is how they deal with them. To their credit I reported a banging corridor door outside my room late in the first evening. The soft closer had failed (it had obviously been ‘repaired’ several times before by the number of screw holes in the frame) which made getting to sleep impossible but by the time I got back the next afternoon it had been fixed – so well done there (but really you should have known it was a problem before a guest tells you! Room staff must have noticed it surely.)
Outside there are a good range of bars, cafés and restaurants in close distance. Inside they do have free wi-fi and also a couple of desktops one of which allows you to print boarding passes which is always handy.
So, to summarise, is it a good base for a short trip to Madrid – Yes. Is it a Hotel I would want to return to – probably not! It didn’t deliver what I had expected (I’m sure the Manager will tell me why I was wrong to have those expectations) and I believe that there are other hotels at similar prices which have ironed out the niggles which make or break a stay. They are trying to be ‘different’ but what’s wrong with ‘proven / tried and tested’? Overall – adequate but nothing special. Return – No.

Room Tip: Check in advance that the room you are expecting is what they are allocating. The web site can be de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Bromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about Praktik Metropol.
First of all we are glad that you liked the centric location of the hotel and found it convenient to explore Madrid’s major sights.
Since the hotel is located in the centre of Madrid it is situated in a renovated, but old building it’s not possible to have the same elevators as in newly built hotels. However, the building has 2 elevators for 4 people each, so usually there should be enough space for the luggage of our guests. Furthermore we don’t offer a bellboy service because we are not a 4 or 5 star hotel.
We are happy that you liked the terrace on the last floor of the building. However, we have 6 Skyline rooms in the 9th floor which are all different and therefore don’t look exactly the same. The room with the panoramic window off the shower is one of our Skyline rooms. It’s possible to request this room, but we can only guarantee a type of room (for example Skyline or Superior rooms) and never a specific room nor its location, such as the height of the floor. We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests’ requests, but as you might understand, it always depends on our availability.

As you remark, we do not have a minibar/fridge in our rooms because in order to offer affordable prices, the concept of the hotel is to provide useful and basic services like free WIFI, a TV and comfortable beds, a great location and stylish and comfortable public areas such as our terrace and our lounge. Thus we try to avoid services that we don’t consider essential but we understand that for some people could be important.
Our breakfast for 4€ includes a cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate, a glass of fresh orange juice, a little sandwich and a piece of pastry. We offer different types of sandwiches as well as croissants and cream and chocolate Napolitanas. We didn’t decide to offer a more expensive buffet since there are many cafeterias and bars right next to the hotel where you are able to have a more extensive breakfast. Our aim is to offer a cheap and tasty breakfast so our guests can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of our lounge area.
We are truly sorry that you didn’t get enough sleep the first night because of the door banging. All the doors to each floor are the original ones, and we have set a system that helps to close the door softer but sometimes it’s not enough to avoid the noise depending on the guest’s behaviour. That might be a reason why the cleaning or maintenance staff hasn’t noticed it. However, we are glad that we were able to solve this problem and to meet up to your expectations in this case.

All in all we would like to thank you again for commenting your stay with us and therefore giving us the chance to improve our service. We understand that everybody has its own expectations and we really regret that we couldn’t meet up to yours.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Super professional staff that will help you with everything you need. The terass on top floor is a must. The only thing that is dragging down the final score is the fact that the walls are thin and you will hear doors slamming and people taking a shower. Lovely decorated though. For it's price, it's worth every cent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to say thank for your review about your stay at Praktik Metropol and are happy that you enjoyed it.

We are glad that our staff was able to help you whenever you needed it and that you got to enjoy the roof terrace on the 9th floor and its great view of the skyline of Madrid.

We are sorry that you were disturbed by the noises of other guests We have double windows in order to block out the noises from outside. We usually don't receive many complaints about distubring noises inside of the hotel but thank you for giving us the opportunity to investigate about this problem.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again at Praktik Metropol during your next stay in Madrid. In the meantime we send you our best regards.

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a great way to start off our trip! The hotel itself shares floors with other hotels and it is located right next to gran via station which is central and close to all the main squares and shops.

The reception area and hall ways were modern and artistic. I really loved the room we had (double with private bath); it was all white with black accents and I'm the kind of person who really likes aesthetics when it comes to booking hotels.

Great place for young couples or friends in a fun environment. Breakfast was a good value too if you can wake up for it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Praktik Metropol and would like to thank you for your positive comment.

We are especially glad that you liked the centric location, just a few steps away from Gran Via and about 5 minutes to Puerta del Sol, and the atmosphere of the hotel and that you were happy with the modern style of the lounge and the rooms.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Praktik Metropol.

All the best from Madrid,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a Friday to Monday break, couldn't fault it. It's in a great location, and easy to find from Gran Via underground, checkin was polite and very efficient. The double room was small,but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was ample in size, spotlessly clean, with a walk in shower. The room had 2 single beds together, and not a double, but in fairness, they were very comfy
The towels are only changed every 2/3 days, but more towels are available if needed from reception. The reception area is also very nice, which also doubles as a breakfast area. We never had this, it was a little too basic for me.

It's situated about 5 mins walk to the main square, which did involve walking past a few ladies of the night, but they never bothered anyone and at no point did my wife and I ever feel threatened or intimidated. It's most certainly not a seedy area.

All in all we had a great time in a clean, friendly comfortable hotel, would I stop there again? Damn right I would

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dinglejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your comment about your stay. We are glad that you liked your stay here and are willing to come back. We would be very glad to welcome you again in Madrid.

We are happy that you were content with your room, the centric location, the cleanliness and the service of our hotel. We also have beds with just one mattress, so if you decide to come again please let us know about your preferences.

Thank you again for your comment and regards from Madrid,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed there at the end of may.We found the people at the desk very helpful: speaking very good english and french.They recommended us very good restaurants and made the reservations.
The room,although on the small size, was very clean,the bed very comfortable.I had ask for the room on the picture of their web site.Gran Via Corner it is well worth it and not that expensive.
With windows almost 180 degrees the room is full of light with a good view of the Gran Via.
It's a great location (in front of the Gran Via subway station)even if it seem to be in a "hot" part of town.We felt very safe and never annoyed.Walking distance to most interesting places and good restaurants.They offered breakfast for 4 euros that were interesting.
I would definitely return if in Madrid or recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Gran Via Corner room,i believe, are really worthy. I believe my room was 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AventureMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad that you were content with the reception staff; we always try our best to make our clients feel more comfortable. In addition we are glad that you found our location convenient in order to explore Madrid.

Thank you for recommending us and we would love to see you again soon.

All the best,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#81 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#88 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing