We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Praktik Metropol
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Agumar(Madrid)
US$192
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$101
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$212
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Principe Pio Hotel(Madrid)
US$223
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Don Luis(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
624
561
158
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
561
158
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgran via metrorooftop terracecalle monteratapa tapagreat locationfirst floorsuperior roombusy streetreception areacorner roomcentral locationother hotelsmetro station righttop floorcommon roomcool hotelwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were blown away by the decor, quality of the rooms and the cool vibe at this hotel. Very helpful staff (Thank you, Javier!) great rooftop patio with very nice lounge chairs and a pretty garden. The value for what you are getting compared to what you are paying may be the best for any hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We would really like to thank you for such a nice review about Praktik Metropol and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

Furthermore we are glad that you liked our concept of offering all the basic requirements like a centric location, a comfortable place to relax – such as our terrace in the 9th floor as well as our lounge- and rooms that have all the utilities necessary such as free WIFI, a flatscreen TV and comfortable bed for an affordable price as you say.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Madrid!

Best regards!

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here at end of May and start of June 2013. A great mix of people staying - young people and some, like us in latish 50s. The hotel is a functional recycled style with white walls and old lamps/furniture recycled - but very comfortable. We liked the comfortable seats in the breakfast/general room which overlooked the road. Lots of Madrid travel guides and books available and access to 2 computers and paper to print - great!
We went off to Salamanca after 3 nights and returned later in the week and the young man on reception managed to book us back into the same room. (Salamanca is beautiful, by the way). The staff were great - very helful and took time with us. The hotel is very central and they have taked steps to cut down the noise completely - our room was triple glazed and insulated (I guess as we didn't strip off the panellng!). We both slept very well. The roof garden is a real bonus and a great place for a picnic or drink whilst watching the swallows or swifts (never did know the difference!). First time in Madrid and loved the monumental buildings, the constant movement of people. We visited various galleries and gardens and the sights - try the Romantic museum - a beautifully restored 19 century house with a secluded garden for coffee..

Room Tip: The sunshine rooms are light and airy. Ours overlooked the pedestrianised road and we could look out of the Juliet balcony and see lots of people constantly moving.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment about Praktik Metropol.
We are really glad to know that you were able to enjoy your stay in Spain and especially in our hotel. Thanks about your positive comments about our vintage-looking chill-out-lounge and it’s various facilties such as the 2 computers and the printer that are free for our clients as well as our little “library”, our nice terrace and the location directly in the city ceter of Madrid.

In addition we are glad that you felt comfortable in your rooms and were able to sleep well.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel if you decide to come back to Madrid, since you liked it so much at your first visit.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

stayed at the Praktik for a total of 9 nights and loved the hotel .... the rooms are adequate in size but big on modish design.... and on the 2nd and 3rd floors where we stayed.. had double opening windows... and what a wonderful passing parade there is below on Calle Montera. The reception area is very inviting for a compfy window seat / breakfast.... and the staff are efficient and helpful (if you require it). This hotel is in a great place to get out and explore wonderful Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and were content with the style of the hotel, with our comfortable lounge and with the hotel’s staff, which is always happy to help.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Out of the context of our own specific experience, it'd be hard not to give this one 5 out of 5. I'm confused by complaints about the size of the rooms. Beyond the fact that there are several different sizes of room if you think you might need more room, this is after all a low-cost hotel overlooking the Gran Via, steps from the Metro. You have to compromise for price, and there's honestly not much other compromise to make considering the cleanliness, good service, style, comfort, awesome rooftop terrace, etc.

The 4 out of 5 is down to the A/C Funk. We noticed the slightest hint of a strange smell when we checked in, but it was faint and gone by the time we went to bed the first night. On the second day we came back in the early evening to rest a bit. We turned on the A/C then went to the rooftop terrace for a little while. When we came back to the room about 45 minutes later, The Smell was now very strong and very strange. It smelled a bit like backed up sewage. Turned off the A/C - smell was immediately gone. That's nice, but it was much too warm to sleep without A/C. Spoke to the nice woman at the front desk - she said the maintenance person was gone for the day, so suggested to leave the A/C off when we went out to dinner and see how it was when we came back. She said if it was still bad we could certainly see about a different room. She was very nice about it and seemed strangely confident that it'd be better that night, so we went with it.

Sure enough, when we turned on the A/C late that night, no smell. The confidence with which she suggested trying again at night makes me wonder if this is a regular occurrence, at least in our room (302). I don't want to belabor the point too much since it never actually disturbed our sleep, and everything else about the hotel was so great; but it was a pretty dreadful smell when it was there, so I have to mention it.

I asked a couple of people I walked by if they had noticed a smell - nothing, just us. So I guess maybe avoid room 302, or at least don't spend any time in 302 until you're going to bed. Honestly, the hotel is too great beyond this to not recommend.

Room Tip: We were in 302 - maybe the A/C funk is isolated there.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUnderstudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you about your comment about Hotel Praktik Metropol.

We are pleased that all in all you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and liked, for example, the cleanliness, the service and the rooftop terrace in the 9th floor of the building.
Furthermore we would like to apologize for the fact that you had problems concerning the bad smell of your room. Our hotel is located in a historic building, therefore unfortunately problems like this can happen. Our maintenance staff is doing the best in order to avoid this kind of problems and our reception staff is available 24 hours to help with incidences like this.
We appreciate your comment and use this opportunity to double check the air ducts so this kind of problem will not occur again in the future.

We would like to apologize again for the inconvenience caused by the bad smell but are please that, except of this incidence, you really enjoyed the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Praktik Metropol.

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I selected this hotel for a midweek break because of a) its location and b) the impression given by their web site of a bathroom view to remember and c) the positive reviews on here. Perhaps I should have also looked at the hotel’s responses to critical reviews as I now see that this can tell you as much if not more than the review itself. So this will be a tricky review to write.
To start with a positive it is in an excellent location. Just off Gran Via, a major shopping route and with good access to Madrid’s highlights both on foot and the Metro with the station literally yards from the front door. The road it is on, predominantly pedestrianized (but look out for deliveries and Police who are allowed to use it). It’s busy, but not noisy, and while all walks of life are out there it doesn’t feel unsafe. Visitors with children may wish to keep an eye on them though just to be sure.
Reception is on the 1st floor (2nd to the US readers). There are lifts but if you travel with what I call ‘American Luggage’ you may struggle to get that and yourself into them. They are also inordinately sedate. Check in was slow, one member of staff to deal with several arrivals, but did the job and then I went up to my room on the 9th floor. No sign of anyone to help with luggage – I didn’t need it but many will expect it.
The Skyline Rooms on the 9th are by the very pleasant Sun Deck (a good addition and another positive about the hotel) I had booked on the basis of having a shower with a unique view, as the web site states – “Have you put the stars in the sky of Madrid in the hands of your partner? You took a shower with views of downtown Madrid at your feet to 30 feet?” (– pardon the clunky Google translation). The picture on their site shows a shower with a panoramic window off the shower. That’s the expectation you go in with but the reality is a view through a window 3 feet high and a staggering 10 inches wide. So technically there is a Skyline View but just not the one expected.
The room itself was comfortable, functional, minimalist in terms of furnishing but still about the right value for money. There is a safe, adequate hanging space, boutique styling but no mini-bar or fridge which would be useful. The Juliet balcony affords good views of the City and being so high up there is not so much noise. Be aware though that this part of Madrid is very much 24/7 so there is activity all the time.
Breakfast is basic but at 4 Euros you can’t complain. A coffee, a juice, a ‘sandwich’/filled roll and a pastry (one of each) is a start to the day but some variety would be nice. Having said that the place seems to operate on minimal staffing, there don’t seem to be many around and maybe a few more staff to help customers would be something to consider.
In terms of turning negatives into positives I believe that all hotels have issues and what sets the good apart from the average is how they deal with them. To their credit I reported a banging corridor door outside my room late in the first evening. The soft closer had failed (it had obviously been ‘repaired’ several times before by the number of screw holes in the frame) which made getting to sleep impossible but by the time I got back the next afternoon it had been fixed – so well done there (but really you should have known it was a problem before a guest tells you! Room staff must have noticed it surely.)
Outside there are a good range of bars, cafés and restaurants in close distance. Inside they do have free wi-fi and also a couple of desktops one of which allows you to print boarding passes which is always handy.
So, to summarise, is it a good base for a short trip to Madrid – Yes. Is it a Hotel I would want to return to – probably not! It didn’t deliver what I had expected (I’m sure the Manager will tell me why I was wrong to have those expectations) and I believe that there are other hotels at similar prices which have ironed out the niggles which make or break a stay. They are trying to be ‘different’ but what’s wrong with ‘proven / tried and tested’? Overall – adequate but nothing special. Return – No.

Room Tip: Check in advance that the room you are expecting is what they are allocating. The web site can be deceptive
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Bromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment about Praktik Metropol.
First of all we are glad that you liked the centric location of the hotel and found it convenient to explore Madrid’s major sights.
Since the hotel is located in the centre of Madrid it is situated in a renovated, but old building it’s not possible to have the same elevators as in newly built hotels. However, the building has 2 elevators for 4 people each, so usually there should be enough space for the luggage of our guests. Furthermore we don’t offer a bellboy service because we are not a 4 or 5 star hotel.
We are happy that you liked the terrace on the last floor of the building. However, we have 6 Skyline rooms in the 9th floor which are all different and therefore don’t look exactly the same. The room with the panoramic window off the shower is one of our Skyline rooms. It’s possible to request this room, but we can only guarantee a type of room (for example Skyline or Superior rooms) and never a specific room nor its location, such as the height of the floor. We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests’ requests, but as you might understand, it always depends on our availability.

As you remark, we do not have a minibar/fridge in our rooms because in order to offer affordable prices, the concept of the hotel is to provide useful and basic services like free WIFI, a TV and comfortable beds, a great location and stylish and comfortable public areas such as our terrace and our lounge. Thus we try to avoid services that we don’t consider essential but we understand that for some people could be important.
Our breakfast for 4€ includes a cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate, a glass of fresh orange juice, a little sandwich and a piece of pastry. We offer different types of sandwiches as well as croissants and cream and chocolate Napolitanas. We didn’t decide to offer a more expensive buffet since there are many cafeterias and bars right next to the hotel where you are able to have a more extensive breakfast. Our aim is to offer a cheap and tasty breakfast so our guests can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of our lounge area.
We are truly sorry that you didn’t get enough sleep the first night because of the door banging. All the doors to each floor are the original ones, and we have set a system that helps to close the door softer but sometimes it’s not enough to avoid the noise depending on the guest’s behaviour. That might be a reason why the cleaning or maintenance staff hasn’t noticed it. However, we are glad that we were able to solve this problem and to meet up to your expectations in this case.

All in all we would like to thank you again for commenting your stay with us and therefore giving us the chance to improve our service. We understand that everybody has its own expectations and we really regret that we couldn’t meet up to yours.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews