We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but Located on Noisy/Dodgy Street”
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #87 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but Located on Noisy/Dodgy Street”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel itself is pretty great. Really chic and interesting decor, extremely comfortable beds, nice showers, and a location that is pretty central. However, be warned that the street that this hotel is located on is one of Madrid's most infamous streets for prostitutes. At all hours of the day, they were hanging around our block. (Google Calle de Montera and prostitutes for all the deets). It's also an incredibly noisy street/square in general. And while the glass in our balcony was strong enough to keep the noise out, even the blackout curtains couldn't keep out the blinding lights that were flashing all night in the Times Square-esque billboard across the street.

Room Tip: We were in the Via Skyline, which, despite the balcony, we wouldn't really recommend because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STK426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    520
    142
    35
    17
See reviews for
111
661
122
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had stayed in Praktik for 6 days for sightseeing. Previous 5 days were stayed in the Superior Room with Standard Room's price by the special price promotion for Tripadvisor. The room is very cozy and clean as some tripadvisor said, very similar to the photos I saw. There're a lot of clothes hooks around the room so very convenient to hang everything. Very big bathroom.
The staffs are very helpful and friendly. During check-in they told me that guests are welcomed to consult any questions with counter. I have asked about the bull-fight schedule and hospital information, got very good response. They tried to help me much as can.
The breakfast is with reasonable price (4€) in Madrid, serves with a capsule coffee, orange juice, breads and sandwiches.
The location is super excellent, in front of the hotel is a pedestrian precinct, so you don't need to worry of the traffic when walk to the metro Gran Via station (though just 10 steps to station).
There're two lifts in this building but shared with three hotels, often see many people waiting the lifts. Since I stayed on 2nd floor (which is actually 3rd floor), usually I use the stairs.

Disadvantage:
The Wifi signal is always strong in the hotel but the speed is not stable. Sometimes very hard to connect to the internet so I switched back to 3G most of the time.
The temperature of the water is also not that easy to control, need to wait longer until it stable.

Room Tip: Lower floor can directly use stairs, if you are frequently in and out the room, think about lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Praktik Metropol for several reasons. First and foremost – because it's located pretty much at the very heart of central Madrid, right on the exit of a central metro station (not that you'll really need it as everything is within a walking distance).

Pros:
-The hotel is really really hip! Great for the young and the young at heart, clean, feels very safe, and they have a cool roof balcony from which you can overlook the city, take tons of pictures and selfies and just chill.
-The staff is very friendly and helpful
-They have a Nespresso coffee machine and charge 1€ per cup, and if you want a sandwich with your coffee for breakfast it's all for a cool 4€.
-Although it's very central there was no noise from the street.
-WiFi is fine and you can also use their PCs in the lobby to print maps, boarding cards etc.

Cons:
There are three things I find worthy of notice that might be critical for some people.
-The hotel shares its building with 2-3 other hotels and guesthouses. This is why its lobby actually sits on the 1st floor of the building and not on the ground floor as you'd normally expect. One of the things I like about hotels is that it's supposed to feel like a safe zone once you enter through the main door; that's not the case in this one. They have a really cool and welcoming lobby, but if you don’t need anything from there you just enter the building and take the elevator straight to your room floor, just like in an apartment building. At night they put someone at the main door and you can enter the building only with your card key.
-The hotel's address is Montera 47. Ask any local Madrilleno what Montera Street reminds him of and he'll probably tell you one thing – prostitutes. This street is apparently known for its night (and also day) scene. It's a very central street and we saw police cars standing there so I can definitely say that it felt very safe, but some people can see in that an annoyance.
-No mini-bar in the room. This was kind of a bummer because sometimes you really want to have a cold beer in your room or some soy yogurt for breakfast (it's not easy being vegan in Madrid not to mention Spain!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was really nice. Clean and modern. Small room but with a little balcony with a view over the central part of the city. The bathroom was really nice too. As was the personal and the splendid view from the roof top. The only thing that may be a little bit sad is the prostitutes hanging around just outside the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Måns C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review about Praktik Metropol.

We are happy that you liked the centric location of the hotel as well the rooftop terrace, which is definitely one of our hotel’s highlights. Furthermore we are glad that you were content with the room.

Our hotel is located in a very special street of Madrid, which is directly in the city centre, but also a street where you find ladies during the day and night time. However, we can assure that it’s a very safe area, since there are always people passing by due to its centric location. In addition, there is a police station in the very same street where our hotel is located at.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Praktik Metropol.


Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Brilliant,boutique hotel in a heart of an old town.
With its funky deco you are under impression of being in East London.
Great roof top terrace with the view! Available only for the guests of the Prakitk making it quiet and relaxing spot to chill( still within the hotel's free wifi range)
Great value for money!
Plus the cab from the airport costs only ?30!

Helpful?
1 Thank Majanna
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your fantastic review about Praktik Metropol.
It's such a pleasure for us to know that you had such a great stay.

We are really proud of our product and we work hard to transmit this feeling to our guests. And we are also very proud to be able to offer our guests an amazing and unique view of Madrid from our roof terrace.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Madrid!

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a very good value for money option in the centre of Madrid. The staff was friendly and we liked the detailed design in both our room and the common area. The room was a bit noisy but earplugs did the job.

Room Tip: I guess we went for the cheapest option which turned out to be on the second floor and without natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petzdelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Metropol and that you find the Hotel cosy, nicely decorated, comfortable and clean.
This is exactly our concept and we are happy to be able to transmit it to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next stay in Madrid.

Kind Regards from Madrid,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and i got to Madrid late on a saturday evening and it was a rainy and very wet start of a trip in Spain. The warmth of the hotel receptionist guaranteed us that we were to have a wonderful time in the country. He checked us in, informed us about breakfast and also said that we could feel free to explore the restaurants in the vicinity (no pressure to eat at their hotel). The other staff that worked there also spent a long time chatting with us about football and explaining our minimal chances of being able to buy a ticket for the match that night! (Saved us a lot of trouble)

The room itself is a comfortable size for two people and demonstrates a very sensible and asthetic use of space. The lamp and door fittings give a sense of modernity to the place and the cloth pegs all over the room and the cupboards provide plenty of room to accommodate big suitcases and jackets.

The rooftop view of the city and especially the Metropol in the night is quite breathtaking. Its right next to metro stop and walking distance to Puerto del Sol and several other parts of town if you are up for a walk.

We didnt have a room with a view - in fact it overlooked shafts of other rooms, but it didnt matter as the rest of the experience was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sowmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review about Praktik Metropol.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and find the hotel convenient for its location, price and service.

Thank you for mentioning our Staff, since we are working hard to provide the best possible attention to our Guests.

We are sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the view of your room. For your next stay at Praktik Metropol you might consider to book a Superior Room that you can enjoy usually for 10 euros more the price of the standard room.

We really hope to welcome you again and in the meantime we send you our best regards.

Olivia Pozzesi.
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#86 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#88 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing