We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Praktik Metropol
Nearby Hotels
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Oscar(Madrid)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Urban(Madrid)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mediodia(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Madrid Aeropuerto Barajas(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SLEEP'N Atocha(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,402 results
Traveller rating
624
563
158
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
563
158
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgran via metrorooftop terracecalle monteratapa tapagreat locationfirst floorsuperior roombusy streetreception areacorner roomcentral locationother hotelsmetro station righttop floorcommon roomcool hotelwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 1,402 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We reserved a Gran Via Corner room, and it was worth it! The room is small, but has three great terraces with double french doors that really help to muffle the noise of the busy Gran Via. The room and hotel are very modern and clean. The location is great, an easy walk to Retiro Park, Plaza de Sol, Prado Museum, La Latina, Plaza Mayor, etc.
The wifi is pretty slow, but seemed to be a bit faster in the lobby. Also, the air conditioner smelled a little funny, but not enough to totally overwhelm the room.

Room Tip: Choose a Gran Via corner room if you can!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Penny,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad that you liked the centric location, just a few steps away from Gran Via and about 5 minutes to Puerta del Sol.

We would like to apologize for the fact that you had problems concerning the bad smell of your room. We have informed our maintenance staff in order to check it and solve the problem.

We are really sorry for any inconvenience you had because of the Wifi connection. We have a 24-hour Reception service that could have willingly helped you out and try to solve the problem since we don’t use to have internet connection issues.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Praktik Metropol.

All the best from Madrid,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

In my mind, this is a high-end budget hotel. Within that marketplace, the place is great. Has some real character to the design

My friend took a very small room (97 square feet) at $70 US per night and thought is was just fine. I had a larger room with king size bed at about $90 and it was just fine.

The entrance is a simple passageway to the elevators to the lobby on the next level. I was taken aback when I saw it but it's fine. Wifi would be the only negative I could point out. Spotty and slow

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank ThomasTXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

First of all we are glad that you liked the centric location of the hotel and found it nicely decorated.
We are really sorry that you found the entrance a simple passageway, we are planning to renovate it and make it warmer and more attractive.
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your comment about Praktik Metropol.

We would like to inform you that we have different kind of rooms: Single, Double Standard, Superior Rooms, Corner and Skyline Rooms. They all differs in size since it is an historical building, but generally Single and Double standard rooms are the smallest ones. We are glad anyway to know that they were fine for you.

Regarding to the Wifi, we are really sorry for any inconvenience you had and we will double check the connection in order to make it work properly.

We appreciate your comment and we take it as an opportunity to improve our service.

Thank you again for taking your time to write your opinion and best regards from Madrid.

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A friend had recommended this hotel to us and I am thrilled she did. The location is great - the hotel is in a pedestrian area and within walking distance to the Marketplace and other shopping. Transportation is readily available. The rooms were very clean - and kind of funky - which we liked. Madrid had just won a soccer tournament against Barcelona - and the celebration lasted well into the night - so it was a tad noisy. They have a deck on the roof which was breathtaking in the evening when we were up there (full moon too). The staff could not have been more helpful. The common room was lovely with big comfy chairs, and tables - or a long family style table to sit at. Breakfast was a reasonable price, and convenient. As far as the "street walkers" - we had no issues, nor did we feel uncomfortable at any time. I would definitely stay here again if we return to Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteMtnsFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback.

We are very glad that you find our hotel convenient for a visit in Madrid, thanks to our great location, nice design and for the amazing views enjoyable from our terrace on the 9th floor.

Thank you for mentioning our Staff, since we are working hard to provide the best possible attention and service to our Guests.

We really hope to welcome you again and in the meantime we send you our best regards.

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect! All is within walking distance and if a location outside city centre needs to be visited, subway in front of hotel.

Rooms very cousy and nice "Long Island" style. Take a superiour room though, you will love it!

Hotel staff is friendly and helpfull!

Only less positive detail is breakfast, that is just to minimal, it doen't cost much though. My advice, don't add breakfast and go out, numerous places with breakfast within 3 minute walk.

Hookers on street? Yes, but absolutly no problems and police very present at street. Nice street by the way with shops and restaurants!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Arjen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad to hear that you had a great stay and were content with our style, with our comfortable lounge and with the service of our staff, which is always happy to help.

Our concept is to offer a cheap and tasty breakfast so our guests can enjoy the cosy atmosphere of our lounge area. There are many cafeterias and bars right next to us where you are able to have a more extensive breakfast. Anyway we are planning to improve it.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to welcome you again at Praktik Metropol.

Greetings from Madrid,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel itself is pretty great. Really chic and interesting decor, extremely comfortable beds, nice showers, and a location that is pretty central. However, be warned that the street that this hotel is located on is one of Madrid's most infamous streets for prostitutes. At all hours of the day, they were hanging around our block. (Google Calle de Montera and prostitutes for all the deets). It's also an incredibly noisy street/square in general. And while the glass in our balcony was strong enough to keep the noise out, even the blackout curtains couldn't keep out the blinding lights that were flashing all night in the Times Square-esque billboard across the street.

Room Tip: We were in the Via Skyline, which, despite the balcony, we wouldn't really recommend because of the billboard across the street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STK426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews