We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break weekend”
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #91 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Break weekend”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very central and next to Chueca and most tourist sighs. However, I was not so luck, air condition not working and very noisy after midday as an building renovation is going on street level. The Montera street is busy with prostitutes, but no problems as police is around all time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad that you liked our centric location, just a few steps away from Gran Via and about 2 minutes to Puerta del Sol.
We are really sorry that you couldn't fully enjoy your stay because of the noise you could hear from your room. We would have definitely moved you to a higher floor if you would have advised us. The works you mentioned were for the restaurant next door that just opened.

We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to make you enjoy a relaxing stay.

Thank you and kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    525
    145
    37
    17
See reviews for
112
674
123
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We absolutely oved the location...within walking distance of all the major city monuments...just a short taxi ride from the train station and near metro stations. Unfortunately, the first floor of the hotel was under construction and there was major noise Mon-Sat...starting at 10am and going until 7pm or slightly later.

Heat and AC systems are poor and room was hot and stuffy. Rooms are extremely small and austere...bathrooms also terribly small.

Call and find out if construction is completed before you book....

Room Tip: ask if construction is complete
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveiWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for leaving your review about Praktik Metropol.

We are really sorry that you couldn't fully enjoy your stay because of the noise you could hear from your room. We would have definetely moved you to a higher floor if you would have advised us. Regretfully we have no control on that noise since they are renovating a local next to us and it doesn't depend on us. Fortunately they will finish very soon.

Regarding the problem you had with the air conditioning, we would like to inform you that the air-system works as air-conditioning or heating depending on the temperature outside so probably it wasn't that hot outside.
For any inconvenience, we have a 24-hour Reception service that will willingly help you out and try to solve the problem as fastest as possible.

We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to make you enjoy a nice stay.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are rather small and yes the street is questionable but the value was excellent! Extremely clean and modern. The staff was super accommodating. The rooftop terrace is a must do for coffee in the morning or a cocktail before going out. We loved how our rooms had balconies. Overall great value for a two star.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mvk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Metropol and that you find it cosy, nicely decorated, comfortable and clean, and you could enjoy views of Madrid from your balcony and from the terrace on the 9th floor.

We really hope to welcome you again and in the meantime we send you our best regards.

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with work colleagues on friday/ saturday night. The hotel is very unique with a really cute reception area. Beds are really comfortable. Rooms really tiny however. I had a superior room but it was so small that i couldnt open the balcony doors as the bed was in the way. had to do some manouvering to actually get outside. It seems that the superior rooms have a window or balcony to the outside and standard rooms to the inside (view of the wall and pipes).

Location is really good, 5 minutes walk to Puerto del Sol and many nice bars and restaurants right outside, but quiet enough in the rooms to not be bothered by noise. There is a also a nice roof terrace with loungers and tables with a great view of the city.

Overall i can recommend the hotel due the uniqueness and location, however for the money, one could get a nicer, larger room at nearby hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFisherGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review about Praktik Metropol.

We regret to know that you weren't satisfied with the room size and we take the opportunity to inform you that rooms vary in sizes because this is an historical building and we had to maintain some original features when itl was renovated.

Thank you for mentioning our great location, Calle Montera is one of the most important street in Madrid since it connects Gran Vía with Puerta del Sol, two of the main tourist attractions of the city.

Thank you again for your comment and we would be pleased to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice room, staff, public room, and great central location. This is a simple and relatively modern hotel that is reasonably priced, and more about the room than the "lobby" but has a great double rooftop terrace and nice fireplace lounge, plus free WiFi, corkscrews and more. It shares the building and entrance with a couple of other hotels (odd but not an issue), and I would recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine_McLaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Blaine,

Thank you very much for such a nice review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad to know that you liked our centric location and service, as well as our rooftop terrace, which is definitely one of Praktik’s highlights; all this at an affordable price.

Thank you very much for recommending us.
We really hope to welcome you in a near future!

Kind regards from Madrid,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

this hotel occupies 2/3/4 of a high rise, there are some other hotels occupies 5/6/7 and other floors, don't get confused. their lobby locates on the second floor.
location is the best, but there are too many prestitudes lingering in front of the building at night, you need use your room key to get into the building.
the design is lovely, expecially their lobby, there are 2 PCs you can use for free.
what I dont like is the room size, it is far too small, probabely the smallest one I have ever stayed in all over the world. there is no desk to put my laptop, the receiptionist asked me to work in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaTourDotCom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review about Praktik Metropol.

We regret to know that you weren't satisfied with the room size and we take the opportunity to inform you that rooms vary in sizes because this is an historical building and we had to maintain some original features when itl was renovated.
For your next stay at Praktik Metropol you might consider to book a Superior Room that you can enjoy usually for 10 euros more the price of the standard room. They are larger rooms and some of them also have a desk. Unfortunately, we couldn't offer you a better solution because we were fully booked and had no options.
Anyways, we would like to thank you again for commenting your stay with us and therefore giving us the chance to improve our service.

Come back to Metropol and try one of our superior room and you won't regret it!

Kind Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the hotel I stayed at when I first arrived in Madrid and it was very nice! Be warned that the taxi will drop you off on what is the main street of Madrid and cannot drive you to the door of the hotel as the entrance is within a strictly-pedestrians only street. It's located right next to a McDonald's, which is a reassuring reminder of the States, but there is no one to help you downstairs and you have to manage to fit your luggage in an elevator that barely has room for one person. Once you reach the second floor, you can go straight to the lobby and front desk, which is very beautifully decorated. The staff is very professional and the rooms are gorgeous! They are the epitome of Spanish living with gorgeous furniture and views, as well as a great balcony in each room. It also has a well decorated terrace that you must visit before checking out from this hotel! The only down side is that it is unfortunately located on a street that is renowned for its "beautiful ladies" (many prostitutes are standing right outside of the entrance of this hotel). If you can look past this misfortunate location and the company it brings, this is a very professional and beautiful hotel to stay in for a short time period!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheetalG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Praktik Metropol.

We are happy to know that you liked the centric location, design and the amazing views enjoyable from our unique roof terrace.
Thank you also for mentioning our Staff, we all are working hard to provide the best possible attention and service to our Guests.
Furthermore, we are aware that Calle Montera is really special street, but it’s still a very safe area where you don’t have to worry about criminality or other incidences. Regretfully, we can’t do anything about it apart from make you feel" at home" in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Praktik Metropol.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#81 of 435 in Madrid
923 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 435 in Madrid
1,694 reviews
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#86 of 435 in Madrid
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 435 in Madrid
1,306 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#69 of 435 in Madrid
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#88 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing