We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; stylish...expect basic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #89 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
470 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Great location; stylish...expect basic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located at the Gran Via, the Praktik Metropol could not be better situated for the money. My 3 night stay was flawless.

It's unassuming exterior and lack of a ground floor Reception is a little off-putting at first; the building itself has two other hotels on various floors. Reception on the first floor is a simple yet stylish affair and the staff were helpful, efficient and friendly.

My street-facing room had a balcony and shutters; noise pollution was minimal despite being in the thick of it. Thicker curtains would have been appreciated to keep the light out in the mornings.

The sun terrace is very small but the roof (only opened on the second and third day of my stay owing to renovations) offers a spectacular view of the cityscape and boasts several stylish seating and lounging options. What is sorely lacking is a basic bar - however; the Receptionist encouraged bringing your own drinks; great for the budget traveler!

My bathroom was tiny; wide enough for a shower cubicle and a toilet; the sink was located just outside in the bedroom. The shower was one of the best I have used in any hotel anywhere at any price point...however there was a question over the seals as after every shower the floor was flooded despite my precautions.

The bed was very comfortable but moved very easily; sitting up in bed leaning againt the wall (no headboard) ineveitably pushed the bed forward. As a flexible King/Twin set up the centre of the two matresses were quite easily separated and saggy.

Wi-Fi was superb; fast and no issues with connections. A/C was essential and worked very well. Daily maid service was flawless and efficient...I never saw them!

This hotel is is not for everyone; if you need a doorman, a concierge or just the assurance of seeing a staff member a few times a day then you shoudl look elsewhere. If, on the otherhand, you are a confident independent traveler needing a central good value boutique experience then look no further.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear FreshEire A,

Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it.

We are very excited to learn that you enjoyed the whole experience at the Praktik Metropol.
As you say, we share the building with a couple of hostels. Our reception is located on the first floor and we hope that you had a great surprise with our cosy lobby and our helpful receptionists.

In our rooms you can find two types of curtains: one of them is opaque to avoid sunlight coming in. It may happen that guests sometimes don't see them; anyway, if you have any problem at any time you can easily contact with front desk staff, since we have a 24-hour service. They will do the possible to give you a solution.
“Less is Luxe” is our concept: we provide a very central location, affordable prices, fast WiFi connection, comfortable beds and showers: all this in a place with a great and unique design.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    513
    140
    35
    17
See reviews for
110
653
119
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect location, very close to Gran Vía and the city center. You can reach any tourist attraction by foot from there (plaza mayor, puerta del sol, the museums, the market place, etc). The room size was not too big but not even small - just perfect. And about the view... spectacular! If your room does not offer a good view ob the street, you can always go up to the terrace, where you get a beautiful view of the whole city. Also, the hotel is very clean and comfortable. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Catejazz ,

Thank you for choosing Praktik Metropol for your stay in Madrid and thank you to send this beautiful review.

We are really glad to hear that you liked our location and you found the room perfect for you and that you enjoyed our amazing terrace.

We are very glad that you had a good time here and we hope to see you in the future.

Thank you for recommending us!

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Be aware and take a serious drai̇n smels complains also other customers review for this hotel!!! We first stayed praktik bakery in barcelona which belongs to same hotel chai̇n with praktik metropol. First one was good and thats why we decided to stay in madrid praktik metropol. But this hotel was ever worst hotel we stayed for a while. First night we stayed room 206 (superior room) toilet was smell drain terrible and they couldn't chanced it because they have no room available that night. also we informed that building is very old and they can't do nothing for drain smell. Besides no shower separation in bathroom, curtens are dirty, bed sheets smell and only bed and to side table in this superior room nothing else. Second night moved to room 210 was much worst than first one. Bathroom and room smell horrible drain in the night time, impossible to sleep. We discovered that smells come from continuously two power sockets which located both sides of bed, besides bathroom. Room contain more furniture but doesn't make sense in this conditions.very poor breakfast. There are three different hotels in the same building, use same elevator like a apartment. I wrote my complain to directly to the hotel web site but no one replay me so far, maybe hotel manager can explain us how they sell that terrible smelling rooms twice to us for 3 nights?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umran o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Umran o,

First of all I would like to say that I'm really sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at Praktik Metropol and also to inform you that your complaint has been already replied to Booking.com as soon as they contact us 3 weeks ago. Apparently they haven't transmitted properly my answer.
Therefore, there's no problem for me to answer you again to each issue you point out in your review.

First of all, you are complaining about the bad smell in the room. I can just say that this is an old building and sometimes can happen to have this kind of problems, but it's not a common problem to all the rooms. We really regret that unlucky circumstances made you experience the same problem twice. We have no interest of having unsatisfied guests, so if the smell was just so unbearable as you say, you could have informed us right away, and we would have certainly give you another option.
But you didn't say anything,and you decided to stay, so we hadn't the opportunity to know that you were still feeling uncomfortable. Furthermore, the housekeeping department didn't notice the smell in the second room, so we really thought that you were fine.

For what is concerned the furniture of the rooms, I would like to inform you that each room is different from the other, as you can see in the pictures on Booking.com. Not every room has more furniture than the bed, closet and two night tables. I'm surprised to hear that everything had a bad smell, such the bed sheets since they come clean every day and there's no way they can smell bad.

Furthermore, according to what you say, room 210 was even worst than the first one. I don't understand then why in your comment on booking.com you say that it was better. I'm a bit confused.

About the breakfast, on our website states exactly what it is incuded. It costs only 4 euros, it is a basic and cheap breakfast. On booking.com was not possible to leave its description.

To sum up, I can understand that you might have felt not comfortable during your stay, but I think that if you would have asked for further assistance from us, we would have given you a solution. You decided to remain despite "this conditions", and after you leave the hotel, you may understand that I'm not able to do anything else but to answer to your complaint.

Our work doesn't make sense if our guests are not satisfied and happy with their stay. Everyone has his own expectations and there can be problems out of our control, I'm not saying we are perfect. But as you can read in most of other guests' experiences, our staff is helpful and willingly tries to solve any inconvenient a client can have.

I regret to know you were so disappointed with Praktik Metropol; we'll take your comment as a chance to improve our service and facilities.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My fiancé and I were delighted at how close this hotel was to all the action in Madrid. It's more or less smack in the middle of Gran Vía, a very easy walk (about 2-3 minutes for us) to the Puerta del Sol, and fantastically close to a metro station. We could have taken the metro much more, but since Madrid is such a beautiful city to stroll in, we found that the hotel was well-situated enough to walk most places.

The hotel is very cute and is nicely decorated, and our room was small, but not impossibly so. I would go so far as to call it "quaint." We were in a room with a gorgeous view of Gran Vía. If you're an go to sleep early, there is a bit of road noise; however, if you keep a madrileño schedule (eating dinner past 10 and staying out late and such), the lights and noise do taper off around 1-2 in the morning.

The staff are wonderfully nice and speak English very well. Next time we come to Madrid, we will be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy t know that you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Metropol and would like to thank you for your positive comment.
As you mentioned, our centric location, just a few steps away from Gran Via and from Puerta del Sol, is really convenient to discover Madrid.

Thank you for mentioning our Staff, since we are working hard to provide the best possible attention and service to our Guests and make them feeling welcome.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future!

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbo, SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent only three nights in Praktik Metropol, but was a great and sweet surprise!
The great service, the gentle people, the cute and elegant decoration. We´ve just loved the hotel.
I fully recommend it.
The single observation I do is that the location is not the best for a family with children.

Room Tip: Look for places carefully in the inernet, paying attention at details you consider important. Spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anelisetbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for such a nice review about Praktik Metropol.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks to our central location, our design and our service.

I just would like to remark that despite the ladies in our street, it's still a really safe area.

Thank you very much for recommending us and we hope we can welcome you again in a near future.


Kind regards from Madrid!


Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It has been really relaxing staying in this hotel, in the city center but in a silente position. It has an amazing terrace where you can enjoy the landscape. The rooms are clean and there is really pleasent hall

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiazuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Claudia,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about Praktik Metropol.

It's such a pleasure for us to know that you had a great stay.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our public areas, the cosy lounge and the amazing view from our terrace on the 9th floor, as well as our comfortable
rooms.
We would be very glad to welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Very central and next to Chueca and most tourist sighs. However, I was not so luck, air condition not working and very noisy after midday as an building renovation is going on street level. The Montera street is busy with prostitutes, but no problems as police is around all time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review about Praktik Metropol.

We are glad that you liked our centric location, just a few steps away from Gran Via and about 2 minutes to Puerta del Sol.
We are really sorry that you couldn't fully enjoy your stay because of the noise you could hear from your room. We would have definitely moved you to a higher floor if you would have advised us. The works you mentioned were for the restaurant next door that just opened.

We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to make you enjoy a relaxing stay.

Thank you and kind regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#81 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#22 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#88 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing