We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Small but clean room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praktik Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Praktik Metropol
Ranked #90 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location. Small but clean room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Friendly staff and clean room. The location is great. Although there are prostitute outside of the hotel, they didn't really bother me as much. Just one time, one of them got a bit more aggressive and kept calling me trying to get me to start talking to her. I just ignored her and walked faster.

From the hotel, everything is within walking distance. I didn't really need to take any subway train at all to get to most of the popular sites.

The service was friendly. Like other hotels in Spain, they kept my luggages for me after I checked out of the hotel so that I didn't have to drag my luggages around town before I left the city. I just came back at the end of the day to pick up my luggages and off I go to my next destination in Spain.

The room was small but clean. Modern and a bit quirky. I would stay here again next time I visit Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustLoveTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review about Praktik Metropol

We regret to know that you weren't satisfied with the room size and we take the opportunity to inform you that rooms vary in sizes because this is an historical building and we had to maintain some original features when it was renovated.

Thank you for mentioning our great location, Calle Montera is one of the most important streets in Madrid since it connects Gran Vía with Puerta del Sol, two of the main tourist attractions of the city.

Thank you again for your comment and we would be pleased to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    510
    138
    35
    17
See reviews for
109
647
116
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in this building many years ago as a young backpacker when it was a hostel. Now that I am older and can afford a room for myself and have a more discriminating taste (?), I found myself again in the same building in Madrid but surrounded by great design and casual service. HOTEL and SERVICE: The design is clean, hip and practical. Service at reception was also very pleasant. The rooftop patio has great view - go there, watch the sunset while you drink wine, and munch on a piece of bread topped with jamon iberico and manchego cheese. LOCATION: It's on a busy Montera pedestrian street but you won't hear the noise from your room (the sound proofing is great). You can walk everywhere from here - Sol, museums, castles, shopping, check out the Saint Anthony Market in Chueca, which late at night turns into what seems like a huge tapas bar. And if you feel hungry at 4:30 AM... no worries, there's a 24-hour McDonald's on the first floor! WIFI: Free! CONCLUSION: I will stay here again - great value, and loved the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dento97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful feedback.

We are so glad to know that you were content with your choice and find Praktik Metropol cosy, nicely decorated, comfortable and with a helpful staff! This is exactly our concept and we are glad we are able to transmit it to our guests.

As you mentioned, our rooms are really quiet despite our central location on a busy street as Montera, which allows you to find anything at anytime.

It is such a pleasure that we met your expectations and we would be really happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Pratik Metropol was perfect for our travel with our 18 year old son - excellent value, fabulous location, clean, quiet and helpful staff. The internet was a bit slow. We had our BYO dinner on the patio on a perfect balmy night in July 2014 relishing the views over Madrid. It was easy to take the metro to the airport (about a 40 minute ride with a couple of changes).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you very much for such a nice review.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with your family at Praktik Metropol and that you find it cosy, nicely decorated, comfortable and clean, and you could enjoy views of Madrid from your balcony and from the terrace on the 9th floor.

We really hope to welcome you again and in the meantime we send you our best regards.

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevilla
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a stylish, affordable hotel in a great location. We paid 62€/night for a Superior Room, which was beautifully appointed and had a fantastic view out over the intersection of Gran Vía & Montera. There is an entrance to the Gran Vía Metro station right in front of the hotel and it's a short walk to any number of Madrid's major sites. The lobby is very inviting and has two computers for guest use, although only the computer on the right is linked to the printer. Free WiFi in our room worked flawlessly. We found the staff to be extremely helpful (Iberia changed our flight without notice and the staff allowed us to use the front desk phone to call the pay-per-minute Iberia customer service line to address the issue). Note that the plaza in front of the hotel attracts a large number of "ladies of the night" hawking their services, however, the area seemed safe and we left the hotel at 0545 to catch the Metro to Barajas (note that the Metro does not start until 0600) and did not encounter any problems (oddly, though, the front desk is not manned at that hour and you have to leave your key card with a guard at the street level door - so make sure your account is fully paid up the evening before an early departure). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Superior Room" as, apparently, there is a significant difference between the Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy t know that you enjoyed your stay at Praktik Metropol and would like to thank you for your positive comment.

As you mentioned, our centric location, just a few steps away from Gran Via and from Puerta del Sol, is really convenient to discover Madrid.

We have a 24-hour Reception service, there is no problem if you need to settle your account, the night receptionist who is downstairs at the ground floor can help you out with this.

Thank you for mentioning our Staff, since we are working hard to provide the best possible attention and service to our Guests and make them feeling welcome.

It is such a pleasure that we met your expectations and we would be really happy to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilrijk, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the praktik metropol hotel for 4 nights in July with my boyfriend. The room was really nice and clean. The size was perfect, but we did take a superior room. The shower was great! The rooftop terrace has the most amazing views. The people at the front desk aren't all friendly, some of them do speak french or English and are really nice, but others have difficulties speaking anything else then Spanish and are visibly annoyed when you ask to speak English...The breakfast is very disappointing: juice, coffee, ham&cheese sandwich, croissants or something sweet like a doughnut. Someone like me with an milk allergy couldn't eat anything, which was quite sad. The location was great. There were indeed some prostitutes walking around in the neighborhood, but I've never seen them in the hotel and I never felt unsafe when walking around on my own. The reception is on the first floor, so don't by shy, just walk in and take the elevator to the first floor :)
All in all I did like the hotel and would go back, just without breakfast this time :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were 2 couples staying and the hotel and we were so comfortable staying here. The service was great and the rooms, clean and unique. The whole design of the hotel made the stay enjoyable and memorable. Central location made the hotel even more comfortable. Would definitely recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mark,

Allow us to thank you for your great review and for recommending Praktik Metropol.

It's really important for us to know the opinion of our guests and we are so glad that you have found a great service and you enjoyed your stay.

We give a special importance to our design because it makes us different and we love when we guests appreciate it.

Thanks for highlighting our superb location, really convenient to enjoy Madrid since you can easily walk to most of city's sightseeings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Thank you and best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
511 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Praktik few times and it is very good . Spartan in service , quirky design and a super central location . The roof terrace rooms and the communal terrace are great .and the best thing is the price ! Rooms from as little as euro 90!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praktik M, Director General at Praktik Metropol, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Paolo,

We would like to thank you for such a nice review about Praktik Metropol.

We are very glad that you like our Skyline rooms on 9th floor with their impressive views.
Our terrace is also one of the highlights of Praktik Metropol, and it's the perfect place to relax after a long day visiting Madrid.

As you mention, we have competitive prices. Doble standard rooms start from 50 euros per night.
A really good deal in the heart of Madrid!

Thank you again for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Olivia Pozzesi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#53 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#38 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#106 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#81 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Metropol

Property: Praktik Metropol
Address: C/ Montera 47 (esq. Gran Via), 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
#87 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Praktik Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Praktik Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Metropol Hotel Madrid
Metropol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing