We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location... Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Ranked #71 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Location... Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel is in Serrano, Madrid's Golden Mile, so the location is great however the service is poor! Since the team in the reception, the bartender to internet connection is poor. The first day we left at 10;00 and came back at 16:00 and they still didn't clean the room, when requested it took them 1 hour and they just arrange the bed linen and put more towels! The decoration in the room is fine however the fashionable orange chair had a huge stain in the seat and it was disgusting to look at.
Though they provide a laptop in the room for your usage, the wireless connexion is poor, you need to sign in every time and many times even if you change from your room to the bar!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Departamento de Ventas Online at Petit Palace Embassy Serrano, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
We remain, sorry, for the inconveniences, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve through your opinion.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    213
    86
    17
    7
See reviews for
152
120
22
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Initially made a reservation at Suites 33 but they over-booked so I selected this hotel. Great location, very clean, attentive staff, accomodated 9 AM check-in, breakfast seemed expensive, so I declined and discovered it was a deal, small room but functional, big bathroom.

Room Tip: Enjoyable hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeVanderKlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Embassy Serrano, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Petit Palace Embassy.We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosillo, México
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent employees, Excellent location, small room. Even it was a family room it was small.
The air conditioner was for whole hotel. We had from 4 nights stay 2 nights very warm and could not use air conditioner, there was none, because it has a whole hotel a/c. It should have had room air conditioning not hotel a/c. The price was expensive.
Did not like much the glass walls of the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgomezhmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Embassy Serrano, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
It is always interesting to read our reviews since they are a useful way of helping us improve the service. We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you an enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

If you're visiting Madrid for just a short stay, this hotel is perfectly located because it is close to everything- the airport is just 20 mins away, the Madrid Bus tour stop is a 10 min walk and the Colon Square, which is practically the juncture for a lot of activities is right next.

Staff is extremely courteous and since they speak good English, it is a major plus point for English-speaking travelers. Rooms are fine- bathrooms like typical Spanish loos don't have latches (wonder why) so the preferred option is single room :P A room on each floor also has jacuzzi, so if you wish to relax and rewind, it might be a good option to opt for that room. The rooms that do not have the jacuzzi have the street view which btw, is awesome. So take your pick!!

A major disappointment is the internet facility in this hotel. Despite the fact that they claim it is 48-56 mbps, the speed was worse than you would ever imagine!!

The breakfast menu is fine, but it doesn't change much (we had breakfast for 3 days and the menu wasn't too different!). A word of caution for vegetarians- you will need to survive on bread and milk through out your stay!

Room Tip: Opt for lower floors if you're an internet buff...wi fi signals are erratic on higher floors alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varshaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Location is fabulous, if shopping is what you want. You can be the 1st customer out in the street and last to be off as this hotel is right in the centre of it. Near to a metro station as well.

In such a location, rooms are expected to be small. And so they are. The rooms are nicely designed, but the quality of furnishings are either poor to start with, or just badly maintained. Many things looks modern in desgin, but falling apart or not functioning the way it is supposed to be.

The toilet door has no lock, and in our room, it is often a bit ajar due to its poor maintenance. The drainage is also bad as the water can flow a bit out of the bathroom area. Laptop is provided, but looks abused. Table has permanent scratches and marks. So overall, good desgin, modern, but poor quality furnishing used or just badly maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

we checked in for three nights to finish off a week in Spain. the check-in process went smoothly and we found the room (#316) to be sufficient at first glance. The room was larger than expected and the bathroom was seperated by an opaque glass wall. The bath was a shower-bath combo with a half glass wall. The design is poor since much of the water ended up on the floor. The first night we found that the beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. in fact, it was almost as though the mattresses were only box springs. to make matters worse, there were two pillows which seemed to be foam rubber strips cut in half. The next morning our backs and necks were not in good shape. The next day we asked about changing rooms or paying for an upgrade to a room with a better mattress. the reception desk tried to help and showed me two alternate rooms on the 4th floor. These rooms were nicer, however the beds were the same hard bricks so I opted to remain in the initial room. instead we asked for a few extra pillows, however we had to remind the front desk 3 times before finally receiving them at 11pm.

the hotel location is excellent. it is surrounded by the best shops and great restaurants. I found this area (Salmanca) much more desirable than the gran via / puerto del sol areas which are extremely busy.

i would not stay in this hotel again due to the fact that the beds are terrible and the hotel is minimally staffed. The front desk was only staffed by one person at any given time and I rarely saw any other staff.
I had a much better experience my first night in Spain at the Hotel Fenix around the corner, however this hotel was a bit less expensive, hence the decision to try the PP Embassy. So as my old pal Wilma always says, the cheap man pays the most.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Only spent one night here and did not use the restaurant either for dinner or breakfast. We had booked two standard double rooms. The beds were comfortable, the rooms spacious and the air conditioning quiet and efficient. Given the central position of the hotel it was remarkably quiet (though we were on the third floor) . The bathroom was huge and included a bath, a shower over the bath and a separate jacuzzi shower. There was a laptop with free wi-fi provided. The hotel has a rather cool and impersonal feel, but that suited us fine for a one night stay. It is based in the smart Salamanca shopping area and tourist sites (such as El Prado and the Retiro Park) are within walking distance. The front desk staff were charming and helpful, though checkout was very lengthy as a mistake had been made on the bill of the people checking out in front of us. It took 20 minutes to sort out!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groombridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace President Castellana
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
TOTEM Madrid
TOTEM Madrid
#132 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Jardin de Recoletos
Jardin de Recoletos
#25 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#193 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Embassy Serrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Embassy Serrano

Property: Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Address: Calle Serrano 46 | ​​(between C / Hermosilla, C / Ayala), 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#100 Business Hotel in Madrid
#136 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Embassy Serrano 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace Embassy Serrano Hotel is the only hotel in Serrano street, Madrid: a XIXth century building beautifully refurbished and one of the most distinguished boutique hotels in Madrid. This hotel in the Salamanca district is perfect for a shopping weekend in Madrid or a business trip with the best services: Wi-Fi and iPads, Jacuzzi, breakfasts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Embassy Serrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Embassy Madrid
Petit Palace Embassy Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing