We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #125 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We read the reviews before booking the Hotel Meninas, so of course we were expecting to get a great location. And so it is! The street is quite, so you have a good night's sleep (if you want) but, at the same time, it is close to the Opera, the Palace, the subway, Mercado san Miguel, shops, restaurants...
The wi-fi does not work properly, as mentioned in most reviews. We needed to check in on line so we had to do so through the computer of the Hotel, in the Reception!
We booked a junior suite, which was spacious, with a small lobby with a sofa-bed, and had a nice decor. The room on the 4th floor and it was very quitet.
For us, the least well rated feature has to be the breakfast. It is average, with one or 2 choices of cereals and yougurts, eggs, bacon and sausages, but there is a lack of more healthy options such as freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade cake, light cheese.
Overall, we had a great time and will return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks you for your comment abour your great stay at our Meninas Hotel located in the Heart of Madrid.

As you mentioned before, our Hotel is located in the centre of Madrid next to the Opera House and the Royal Palace, but in a quiet street, perfect to visit the most important and touristic places but also to relax and chilling when you come back to the Hotel at the end of the day.

Our Junior Suite Rooms, can be for three or four people. You have your own room but also there is a little lobby with another sofa-bed, perfect if you want to have your own privacy or if you are travelling with your family.

About the breaksfast, we try to offer every moorning all type of products and variety for all of our customers.

We look forward to see you again, and dont forget you can continue visiting our best promos and offers in our website,

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I stayed at Meninas in July and felt it was great. First off, the hotel building itself is full of charm, and is on a quiet street away from the noise. The location is it’s best feature, walking distance to most everything. Plaza Isabel is at the bottom of the street, with the Royal Palace just behind, the metro is right there, there are also plenty of taxi’s day and night. There are lots restaurants around that we didn’t find until our last day, we could have easily stayed longer and enjoyed all Madrid had to offer. We stayed in the Junior Suite, it was clean, bright and the ac works just fine, and it was hot at the end of July! The bathroom was stocked fully everyday so there are no complaints there. The breakfast was fine, something for everyone to eat, hot breakfast, pastries (try the doughnuts-they’re great) plenty of fruit, cereal and Spanish meats. We even went down to breakfast just as they were closing one day, and they were very gracious and kept everything out until we filled our plates. The only complaint is the wi-fi and from reading everyone else’s remarks, it seems to be something that they have no interest in fixing. After three days, I complained that I couldn’t get on in the room or in the lobby, they gave me an access code that worked in the lobby only. If you need to stay in touch, you may want to rethink staying here, otherwise this is like a hidden gem in the heart of Old Madrid. I would recommend it and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: 4th floor was nice and quiet, brightly lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinap7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Agradecerle su comentario en Tripadvisor acerca de su estancia en nuestro Hotel Meninas de Madrid.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que han disfrutado no solo de nuestras instalaciones sino de los atractivos turísticos de la zona los cuales se encuentran a escasos metros del hotel.

Le pedimos disculpas sobre la conexión de Wifi. El problema ha sido resuelto y esperamos no vuelva a ocurrir.

Nuestro desayuno buffet intentamos que sea completo y variado y sobre todo para todos los gustos, por eso, se ofrecen productos caseros, frescos y de primera calidad cada mañana.

Esperamos que se lleven un buen recuerdo y que nos visiten de nuevo. Recuerden que pueden seguir consultando nuestras promociones y ofertas en nuestra página web.

Reciba un saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel sight unseen as our travel agency in Spain switched hotels on us at the last minute. We were so pleased with the Meninas -- the best thing it has going for it is its location, and the second best thing is the staff. We literally walked everywhere from our hotel with no difficulty -- El Rastro flea market, Botin (the world's oldest restaurant), Mercado de San Miguel, the Royal Palace, etc. When we wanted to venture further away, the Opera metro station was a two minute walk from the Meninas and it was easy to access Retiro Park and other sights via subway. The staff at Meninas was extremely friendly and spoke English very well. They helped me wrap a delicate framed picture that I purched from a vintage store and even sent a staff member with me to a shipping store to translate since my Spanish is not very strong.

Other positives: excellent continental breakfast, clean rooms, boutique hotel decor and feel.

Negatives: WiFi was rarely working, and when it was, it was extremely slow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We selected this hotel due to the many reviews that mentioned the great location and was not disappointed. The location is literally a 2 minute walk from the Opera metro stop, so transit from the airport was very easy and cheap since we didn’t need a taxi. It is also very close to the Palacio Real, and within close walking distance to Plaza Mayor and the Grand Via.

We booked a small room (mini double) to keep costs down, and the room was quite tight. Basically, there was a very minimal amount of space between the bed and the walls, but with only two of us it was manageable. The room was clean and modern, and we had a location facing the inner courtyard so we didn’t have any problems with noise from the street at all. The hotel is on a side street, so this might have also helped keep things quieter.

Wi-fi was free but we did have some problems with connection in our room. However, the staff was happy to provide multiple access keys (for a phone, tablet, laptop, etc.) and wi-fi in the first floor lobby/lounge was fine. The hotel staff was great, especially Fernando who had the night shift.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear customer,

Thanks in advance for your comment about your stay in our Meninas 4* Hotel.

We are located in the heart of Madrid. Next to the Opera House and 3 minutes walking from the Royal Palace. Also if you are coming from the airport, the Opera station is 2 minutes walking from here.

We have differents types of rooms, one of theses is the Double Mini room, for one or two people. However, for the next time you come to the Hotel will be a pleasure for us if its possible offer you a twin or double room , which are a little bit bigger.

We look forward to see you again, and do not hesitate to visit our website to get the best offers and promos.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in Madrid for just two nights, but loved our stay in this hotel and the staff really helped us to make the most of the short time we had. The hotel is clean, designed well with a nice lounge downstairs and the staff were really helpful and polite. The street it is on is also clean and quiet, and we felt totally safe there. We were able to walk easily to the Royal Palace, Puerta de Sol, Plaza Mayor, La Latina district, Plaza Santa Ana and even the Retiro Park and Reina Sofia (those last ones might be a bit far if you don't like walking!). The receptionist was an intern and was clearly very keen to practice her already super English, and gave us lots of useful tips about where to eat, drink and party! I would definitely recommend this hotel for any type of visit that might include going to the main tourist areas, although the small double we stayed in might be a bit tight if you have lots of luggage or a child with you, so just make sure you go for a standard. I couldn't get the internet to work on my phone, but it didn't impact on our stay too much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Boutique Hotel Meninas and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have been to this hotel twice and I have great experiences both times. The location is excellent, exactly where you want to be for a nice weekend in Madrid. The rooms are nice, clean and have a very nice style. One small frustration was the internet, it is painfully slow and didn't work at all at times. One thing that would make the hotel excellent is a pool, we went to the pool at hotel Emperador to cool off. However, overall I think this hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear customer,

First of all thank you for your great comment about your stai in our Hotel Meninas located. in the heart of Madrid

Its a pleasure for us to know that is your second time here in this Hotel in Madrid. Its perfect to visit the main touristic places and next to the best restaurants for Spanish Tapas.

We are Sorry about the problem with th Wi-fi signal. We have been working in it, and the problem is already fixed it.

We look forward to see you again and remember that you can visit our website to continue having the best promos and offers.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked a normal double as opposed to a small doule and on opening the door i thought they had given us a small double but they confirmed that is was their standard double. I would hate to see what their small doubles were! Our floor had not been cleaned properly there was a trail of sticky substance on the floor, we did report it and a cleaner came but did not clean it all. In her defence she probably could not see it all as the roooms are pretty dark.
In terms of location the hotel is in an absolutely great location, a minutes walk to Opera metro and walking distance to major sites.
Do not book this hotel if you want to use the internet or wifi - IT DOES NOT WORK.
With regards to staff - their reception staff are WONDERFUL. Fernando and Enrique could not have been more helpful. Very polite and helpful and welcoming.
If they fix the wifi i would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pips78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Boutique Hotel Meninas 4*.

In the Hotel Meninas we have different types of rooms, from the single room to the special junior suite, and exterior rooms with a balconty or interior rooms with views to the nice patio.
We apologize for you inconvenience with the wifi connection and we are pleasure to inform you that we can solve detected the problem and solve it.

I would like to inform you that Meninas Hotel offer you two options to go to the airport, with the Airport Shuttel Bus Service to 13.00€ per person, and the TAXI. Meninas Hotel do not assume the responsibility the cost of the taxi, because is a extern service of the hotel, and depend on the traffic, but the right price is between 30€ and 35€.

We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

From Manager Department we assure you that we take note about your comments to improve our installations and our service.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#142 of 441 in Madrid
1,253 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#187 of 441 in Madrid
565 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#75 of 441 in Madrid
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Campomanes 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Madrid
#87 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £57 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meninas Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing