We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great botique hotel in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #158 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great botique hotel in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel Meninas in Madrid is an excellent botique hotel in a great location close to the Opera House . It is modern and clean with clean and comfortable rooms and a good breakfast . . Staff at reception are excellent especially Fernando who gave us advice about the city and restaurants Only criticism was the shower in our room which had a slippery floor with both shower doors opening offering no support when I slipped. Location close to Palace , metro and the wonderful San Miguel market . Wi Fi only operates in the lobby /reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for dedicate a few minutes to leave your comment about your stay in our Meninas Hotel located in the heart of Madrid.

We will transfer your great comment to Fernando. We like to recommend places to visit, and to enjoy the traditional spanish life and not only the most touristic places.

Its a pleasure to know that you liked our rooms. Also our buffet breakfast is prepared every moorning with homemade and fresh products for all our clients.

About the problem with the doors, we have already talked to fix it as soon as possible.

We look forward to see you soon again, and remember you can visit our website to enjoy our seasonal promos and offer for the next time you come.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    342
    92
    38
    30
See reviews for
178
423
74
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't stress enough how great the location of this hotel is. It is sooo close to the royal palace and yet tucked down a very quite street(unlike the majority of the centrally located hotels that are mostly on main roads or noisy pedestrian areas) and in a comparatively up-market neighbourhood.
The reception team could not have been friendlier or more helpful. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and offered a selection of rooms that we could take our pick from. Once we selected our room the receptionist offered us personal recommendations of places to see and places to eat! We thought that this was a really nice touch and was surprised to find the rest of the reception team equally as friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only negative about the hotel would be the general state of repair (chipped paint on woodwork, bathroom fittings broken etc) which is a shame as it really lets down the staff that made so much of an effort to make us comfortable.

Room Tip: The internal facing rooms are really dark and a bit smaller than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianBonfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment about your stay in Our Meninas Hotel located in the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure for us having customers who appreciate our effort.We are located next to the best touristic places to visit, and very close to the most famous areas for taste some Spanish.

We look forward to hearing from you soon to conitnue offering our help and our best smile as every day.

Remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The most outstanding feature of Hotel Meninas is its location – right in the heart of Madrid. Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace, delicious restaurants and tapas bars (including Sobrino de Botin – the oldest running restaurant in the world) are all within a few minutes walk. Also, the Opera and a metro station and bus station are just at the end of the street. The hotel has a relaxing and informal atmosphere, with friendly staff and free Wifi. For us it was like an oasis of piece and quiet in the middle of a hot summer day. Both my husband and I were happy with the quality of the sleep we got here and also enjoyed the small breakfast served in this unusual setting at level -1, in what seemed to be an old brick cellar. On our last day, since we left very early, they had a picnic prepared for us, with a delicious sandwich, juice and 2 pieces of fruit for each. We really appreciated the attention paid to details and just how helpful everyone was.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks a lot for your comment about your perfect stay at Madrid and in Our Meninas hotel located in the Heart of Madrid.

As tou told before, we are close to the best areas, for tapas, nice restaurants, shopping, but also our hotel offers the calm if you want to relax at the end of the day.

Our buffet breaksfast is offered in the first floor undergroung, in a comfy and old dinning room with all type of fresh and homemade products.

Of course that if you are leaving early in the moorning we will prepare you some picnics to have a nice breakfast.

We try to offer our best service and smile every day.

We look forward to hearing from you soon and remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We read the reviews before booking the Hotel Meninas, so of course we were expecting to get a great location. And so it is! The street is quite, so you have a good night's sleep (if you want) but, at the same time, it is close to the Opera, the Palace, the subway, Mercado san Miguel, shops, restaurants...
The wi-fi does not work properly, as mentioned in most reviews. We needed to check in on line so we had to do so through the computer of the Hotel, in the Reception!
We booked a junior suite, which was spacious, with a small lobby with a sofa-bed, and had a nice decor. The room on the 4th floor and it was very quitet.
For us, the least well rated feature has to be the breakfast. It is average, with one or 2 choices of cereals and yougurts, eggs, bacon and sausages, but there is a lack of more healthy options such as freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade cake, light cheese.
Overall, we had a great time and will return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks you for your comment abour your great stay at our Meninas Hotel located in the Heart of Madrid.

As you mentioned before, our Hotel is located in the centre of Madrid next to the Opera House and the Royal Palace, but in a quiet street, perfect to visit the most important and touristic places but also to relax and chilling when you come back to the Hotel at the end of the day.

Our Junior Suite Rooms, can be for three or four people. You have your own room but also there is a little lobby with another sofa-bed, perfect if you want to have your own privacy or if you are travelling with your family.

About the breaksfast, we try to offer every moorning all type of products and variety for all of our customers.

We look forward to see you again, and dont forget you can continue visiting our best promos and offers in our website,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassau bahamas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I stayed at Meninas in July and felt it was great. First off, the hotel building itself is full of charm, and is on a quiet street away from the noise. The location is it’s best feature, walking distance to most everything. Plaza Isabel is at the bottom of the street, with the Royal Palace just behind, the metro is right there, there are also plenty of taxi’s day and night. There are lots restaurants around that we didn’t find until our last day, we could have easily stayed longer and enjoyed all Madrid had to offer. We stayed in the Junior Suite, it was clean, bright and the ac works just fine, and it was hot at the end of July! The bathroom was stocked fully everyday so there are no complaints there. The breakfast was fine, something for everyone to eat, hot breakfast, pastries (try the doughnuts-they’re great) plenty of fruit, cereal and Spanish meats. We even went down to breakfast just as they were closing one day, and they were very gracious and kept everything out until we filled our plates. The only complaint is the wi-fi and from reading everyone else’s remarks, it seems to be something that they have no interest in fixing. After three days, I complained that I couldn’t get on in the room or in the lobby, they gave me an access code that worked in the lobby only. If you need to stay in touch, you may want to rethink staying here, otherwise this is like a hidden gem in the heart of Old Madrid. I would recommend it and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: 4th floor was nice and quiet, brightly lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinap7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Agradecerle su comentario en Tripadvisor acerca de su estancia en nuestro Hotel Meninas de Madrid.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que han disfrutado no solo de nuestras instalaciones sino de los atractivos turísticos de la zona los cuales se encuentran a escasos metros del hotel.

Le pedimos disculpas sobre la conexión de Wifi. El problema ha sido resuelto y esperamos no vuelva a ocurrir.

Nuestro desayuno buffet intentamos que sea completo y variado y sobre todo para todos los gustos, por eso, se ofrecen productos caseros, frescos y de primera calidad cada mañana.

Esperamos que se lleven un buen recuerdo y que nos visiten de nuevo. Recuerden que pueden seguir consultando nuestras promociones y ofertas en nuestra página web.

Reciba un saludo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel sight unseen as our travel agency in Spain switched hotels on us at the last minute. We were so pleased with the Meninas -- the best thing it has going for it is its location, and the second best thing is the staff. We literally walked everywhere from our hotel with no difficulty -- El Rastro flea market, Botin (the world's oldest restaurant), Mercado de San Miguel, the Royal Palace, etc. When we wanted to venture further away, the Opera metro station was a two minute walk from the Meninas and it was easy to access Retiro Park and other sights via subway. The staff at Meninas was extremely friendly and spoke English very well. They helped me wrap a delicate framed picture that I purched from a vintage store and even sent a staff member with me to a shipping store to translate since my Spanish is not very strong.

Other positives: excellent continental breakfast, clean rooms, boutique hotel decor and feel.

Negatives: WiFi was rarely working, and when it was, it was extremely slow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Meninas.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Pedro Alonso
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We selected this hotel due to the many reviews that mentioned the great location and was not disappointed. The location is literally a 2 minute walk from the Opera metro stop, so transit from the airport was very easy and cheap since we didn’t need a taxi. It is also very close to the Palacio Real, and within close walking distance to Plaza Mayor and the Grand Via.

We booked a small room (mini double) to keep costs down, and the room was quite tight. Basically, there was a very minimal amount of space between the bed and the walls, but with only two of us it was manageable. The room was clean and modern, and we had a location facing the inner courtyard so we didn’t have any problems with noise from the street at all. The hotel is on a side street, so this might have also helped keep things quieter.

Wi-fi was free but we did have some problems with connection in our room. However, the staff was happy to provide multiple access keys (for a phone, tablet, laptop, etc.) and wi-fi in the first floor lobby/lounge was fine. The hotel staff was great, especially Fernando who had the night shift.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerfromthe808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks in advance for your comment about your stay in our Meninas 4* Hotel.

We are located in the heart of Madrid. Next to the Opera House and 3 minutes walking from the Royal Palace. Also if you are coming from the airport, the Opera station is 2 minutes walking from here.

We have differents types of rooms, one of theses is the Double Mini room, for one or two people. However, for the next time you come to the Hotel will be a pleasure for us if its possible offer you a twin or double room , which are a little bit bigger.

We look forward to see you again, and do not hesitate to visit our website to get the best offers and promos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#145 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#45 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel

Property: Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Campomanes 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Madrid
#107 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meninas Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing