We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located in quieter old street, good room above the street, but wifi battled.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #152 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Well located in quieter old street, good room above the street, but wifi battled.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel basically worked. The room was spacious with a narrow balcony above the narrow old street which curves up from Opera. Bathroom fine. Used the old foot-worn wooden stairs a lot. But the wifi battled, apparently because it was overloaded by people travelling with so many „devices“ these days. Used the gym in the sister hotel round the corner. Small, and no weights, and a ratty old trainer bike but much better than nothing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks a lot for your comment about your stay in our Hotel Meninas located in the heart of Madrid.

Our Hotel is a very old building which dates from nineteenth century. However, all our rooms and common areas are alredy remodeled and we keep our gorgeous and old stairs which are a traditional element of this building.

About the Wifi, it has been already changed and it is working fine. We hope for the next time you come you can use it.

We look forward to see you soon again, and remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and seasonal offers

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    340
    92
    38
    30
See reviews for
178
422
74
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Sadly, I would not recommend this hotel, though with some small charges, I could change my mind. The location is quite charming, and it is located on a quiet street, but upon entry into the lobby, the first thing I noticed was how dirty the rugs were in the lobby. The walls are in need of some painting as well, but my chief complaints were how terrible the Internet connection was (not accessible from our room and only in the stairwell or in the lobby, dreadfully slow, and not working at all the next morning); the lack of access to coffee (or even mugs) before their restaurant opens (which I am recalling is 7:30am), and the size of our room was about 9 ft by 12ft, not including the small closet or bathroom (shower only). To accommodate two suitcases, one sits by the front door, requiring you to squeeze out the partially opened door (and same into the bathroom), and the other suitcase sat on the floor between the bed and the TV desk requiring the other person to step over it to get to the bathroom. The room did have a safe. Installing a $20 electric teapot to heat water, plus adding two mugs in the room, and fixing the Internet, would go a long way to improve the experience here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gtgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My review is based on having done a lot of travel in Europe and having stayed at all sorts of hotels.

We fortunately stayed for only one night at the Hotel Meninas. The hotel is definitely showing its age. The lobby felt dated, the hallway wallpaper ripped or chipped and the rooms are tiny. Our rooms shower door was broken and the staff didn't seem too proactive about fixing it.

There was also no wifi in the rooms - which is a huge miss. We were told that the only place to get wifi was the lobby. It was barely working there as well. There were at least 4 other guests trying in vain to get wifi on their iPads.

If you have an early flight consider yourself out of luck for getting even a cup of coffee in the morning. The restaurant opens at 7:30am and when we were asked for some coffee at 7:15am they said they couldn't give us any. We just asked for boiling water as we had Starbucks coffee sticks and they literally gave us just some hot water in a small server. No cups or milk. Not sure how they thought we could actually use the water.

This hotel has definitely passed its prime. There are too many better options in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hotel Meninas in Madrid is an excellent botique hotel in a great location close to the Opera House . It is modern and clean with clean and comfortable rooms and a good breakfast . . Staff at reception are excellent especially Fernando who gave us advice about the city and restaurants Only criticism was the shower in our room which had a slippery floor with both shower doors opening offering no support when I slipped. Location close to Palace , metro and the wonderful San Miguel market . Wi Fi only operates in the lobby /reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for dedicate a few minutes to leave your comment about your stay in our Meninas Hotel located in the heart of Madrid.

We will transfer your great comment to Fernando. We like to recommend places to visit, and to enjoy the traditional spanish life and not only the most touristic places.

Its a pleasure to know that you liked our rooms. Also our buffet breakfast is prepared every moorning with homemade and fresh products for all our clients.

About the problem with the doors, we have already talked to fix it as soon as possible.

We look forward to see you soon again, and remember you can visit our website to enjoy our seasonal promos and offer for the next time you come.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't stress enough how great the location of this hotel is. It is sooo close to the royal palace and yet tucked down a very quite street(unlike the majority of the centrally located hotels that are mostly on main roads or noisy pedestrian areas) and in a comparatively up-market neighbourhood.
The reception team could not have been friendlier or more helpful. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and offered a selection of rooms that we could take our pick from. Once we selected our room the receptionist offered us personal recommendations of places to see and places to eat! We thought that this was a really nice touch and was surprised to find the rest of the reception team equally as friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only negative about the hotel would be the general state of repair (chipped paint on woodwork, bathroom fittings broken etc) which is a shame as it really lets down the staff that made so much of an effort to make us comfortable.

Room Tip: The internal facing rooms are really dark and a bit smaller than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianBonfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment about your stay in Our Meninas Hotel located in the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure for us having customers who appreciate our effort.We are located next to the best touristic places to visit, and very close to the most famous areas for taste some Spanish.

We look forward to hearing from you soon to conitnue offering our help and our best smile as every day.

Remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The most outstanding feature of Hotel Meninas is its location – right in the heart of Madrid. Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace, delicious restaurants and tapas bars (including Sobrino de Botin – the oldest running restaurant in the world) are all within a few minutes walk. Also, the Opera and a metro station and bus station are just at the end of the street. The hotel has a relaxing and informal atmosphere, with friendly staff and free Wifi. For us it was like an oasis of piece and quiet in the middle of a hot summer day. Both my husband and I were happy with the quality of the sleep we got here and also enjoyed the small breakfast served in this unusual setting at level -1, in what seemed to be an old brick cellar. On our last day, since we left very early, they had a picnic prepared for us, with a delicious sandwich, juice and 2 pieces of fruit for each. We really appreciated the attention paid to details and just how helpful everyone was.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks a lot for your comment about your perfect stay at Madrid and in Our Meninas hotel located in the Heart of Madrid.

As tou told before, we are close to the best areas, for tapas, nice restaurants, shopping, but also our hotel offers the calm if you want to relax at the end of the day.

Our buffet breaksfast is offered in the first floor undergroung, in a comfy and old dinning room with all type of fresh and homemade products.

Of course that if you are leaving early in the moorning we will prepare you some picnics to have a nice breakfast.

We try to offer our best service and smile every day.

We look forward to hearing from you soon and remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We read the reviews before booking the Hotel Meninas, so of course we were expecting to get a great location. And so it is! The street is quite, so you have a good night's sleep (if you want) but, at the same time, it is close to the Opera, the Palace, the subway, Mercado san Miguel, shops, restaurants...
The wi-fi does not work properly, as mentioned in most reviews. We needed to check in on line so we had to do so through the computer of the Hotel, in the Reception!
We booked a junior suite, which was spacious, with a small lobby with a sofa-bed, and had a nice decor. The room on the 4th floor and it was very quitet.
For us, the least well rated feature has to be the breakfast. It is average, with one or 2 choices of cereals and yougurts, eggs, bacon and sausages, but there is a lack of more healthy options such as freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade cake, light cheese.
Overall, we had a great time and will return soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlonso, Gerente at Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks you for your comment abour your great stay at our Meninas Hotel located in the Heart of Madrid.

As you mentioned before, our Hotel is located in the centre of Madrid next to the Opera House and the Royal Palace, but in a quiet street, perfect to visit the most important and touristic places but also to relax and chilling when you come back to the Hotel at the end of the day.

Our Junior Suite Rooms, can be for three or four people. You have your own room but also there is a little lobby with another sofa-bed, perfect if you want to have your own privacy or if you are travelling with your family.

About the breaksfast, we try to offer every moorning all type of products and variety for all of our customers.

We look forward to see you again, and dont forget you can continue visiting our best promos and offers in our website,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel

Property: Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Campomanes 7, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Family Hotel in Madrid
#103 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meninas Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing