We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sweet Gem in the center of Madrid”
Review of Hostal La Plata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal La Plata
Ranked #103 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Right on Gran Via close to Montera, a walk or subway ride to everything you'd want to do in the middle of Madrid: Museums, the Park, shopping, restaurants, el Rastro on Sunday. Elevators (to the 4th floor, laPlata has a few rooms one flight up) and night door security. Don't let the word "hostal' put you off, it is NOT the dormitory free-for-all of our or your parents' lost youth. LaPlata is more like a 'pensione', a small family run bank of rooms, each with its own bath and most with tiny walk-out balconies overlooking the street behind Gran Via. Best part of laPlata besides location and price (45euro for a double!!) is the management. Fernando, Juliana, and Camelia (who all speak English!!) just made our stay so much more personal; they directed us to restaurants the locals frequent and helped us get an interim room for our return stay (we had a few days in Madrid then 2+weeks in Morocco with another 3 nights in Madrid on our return...we could only get 2 nights with them and they found a spot for us for the 3d at one of the other hostals in the building).
Downsides (if you live long enough you will see there are ALWAYS pluses and minuses): only one outlet in the room...but I had brought a converter and a 3 outlet plug-in so I was able to charge the cell, my Kindle and computer at once...just make sure you shut the toilet, outlet's in the bathroom!! The street out back Caballero de Gracia can get a bit raucous...there are 2 sets of windows to shut out the party and those work pretty well. Rooms are small and bath tiny but friends were paying upwards of 150euro for the equivalent of a Red Roof room...I would take the warmth, location and money saved at laPlata ANYday!!
Just a little bonus here: there is a WONDERFUL set of shops tucked upstairs from a standard grocery store. I only know how to get there like this:
out the door at laPlata, turn right and cross Gran Via at Clavel...go up Clavel 4-5 long blocks to Figueroa and turn right one block and find Mercado de San Anton...there is a COR supermarket at street level but UPstairs is a WONDERFUL stall market with cheese and fab meats, pastries...we bought wine, fruit and goodies, took it all to the beautiful park and had a fab dinner where people have picniced for hundreds of years...
Also there is the Gloria Montera restaurant on Caballero de Gracia behind laPlata with pretty good food and prices...the waiters are snotty but so what...another block back on los Jardines is a little Internet place to get a SIM card if you brought an unlocked euro phone or you can just get a cheap phone for 20euro from them and save a bundle on cell calls!! These only work in Spain as far as I know but the minutes are dirt cheap and you can call the US no problem!!
I would stay at laPlata any time I am in Madrid...clean and warm!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crux101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I visited Madrid for the second time this year. This time I wanted to find the cheap hotel which was close to the Plaza de Cibeles. So it was the perfect choice for this. I slept there only one night. The room was almost at the roof, very tiny, and the bathroom would not be apprioprate for someone who is more than 1,80 m tall :) The bath was just too tiny :) And I did not like the wooden stairs which were necessary to use to get to my room. Not recommend it for people with small children - to tricky! But for one night - just great location.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the 4th floor and at the 5th (which was the attic before I guess). If you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wil919
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I visited Madrid at the start of September - the Hostal could be a little tricky to find the first time but once you find it (not far from the bus or metro stop) you won't miss it again.

The rooms were very tidy - well decorated and cosy for a single person and/or a couple that are looking for a place to stay. The size is tiny, but it was more than enough. The bathroom could have been a dissapointment but you get what you pay for!

Have the door man down the bottom is good as well as feeling a bit more secure - he was more than happy to help after knowing you were staying there rather than being a simple door man.

If I was to come back to Madrid, I would visit this place as the room and location was about the best of my four week trip throughout Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service desk - otherwise you may have a bit of noise from all the comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiderious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Location: Great, in Gran via, walking distance to many of the attraccions and main sights. Grand building.
Cleanliness: Good enough. Shower was leaking, they didn't change the towels in 3 nights.I think that the cleaner had a lazy weekend.
Service: very nice people, friendly and helpful.
Value: we couldn't find a double room so we had to stay on a triple (eur60 a night)
The walls are thin, yes, not easy to sleep when you have a drunk man next door shouting at 5am on a Sunday morning.
All in all, good enough, we will go back.
Madrid is one of the best cities I've ever visited, I had a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This hostal is very decently priced but you are getting what you are paying for. The rooms are tiny, but cozy(ish) and very clean. It was nice to have a private bath. The downside is that the hostal itself is has thin walls and thus can be very loud if people are in the halls. On the upside the location could not be better. It is located on the Gran Via and just one small street from Puerta del Sol. The majority of the staff is very friendly, although there was one woman who was rude. The security is also excellent, during the day you must be buzzed in and in the night there is a 24hr. doorman. For people on budget I would highly recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmagic41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Rio Mino
Hostal Rio Mino
#144 of 283 in Madrid
18 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 283 in Madrid
397 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Machin
Hostal Machin
#190 of 283 in Madrid
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
Casa de Huespedes Lourdes
#83 of 283 in Madrid
20 reviews
Centro
JQC Rooms
JQC Rooms
#212 of 283 in Madrid
96 reviews
Centro
Hostal Alicante
Hostal Alicante
#215 of 283 in Madrid
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Plata

Address: Gran via, 15 4b, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: £39 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal La Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Plata Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing