We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located hotel, good rooms and service, bad internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace President Castellana
Ranked #125 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The hotel is well located in the central part of Madrid, close to transit and within walking of many good restaurants, tourist areas, and shops. The room was well equipped and laid out (except that my safe wouldn't lock), however there was no iron, and the bathroom is looking a bit worn and tired. The staff were exceptionally nice, the food was delicious, but the internet stunk. I could not get the wifi to work for me and the plug in internet was painfully slow. I was here for a meeting and meeting facilities were good overall but a bit cramped. There is no gym here but they have a deal with a nearby Reebok fitness facility for 15 Euro a day. Overall more good than bad here (and beware the rock hard bed if you don't like firm mattresses!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Gerente at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write and send us your feedback, it helps us to improve. We are glad to know you enjoyed our location and services. However, we do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the wifi conection. We inform you that we fixed it immediately.

Kind regards,
Mª Prado Nombela | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Petit Palace President Castellana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Booked the hotel for a 2 day conference and overall it was a good choice. All of the staff were very helpful and polite, particularly Sonia who went out of her way to help us - no request was too much trouble for her and everybody commented on this. Food was good, rooms clean and comfortable though not too keen on the ambient lighting. The only major flaw was the awful wi-fi which just did not deliver. As we were holding a workshop we need access to the internet and this was just impossible. This alone would question my booking the same hotel again for a meeting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogercook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Gerente at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Roger,

We appreciate the time you took to write your comment and sorry for the inconvenience. Your feedback helps us to improve our services.

We are glad to know that our hotel and services were to your liking. However, please, accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may be caused by the Wi-Fi connection. We inform you that we fixed it immediately.

Hoping you would be able to visit us again, I reiterate my apologies.

Best regards.
Mª Prado Nombela | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I travel to Madrid regularly on business and although the High Tech President is not my first choice, neither am I particularly disappointed when I stay there. The service is very friendly, the bathroom is fine (good shower, no bath). WiFi worked fine, TV had lots of channels and the bed was nice and firm. Breakfast mildly disappointing but not very different from competing hotels in the area. I like the location, handy for a few bars and restaurants close by. The lifts are a bit slow and I'm not a big fan of this chain's corridor lighting scheme but nor does it bother me excessively. One thing I did think was strange - the combination of children's bunk beds and decorative photos of naked people in the same room...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear guest:

Thanks to inform to our staff and to Tripadvisor user´s about your stay and experience in High Tech President Castellana .
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope you find the time to return to Madrid and stay with us again, you will be very welcome!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

A short biz trip to Madrid.
The Internet only worked in the reception on my laptop.
The staff although trying to be helpful we're not.
-1 outside, the heating was off in the room when I came back after dinner and took 2 hours to get up to temp.
Got up in the middle of the night to have a glass of water. And only hot water coming out of tap, which was scolding.
The bedside table was on such a slant that the mobile fell off twice.

Not very high Tec!

Room Tip: Don't.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Gerente at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback; it helps us to improve our services day by day.

We regret the inconvenience caused by the internet connection during your stay and let you know it was immediately fixed.

We want to reiterate our apologies and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards.
Mª Prado Nombela | Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After spending a few days at a Centro hotel I had to switch for a business conference to this hotel, and frankly the 3 star was much better. First the neighborhood...it's much less interesting unless you like high-end shops and all in all was pretty sterile for me, especially after staying close to Calle Huertas and Plaza Santa Ana the week before. The staff here were friendly enough for sure. But the price/value is not very good and for a 4 star it certainly needs updating. Rooms were fine except they had one light switch that turns on blue runner lights under the bed...pretty cheesy. And the cabinets were covered with a cheap veneer sort of masonite look that shows its age. Elevators were well worn as well, with dust collected around the upper edges. All in all fine, I suppose, but certainly not for the nightly rate I was charged; the Centro hotel was half the rate and much better. So, if you want the flavor of Madrid and all its wonderful energy around you, check out the Santa Ana Plaza area instead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacliffer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback which always helps us to improve.

We regret that the hotel location was not of your liking and we definitely understand that if you were searching an establishment located near the night life clubs, restaurants and business, exclusive area of el Barrio de Salamanca (Plaza de Colón- Castellana- Calle Serrano), where our hotel is located, whould not offer what Plaza de Santa Ana does.

The Petit Palace President Castellana allows guests to enjoy peace of mind but it is a 15 minutes walk or about 5 minutes by taxi away from the city centre.

We want to reiterate our apologies and, if you stay with us again, we hope you may enjoy our location without giving up the centre and its charm five minutes from us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel is located centrally in Madrid within walking distance from an array of shops, resturants and nightlife. There is also a nightclub next-door but despite this you cannot hear this in your rooms. The Hard Rock cafe is a 3 minute walk down the road and just the same as every other Hard Rock cafe in the world (why do I still pay them a visit?).

7 of us aged mid to late 20's embarked on a weekend of fun in Madrid this November. It is definitely worth taking the tour of Real Madrid's stadium (19 euros). I loved the Stadium but will be keeping Barcelona as my Spanish team. On nights out the drinks are expensive but no more then any other capital city.

I would recommend this hotel as it is clean, with friendly staff, laptop with internet access and tv in your room. Also free wifi used by us for iphone's.

Madrid es una ciudad hermosa llena de gente amable

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan_Dominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Madrid. We would be more than happy to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The location is very convenient. Walking distance from almost everything - shops, metro, bus. The room is very small, with little place to put things. The room was also extremely hot as the aircon doesn't blow cool air in "winter" - so you sleep naked on your bed while sweating. Wi-fi is free and good enough. Breakfast is standard. Everything was clean and well maintained . Staff could even speak some english - unusual in Madrid. My rating would be better if the room had ventilation

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank TravelBabeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace President Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear client,

Thank you very much for you comment about our High Tech President Castellana. We will bear in mind your comment about the ventilation room. We will do our best to improve in this issue. Your feedback helps us to improve.

Hope to see you again soon .

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#72 of 438 in Madrid
635 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#169 of 438 in Madrid
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Serrano
Hotel Serrano
#280 of 438 in Madrid
134 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#141 of 438 in Madrid
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace President Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace President Castellana

Address: Calle Marques de Villamagna 4, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Formerly High Tech President Castellana)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#142 Business Hotel in Madrid
#147 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £91 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace President Castellana 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petit Palace President Castellana Hotel is a luxury hotel on Paseo de la Castellana, with a modern design devised for business and weekend trips to Madrid. Located in the most exclusive commercial area of Madrid, this innovative hotel in La Castellana offers you luxury services and unique spaces for events: à la carte restaurants, free wifi, iPad in the room, iPod and iPhone docking station, meeting rooms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace President Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Tech President Castellana Hotel Madrid
High Tech President Villamagna Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing