We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a low budget in Madrid”
Review of Hostal Felipe V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Felipe V
Ranked #300 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for a low budget in Madrid”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Me and my wife spent a few days at this hostel and were absolutely satisfied with it. Its is well located steps from the subway and a few blocks from Puerta del sol and it's surropundings. Service is very good also.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
36
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel and woke up to find that I had been bitten about 20 times by bed bugs on my legs. This was confirmed by both a pharmacist and a doctor. The hotel may appear to be clean but the mattress and bed linen were old. The room smelt musty and the bathroom was tiny and could have been cleaner. I left the hotel after just one night and in the morning I requested an official complaints form. The member of staff I spoke to said she didn't know where they were and was generally very unhelpful and unapologetic. I plan to take this matter further and contact the relevant authorities since a) failing to provide a complaints form when requested is illegal in Spain and b) bed bug infestation is a serious problem that puts public health at risk. I was still charged for the room despite my complaints, which I find totally unacceptable and so I am following this up with the manager this week. I would strongly encourage anyone to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELRESPETOSEGANA, Propietario at Hostal Felipe V, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
This comment and its content is considered defamatory, abusive, insulting and completely untrue.


This lady stayed only one night (arrived at 23 pm and left early 8 am, publishes this commentary damages our reputation and image as it is completely false. Our facility meets all health rules laid down.
We are trying to think as they travel free at any time wanted to teach us anything about it, and she only wanted insitía ell when someone complains should not be charged for the room, so we understand that it is a form of free travel and that must be used to doing. For us it is a persona non grata and notify all the hotels that are not staying in their establishments this person.

No consent to these comments, and we have taken our measures. We regret that there are people who want to defame establishments with a strong reputation and can not do anything about it in online reputation.

Passengers should look at positive feedback most guests staying. We have a score of 8.5 / 10 for booking especially cleaning and treatment of staff and score 5/5 in Budget places.

We are very upset knowing that both the central reservation as others do not contrast these views that leave us completely helpless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I've stayed for 4 days in a single room, with AC, private bathroom, towels, and everything.
The staff was really helpful, Wifi worked really well in my room, the metro station Gran Via is really close to the building. The continental breakfast costed 4,50E, but I did not try it ...
The room had enough space for everything, with dresser, locker and a huge bed.
If you want a place to hang out and meet people, maybe it is not the best choice. I did not see any other guest during my stay.
I only do not give 5 stars because they do not have any late check out policy, reason why I had to pay an extra day, because my flight back home only departed in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandson666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is the 3rd time I've stayed here and I would not consider choosing anywhere else in Madrid. The location is unbeatable - Madrid is very compact and this spot on Gran Via is beautiful and right in the middle of everything, being only seconds from Gran Via Metro. The rooms are light, airy, brightly decorated and maintained to a very good standard. The bathrooms are a little small and in some rooms arranged a tad bizzarely, but you have to remember it is an old and very tastefully restored building adapted to house a number of hotels. Cleanliness is taken very seriously by the cheerful maids, and everyone from the owner to the night-porter is friendly, helpful and makes you feel welcome. The hotel is not 'basic' as described in other reviews and everything you could possibly want is right on your doorstep 24/7. If you prefer warm, friendly, cosy and being made to feel like you're staying with friends to the cold, clinical hotel chains - this place is for you. I will definately be back!

Room Tip: For great views ask for a room on Gran Via, for a silent, peacful night ask for a room on teh side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevex1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This is a very basic hotel in a great location for a reasonable price. The room provides the bare minimum, but with a comfortable bed and is very clean compared to most hotels of the same price level in Spain. The hotel is family run and not advertised well, so it seems to be rarely booked by US patrons - but its friendly staff and great location should make it a good choice for anyone interested in a good deal. The area is very busy, but very central, with public transport just two blocks away. Unfortunately some seedy areas are also close by, and petty crime is rampant throughout this particular neighborhood. However, there is security in the multilevel building, which houses many other small hotels and bed and breakfasts (Felipe V is on an upper floor it shares with a few other hotels). You should select this hotel if you want a simple clean room to sleep in and not much else. If you seek any amenities, it may prove too basic for you. We were OK with it, although I might opt for a bit more in a future stay in Madrid. Its perfect for students and those on a limited budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wise_rita
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I participated in the Pueblo Ingles program and spent 2 nights, 1 week apart, in 2 different rooms. The hotel is literally 2 minutes from the easy-to-use Metro, Gran Via station.

The beds were not fancy, instead of 2 pillows there was 1 body pillow, which I didn't care for. They beds weren't particularly comfortable, either.

The bathrooms could have been cleaner as there were some mysterious black hairs in the corners on the floor. The bathroom in room 26 was comically small. The door could not open all the way because of the toilet.

Location was the most important factor to me so for that this hotel gets 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Despite being hard to find (only a sign in the doorway with about 12 other hostels indicates Hostel Felipe's location), I don't have a single bad thing to say about the hostel. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hostel was my home away from home as I stayed there three separate times during my trip to Spain, Portugal and Morocco, each time I returned I was greeted by name and a big smile. Such a nice change from impersonal hotel chains. The rooms were clean, but sparse. I suggest asking for a room overlooking Calle de la Reina instead of Grand Via. Grand Via is quite loud at night and only one window separates you from the noise. the back is much quieter and you have a small enclosed balcony with two sets of windows that really shut out any noise.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestrlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Montecarlo
Hostal Montecarlo
#315 of 436 in Madrid
38 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Splendid
Hostal Splendid
#322 of 436 in Madrid
44 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
#380 of 436 in Madrid
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 436 in Madrid
216 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#264 of 436 in Madrid
122 reviews
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#288 of 436 in Madrid
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Felipe V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Felipe V

Property: Hostal Felipe V
Address: Calle Gran Via 4D, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Felipe V 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Felipe V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Felipe v Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing