We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a family house”
Review of Alvaro Residencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alvaro Residencia
Ranked #104 of 386 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Its a family house”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Its good but kind of weird. At night the street is very empty. And the owner lives there with her daughter. The bathrooms are clean but reaaaally small. We own 2 keys, one to enter the building and another one to enter the "hostel", the door is very hard to open. We have our own space in the kitchen to put our food and we can do our laundry there for 3€ or 5€. The location is very good, near plaza del sol e plaza Mayor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A warm welcome and clean rooms but the building was being renovated and consequently there was a lot of noise outside from around 8am. Shared kitchen, shower rooms and WC's. Free internet. Great central location and easy to get to by Metro from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We totally lucked out with this place, but would highly recommend it. It's about five minutes walk from the Plaza del Sol metro stop (confusingly called "Sol" on the maps) and in the very heart of Madrid. The owner, Dini, is super-nice and speaks some English and Italian as well. It is sort of like a B&B and a hostel combined, each person with their own room (doubles available), but with a little sitting area and a kitchen, also shared bathrooms and showers. Very clean, very friendly, great location. I would go back tomorrow if I went back to Madrid. Also great value: costs what a hostel would but for a private room!

Room Tip: The double has bunk beds, but they're huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariacalvo, Propietario at Alvaro Residencia, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
22 Marzo
Hi, thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us. We are very glad to know that you have been comfortable in our place. This is what we wish, that people who come here feel as if they were home.
Yu have also left a very nice souvenir as very nice people and I am aware that you enjoyed your stay in Madrid, walking around the whole central area.
We are in fact only 5 minutes away from Puerta del Sol, although the closest Metro Staion is Tirso de Milina, 100 metros away from our gate.
We hope you have another chance to come back.
Best regards and see you soon.

Adoración, Dori
Dirección
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights in October. The feel was great, with the hostel only having about six rooms. It felt like a home stay and we felt welcomed by the hostess

Great location - right near Plaza Mayor and a metro stop. The rooms had a wonderful antique charm about them. My only negative would be that as it is an old building, the soundproofing was not great. However, its mostly other couples or small families there and the guests were very respectful - not a party hostel - so people were more often than not quiet during our stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsia_reservation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We spent a nice night at Residencia Alvaro. The location is GREAT! You can see the Tirso de Molina metro stop from the front door, and its only about a 5 minute walk to Plaza Mayor. And its right behind a movie theater that shows films in their original language (a good place to see films in english!)

The hostel is small, with 7 rooms with double beds and sinks in the room and 2 bathrooms to share. The rooms themselves are cute and makes you feel like you are staying in someones home, which was nice. Theres a communal kitchen you could cook in and and cozy living area with a computer to use, and free wifi. The staff (one girl) was very friendly and spoke english.

For me, I found the beds a bit close to the door (and the hallway) for comfort because I could hear people walking down the hall right next to the door, but it wasn't a huge deal. Of course there weren't that many people in the hostel and no big parties like in other places, which was actually a relief.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pattyhberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#49 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Centro
Hostal Teran
Hostal Teran
#54 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Huespedes Toledo
Hostal Huespedes Toledo
#97 of 276 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#10 of 386 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#20 of 386 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#5 of 386 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvaro Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvaro Residencia

Property: Alvaro Residencia
Address: Conde Romanones, 8 ext, 20D, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 386 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city centre, 5 minutes from Mayor Square and 2 minutes from Tirso de Molina underground, our Residence will be like your own home. Kitchen layout for residents and guests with all items: refrigerators, crockery, cutlery, microwave, oven, toaster, iron ... And other common elements of a house.Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alvaro Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Alvaro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing