We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about a bad trip.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #101 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Talk about a bad trip.....”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Consider this: on arrival access to the hotel is partially blocked by street vendors who periodically are cleared out by the police. On checking in the staff is monosyllabic and perfunctory. Our room was on the 2nd floor...on approaching it we were aware of the darkness of the hallway, the grubby carpet and the faint smell of disinfectant in the air. On entering the room we noted the same darkness, the same carpet and window curtains worthy of the Addams family. The bathroom was large and modern and nearly as large as the bedroom, which contained a firm bed, suspiciously grey sheets and mismatched second hand furniture. Add to this a healthy dollop of street noise and what would you do? What we did was check out and go immediately to a modern 4 star which at the same price gave us all we might expect. As we checked out the only thing that interested the staff was that our bill was properly paid. Then - despite the persistence of sunlight - the door was locked behind us as we gladly walked away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Michael R,
I am really sorry about the stay you spent with us. Obviously this is not the feeling that we want for our guests. You are right about the lights on the second floor corridor, we had a problem with this, which has been already fixed up. Last month we started a hard cleaning process for the carpets in the corridors and rooms, but unfortunately during your stay we still had the second and forth floor left to clean. I am really worry about the atention given by our staff, and I would like to know more about your booking (name and date of arrival above all) in order to take the actions needed to improve this area, so I will appreciate if you can send me this information to my email: posadadelpeine@petitpalace.com
I apologize again for the inconveniences and bad feeling about yout stay. If you give us a second chance we will try our best to make you feel like at home.
Thanks for your time. Best regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    399
    146
    63
    35
See reviews for
297
379
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for a visit to Madrid.Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast with great variety.Helpful and efficient staff.There are many good local restaurants especially in the local plaza.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jscoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado jscoates,
Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras. Es fantastico ver que le ha gustado nuestra centrica ubicacion, nuestro desayuno buffet y sobretodo la atencion de nuestro personal.
Sera un placer volvereles a ver de nuevo por nuestro Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Reciba un cordial saludo,
David Chia
Jefe de Recepcion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic location between Plaza Mayor & Plaza del Sol. Ask for a corner room (ours was #102) which had 3 small balconies. Be warned though that it is very noisy into the night but loved being able to take in the streetscape from 2 different vantage points. Breakfast was adequate but only used it twice during our 4 night stay. Front desk staff was helpful in dinner suggestion which we used.

Room Tip: Corner room (think there's one on each floor) ending in 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsd5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear jsd5050,
Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing us, and for sending your opinion through tripadvisor.com
It is fantastic that you liked our location, one of the best if you are planning to visit this woderful city. As you do, I really like the triple rooms in the corner, the three balconys are amazing, giving it lots of light and wonderful streetscape.
It will be a pleasure to see you back in our Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Best regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay in soulless luxury, don't stay here. It's a brilliant hotel, full of character, with quirky touches, friendly, helpful staff and a brilliant location. The rooms are small, the shower is big and the extras make you feel valued. It can be noisy outside but, to my mind, that only adds to the character. My husband and I loved everything about it and will stay there again when we return to Madrid.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jane T,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It make me feel really happy to see that you liked our hotel that much. It is great that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
It would be a pleasure to see you back at Petit Palace Posada del Peine.
Best regards,
David Chía
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Excellent central Madrid location within walking distance to all the principal tourist sites and areas.
Besides a beautiful façade and good wifi, the hotel has little going for it.
The rooms are spartan, at best. The bed was too firm, the pillows too flat.
The bathroom is large but poorly designed. The toilet has been placed too close to the shower and one has to angle oneself into the shower stall.
Breakfast is a mediocre, forgettable affair.
This is not a petit palace and is a disappointment in the boutique hotel 4* category. I’d give it a maximum of 3*.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear newtella,
I regret so see that, appart from the location, you are not really satisfied about your stay with us.
Restoring such an old building, was a big challenge, and maybe some solutions, like your bathroom, can not satisfy all our guests.
Just dialing 9 on the phone room, you can reach the front desk, where our guests can request for extra or different pillows. All our mattress are from a high level brand (pikolin), but maybe they are not for all likings.
I can guarantee that we obey all the laws and requirements in Madrid for a 4 star hotel category.
Best regards,
David Chía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A lovely funky hotel to stay in. A really neat location which is close to the tourist areas and lots of exciting cafe's to hang-out.

My room was on the 4th floor and had a lovely outlook down an alleyway. Some street noise in late-evening but nothing bad. There was also some noise from the surrounding bedrooms. Some of our group had bad bedrooms (ie no window or no outlook). Wifi was good and there was a safe in the room. The shower is very good but some found it hard to operate.

The restaurant downstairs had a good breakfast and was big enough to take our large group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Front Office Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear guynz,
Thanks for leaving your review in tripadvisor.com, and for choosing us, of course.
As you said our hotel is very well located if you are planning a tourist visit into the old city center, one of the most beautiful and lively areas in Madrid.
I think there is a misunderstanding about the room without a window, as all our rooms have windows, maybe you were refering to interior rooms.
Some guests find our shower very confortable and relaxing, but hard to understand how to make it works, that is why we are working in a small manual that we wil include in the hotel directory that we leave in every room.
Thanks again, and best regards,
David Chía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great central location, free bikes, free Wi-Fi, free safe, good breakfasts, great for a city break. Spa shower, housekeeping daily, very firm beds which were the only downside to a great stay. Take the bikes to the rio for a great, safe bike ride.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPPosadaDelPeine, Public Relations Manager at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Sue C,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Borrowing our bikes is a great way to visit the city center, or as you did, to visit Madrid Rio, a very beatifull area of the city plenty of gardens, and not far from the hotel.
Our beds are from a very good brand (Pikolin) but, unfortunately, depending on the guest preferences and likes it may not be to everybody liking.
Thanks for choosing us, it will be a pleasure to see you back again here. Best regards,
David Chía
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#95 of 436 in Madrid
935 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#44 of 436 in Madrid
692 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#108 of 436 in Madrid
744 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#137 of 436 in Madrid
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Property: Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing