We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific”
Review of The Market Madrid

The Market Madrid
Ranked #14 of 10,912 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$58
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Market Madrid offers you the taste from different cuisines. We personally select our source of ingredients, our menus are seasonal and we constantly change them depending on what we find on the market everyday. We carefully choose our wines and liquors so we can pair them with your food. Our main goal is to offer a great experience in a beautiful and intimate atmosphere.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I was very suspicious of 10 maximum ratings but decided to give it a try as it is a newly opened restaurant. This is a family affair and, for those foreigners amongst us, the owner/maitre d/waiter speaks excellent English. In contrast to many restaurants in Madrid, which look great from the outside but the food is often of poor quality or monotonous or both, this didn't disappoint. Fresh and imaginatively presented dishes served efficiently, with a smile and at a reasonable price.

A pleasure, and I will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank dubhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    90
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excelent”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Had a really enjoyable dinner. Place has not been open long and I highly recommend it. The ought there were too many good reviews for it to be true but it is. Alert from the menu, which apparently changes each week, they also have daily special. Will be going back with the wife next time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great place to grab a quick bee, Awesome Atmosphere, offers a lot of different types of finger food… Lots of people, finding a seat can be a little tricky, but well worth it..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelingKnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An authentic culinary experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Last Saturday I went to have dinner at The Market Madrid with my girlfriend, and I have to admit that the experience was wonderful.
The place is small, originally decorated and with a very homey atmosphere. Concerning the plates I had, I can only say that the first and the second plate I ordered were " Wonderful". The staff " a luxury" ... It's a place that I highly recommend all lovers of international cuisine !!!
The Market Madrid is a place where I enjoyed a great dinner with great and professional service !! It's worthy trying !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdelmoughit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent seasonal food in great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had dinner here yesterday night and the experience was excellent. Small, cozy and wonderful place. First pleasant surprise: you can ask for half portions of almost everything, and it's worth it in order to try as many different things as possible. We shared two starters, two entrees and a dessert; everything was wonderful. Furthermore, they have a great wine selection and our waiter recommended a very nice bottle. The personnel is attentive and very effective. I strongly recommend this restaurant, the menu is Spanish traditional, seasonal with an original touch. Less than 50€ in total; definitely, a great choice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Market Madrid also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to The Market Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing