We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable option if you're staying just for 1 or 2 days in Madrid”
Review of Hostal Los Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Los Alpes
Ranked #34 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Hostal Los Alpes has a great location... just a block away from La Gran Via. The place is an hostal... it's in a building that is shared with some other hostal and it's rooms are distributed in the different floors. We only stayed one night and it served its purpose.-
The room was nicer than I expected and it had a very complete bathroom.
It's just a little bit noicy, but overall a really good and affordable option!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Los Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

The hostel (hotel) has a perfect location. Very close to all the main attractions, restaurants, 1 min from the Grand Via metro station (though most of the Madrid can be explored on foot), and right in the middle of a nice shopping strip. Dangerous if you love shopping, but I guess, the money you will save on this hotel you can invest in yourself. Overall, great location, clean and very reasonable priced. We had a room for 3 people for $56/night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoria1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Perfect location for sight seeing. Rooms very clean. Bathroom small but perfectly serviceable with clean towels each day. Good value and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clementina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very clean room. Helpful staff and very central for Chueca.
Bit noisy in the morning with water running and people chatting.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattnerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This hostal is in the 4 th floor, and you can go by stairs or by elevator.

If you need an early check-in like I did, they will keep your things without any extra fee, and you are free to explore Madrid.

As a solo traveler, I’ve chosen an individual room with a shared bathroom. Although the shared bathroom was very clean and appropriate, I actually only used it for the toilet, because the room had a private shower and wash basin.

The room was comfortable, clean and quiet; wasn’t disturbed by noise of traffic on the street or by other guests in the hostal.

The room was equipped with air-con and a save (1€/utilization), but I didn’t use it. Also, there is a LCD TV, but only had BBC international available.

The rate didn´t include breakfast (the hostal don’t provide this service) and it was 25€/night and for me this was a great deal considering the location.

Usually there isn´t anyone in the reception, so if you need to speak with someone you will have to use the bell.

Be aware that, when you are doing the check-in, you will be asked to pay the total of the amount for your stay in the hostal. The lady at the reception didn´t speak English, only Spanish. Although for me this wasn’t an issue, for those who don´t speak or understand Spanish, this could be a problem.

And also if you did a change in your initial reservation, when you are paying, confirm the total amount, because in my case initially I did a reservation for 4 night’s trough their website, and then I had to change it for only 3 nights, which I did and get the email confirmation. But when I was doing the check-in, the lady only had my first reservation, and after I’ve showed her, the confirmation of mu second reservation, the total amount was rectified.

After check in, you will be given a set of keys: one to your bedroom, other to the door of the Hostal in the 4th floor and a third one, that opens the door of the building, and in this way you can enter/leave the hostal 24h/day.

If you have to do an early check-out, in the last night, talk to the lady to arrange how you will deliver the keys. In my case, I just let them in the room.

This Hostal has a great location in Calle Fuencarral, that is just near by Gran Via subway station and Puerta del Sol. It´s a pedestrian street with a lot of stores, and this is just in the border of Cuenca and Malasaña district.

It’s a perfect location to explore Madrid, because you are in the middle of the city, and you can get to Debod Temple (don’t miss the sunset there!), Palacio Real or Cibeles Fountain with a 20 min walk!

Just near of the Hostal, there is Calle Infantas, and after a 3 min walk, you will find supermarket Dia at n. 38, which is open 7days/week from 9h30 until 21h.
Although at the late night or in the early morning (between 1a.m and 7a.m.) you can see some prostitution, I´ve always felt secure and I was a women travelling solo.

So, in a nutshell, if you are travelling alone, and just need the room to rest and take a bath, and with a good location, chose Hostal Los Alpes, otherwise you would probably get better else where.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisbon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The Hostal is very nice and clean. I highly recommend it because of its good price, perfect location and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an_toanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Excellent value for money on a quiet safe street near many attractions. Owner really nice and helpful. Room very clean, comfortable and quiet, and yes you can hear noises from other guests (but that is better than constant hooting of cars late at night whichI witnessed in other areas, or loud people out having a good night out. Don't miss out on the Cuenca area itself for great small quaint shops and huge selection of restaurants at ALL price ranges. I daily had gournet 3 course menu del dia between 3and 4pm costing only 9-12 euros then 2 hour siesta and able to set off for evening out walking all kinds of area. Never felt worried about my safety. Round corner from hostal are small local type bars, wonderful cake shop, wine/jamon bar, but nothing nearby to cause any noise. But, if you do want Brit food other side of Gran via you towards Puerta Sol you will find the Macdonalds etc.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
7 Islas Hotel
7 Islas Hotel
#71 of 438 in Madrid
1,338 reviews
Malasana
Hostal La Fontana
Hostal La Fontana
#46 of 278 in Madrid
262 reviews
Chueca
Hostal MH Fuencarral
Hostal MH Fuencarral
#17 of 278 in Madrid
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#23 of 412 in Madrid
836 reviews
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#17 of 412 in Madrid
527 reviews
Malasana
No photo provided
Ginebra
#128 of 412 in Madrid
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Los Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Alpes

Address: Calle Fuencarral 17, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: £38 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Los Alpes 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Los Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Alpes Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing