We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostal”
Review of Hostal Los Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Los Alpes
Ranked #32 of 396 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
“Great hostal”
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The Hostal is very nice and clean. I highly recommend it because of its good price, perfect location and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an_toanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    159
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
61
71
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sucina, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Excellent value for money on a quiet safe street near many attractions. Owner really nice and helpful. Room very clean, comfortable and quiet, and yes you can hear noises from other guests (but that is better than constant hooting of cars late at night whichI witnessed in other areas, or loud people out having a good night out. Don't miss out on the Cuenca area itself for great small quaint shops and huge selection of restaurants at ALL price ranges. I daily had gournet 3 course menu del dia between 3and 4pm costing only 9-12 euros then 2 hour siesta and able to set off for evening out walking all kinds of area. Never felt worried about my safety. Round corner from hostal are small local type bars, wonderful cake shop, wine/jamon bar, but nothing nearby to cause any noise. But, if you do want Brit food other side of Gran via you towards Puerta Sol you will find the Macdonalds etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2009

The accomodation was very clean and the two ladies that run the hostel were very nice. The location was very convenient as the hostel was situated right in the city centre and we had a wonderful stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aniuska26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2009

My trip to Spain was great, i got to go sight seeing while spending time with my family and the hotel was great. the hotel was clean and quiet, it was also very beneficial to the distances i traveled. not only that but the hotel looked very nice and provided nice service.

  • Liked — it was always clean and neat
  • Disliked — the beds were a bit stiff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmugui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

If you want a place to sleep and shower, this place is fine. If you want a hotel feel to your room, go elsewhere!

For the price, i was pleasantly surprised with what we got - small room but with a decent clean bath / shower and comfortable twin beds. There was a TV, wardrobe, Aircon and 1 Euro "per use" safe. It is on the 4th floor but there is a lift (but not suitable for disabled person as there is still one set of stairs to climb)

One minor problem was the lack English speaking staff and the "reception" was often empty.

It is well located and although it is true that there were some prostitues working by the tube station (3 mins away), but it always felt safe as the area is so busy.

  • Liked — It was cheap and centrally located
  • Disliked — A bit small!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Demmers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I stayed in a single room with shower room ensuite. It was passable, but not very inspiring. I didn't feel that my belongings would be particularly safe so I had to hide my valuables. The staff were helpful enough and I was allowed to leave my luggage there on my last day so that I could explore Madrid before leaving. It's on a very trendy street Fuencarral and there is a starbucks just up the road and a million shoeshops! However, just 5 mins walk the other way is a road with sex shops, so not so secure after dark. The bed was a bit lumpy and the view was non-existent. If you want a very cheap place to stay with absolutely no frills, go here. I would recommend Hostal Barrera instead, the rooms were brighter and larger (near the rail station Atocha and 2 mins walk from Museo Reina Sofia ), the place was more occupied and not so dingy. Still have to climb stairs though! I chose Los Alpes because another person in our group booked in there, but I think I would look carefully on tripadvisor in future before booking!

  • Liked — Not much, perhaps location
  • Disliked — Dark and dingy, not feeling very secure
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

It's a very bad hotel, bad service and very old and dirty room. Near of the Gran Via St.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JLArnao_Itaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#69 of 435 in Madrid
745 reviews
Chueca
Hostal MH Fuencarral
Hostal MH Fuencarral
#21 of 277 in Madrid
208 reviews
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#49 of 396 in Madrid
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Sonsoles
Hostal Sonsoles
#46 of 396 in Madrid
186 reviews
Centro
Hostal Luis XV
Hostal Luis XV
#68 of 396 in Madrid
290 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#6 of 277 in Madrid
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Los Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Los Alpes

Property: Hostal Los Alpes
Address: Calle Fuencarral 17, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 396 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Los Alpes 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Los Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Alpes Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing