We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, however too far from the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jardin Metropolitano
Ranked #55 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, however too far from the center”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is close to university campus and to metro station Cuatros Caminos.
In the area itself there is not much to do, so if you plan to go to the real lively center of Madrid you can take the metro.
The hotelrooms are very spacious and the beds are enormous, so you can always bring some friends :-)
The internet is free but very slow and sometimes you loose the connection.
The breakfast is good (really spanish style) and not so expensive.
It was a bit strange that you had to pay the room on beforehand, since in a normal hotel you do that at check-out.
All-in-all a good hotel if you need to be in that area (if not, move closer to the center).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowTrippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    243
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
144
139
31
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We just stayed at the hotel in Madrid. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are comfortable and we like the traditional style and ambiance of the hotel. A great place to stay.

However, we can't say that about the restaurant. We had dinner at the restaurant, and as some of the main courses were not available we ended up ordering the same main course for all 3 of us: Sirloin Steak. All the steaks were ordered "medium".

Two of the dishes came out cold from the kitchen, but cocked to order, one was well done. So we asked our waitress to correct the issue. When she returned, the two dishes that were cold got just re-heated, the one that was well done was replaced by a new steak. But - the new steak was not even to a level what you would consider "rare", it was refrigerator cold in the center. Obviously a clear insult from the kitchen. It was outrageous. Our waitress knew what was going on, and we felt very sorry for her. For the restaurant - avoid by all means. A steak can go wrong, but usually the kitchen will make sure that the next time it comes out perfect. Re-heating a dish is already border line, but insulting a guest by serving the replacement dish at refrigerator temperature (I am serious!) .... no comment.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not facing the front (major street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolf_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I have just come back from Madrid after a 3 night break at this lovely Hotel.
I really cant find any negatives at all with this Hotel.
We arrived at 1pm and was checked in smoothly and quickly. We was asked if we wanted a Smoking or Non Smoking Room, which was nice as we are Non smokers .
The room was beautiful and huge ! Lots of wardrobe space, and a bulit in safe.
All toiletries were there for us in the beautiful bathroom, along with a hairdryer.
Lovely commfortable bed, and a Pillow Menu !! So if we wanted harder or softer pillows we could fill in the request and have them delivered to our room.
We had a small fridge in the room stocked up with Mini Bar snacks and bottles, which obviously you would be chared for if used. We purchased our own waters in the Carrefours round the corner and they fitted in the fridge no problem.
Maybe the only thing that would have be nice was a small Kettle in the room to make yourself a hot drink, but I did ask if this was possible and although it wasnt, I was told that all I had to do if I wanted boiling water was ring Reception and they would bring me up a pot immediatley, which was brilliant.
The location was also excellent. Right near the Metro, which we used everyday to get into the centre of Madrid (so easy to use). Lots of shops around the Hotel and places to eat . We asked Reception to recommend a Chinese, and the man on the Desk gave me a drawn diagram showing me exactly where it was, and although it was off the beaten track it was worth the walk !
Fantastic little restaurant and fab food.

All of the staff at the Hotel were so polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and all spoke very good English.

Thank you to the Jardin Metropolitano for a lovely stay, we would definatley book here again if we went back to Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for a better view and also make sure you ask for a Non Smoking room if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Nice 4* hotel in Madrid, not in the centre but very close to Cuatro Caminos metro station.
The staff is nice, the breakfast buffet is correct.
The room is comfortable and spacious, with very big beds and a large bathroom (the hairdryer is not actually a hairdryer….so bring one with you).
The only bad thing was that when we checked in, the room smelled of cigarette! So if you aren't a smoker, ask for a non-smoking room!!
The decoration of the hotel is cute and there is free Wi-fi in every room!

Room Tip: ask for a no-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valespana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin Metropolitano, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear guest
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín Metropolitano hotel.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our room and that you found it large and clean. Thank you for the tips about our location and breakfast. We have transmitted your positive comments to our staff and we are really happy to read comments as yours. As you have pointed out, we have smoking and non smoking rooms, so if our guests advice in advance, we always try to offer a room according to our guest´s requirements.
Once more, thank you for the comment and we hope to see you again at VP Hotels.

Sandra Serrano
Public relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Excellent location - is situated in the very quiet area, near the metro station Cuatro Caminos.Breakfast is very nice. Rooms are rather big, bright and very well-equiped. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful: I have made a mistake in reservation and, as a consequence, in my reciept, but the manager (Tamara, if I am not mistaken) was very patient with me and helped although it was not very easy due to some technical matters.
Definetely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin Metropolitano, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín Metropolitano hotel.
It is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We sent your comments to our staff, especially to Tamara, and we are all really happy to read opinions such as yours recognizing our effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thanks for highlighting our location; we have a direct metro line just 100 meters from our front door which takes you directly to the historical center of Madrid in less than 10 minutes.
Once again, many thanks for your time, and we hope to see you again at VP Jardín Metropolitano hotel or at any of our VP Hoteles chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We spent a week here over Thanksgiving and location, staff, and rooms were great! Located in Cuatro Caminos, it was convenient to the Metro and area shopping. Once you get used to the neighborhood, there are plenty of places to eat and shop near-by.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgoosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin Metropolitano, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín Metropolitano hotel.
It is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We sent your comments to our staff and we are all really happy and motivated to read opinions such as yours. Regarding our location, we have a direct metro line just 100 meters from our front door which takes you directly to the historical center of Madrid in less than 10 minutes.
Many thanks again for your time, and if you decide to visit Madrid do not hesitate to come back to our VP Jardín Metropolitano hotel or to any of our VP Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I was in Madrid for a week on business and the conference i was attending had automatically chosen this hotel as one of the official hotels to stay in. it is about couple of minutes walk from the Cuatro Caminos metro station. In fact I took the metro from Barajas airport and while this station is not on the direct route from the airport line, you just need to change trains at Nuevos Ministerios, one stop away from Cuatro Caminos. The whole journey took me 25-30 minutes and was very pleasant.

The room i stayed in was reasonably sized, clean and comfortable. The only issue i had with the hotel is that one can hear people talking loudly in adjacent rooms. The first night i had checked in, i woke up to an argument coming from one of the adjacent rooms. It was probably 1.30 am at night. I had had a long flight and very little sleep and this was certainly not what i wanted. Thankfully this was only one night!

The restaurant is fairly ok. I only had breakfast here. The spread is reasonably good.
There are a few restaurants nearby if one is willing to explore ( I didn't) but otherwise you're just 10-12 minutes away from the center of the city that gives one a whole lot of options.

Overall a good hotel with friendly staff and great accessibility and oh yes, free wifi !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin Metropolitano, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín Metropolitano hotel.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed our room and that you found it large, confortable and clean. Sorry if we did not cover your expectation about soundproofing we are making the relevant studies to solve this issue as soon as possible. Thank you for the tips about our location. We are pleased to know that our good location made your trip more comfortable; and are happy to see that you also enjoyed leisure options close to our hotel.
Thank for the tips about our restaurant. We transmitted your positive comments to our staff.
Once more, thank you for the comment and we hope to see you again at VP Hoteles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#37 of 436 in Madrid
613 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 436 in Madrid
1,288 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Claridge
#59 of 436 in Madrid
858 reviews
Chueca
B&B Hotel Madrid Fuencarral 52
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin Metropolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin Metropolitano

Property: Jardin Metropolitano
Address: Avenida Reina Victoria 12 | A 100 Metros Del Metro Con Parada Directa a Gran Via, 28003 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#55 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#60 Business Hotel in Madrid
#71 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin Metropolitano 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in the heart of Madrid's finance district, just a few meters from the AZCA business park, the Paseo de la Castellana or the Real Madrid Stadium. It has 102 spacious rooms, exceptional naturally lit conference and banquet rooms with natural light and unique indoor gardens. If offers services such as: Free Wifi, restaurant and room service, parking with special rates for our clients, gym, and large family rooms. The nearest metro stop is located only 100 meters from our front door, and connects directly with the Madrid historical center (Gran Via) in less than 10 minutes. All the rooms have been totally soundproofed in august 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jardin Metropolitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Metropolitano Madrid
Jardin Metropolitano Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing