We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfy and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Petit Palace Alcala
Ranked #111 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Went to Madrid for two nights with two friends. We chose this hotel because of it's location and that was superb! Almost everything was in a walking-distance and if not, the nearest metro station is only 100 m away.
The hotel is, in my opinion, quite modest to be a four star hotel but anyway it was clean and the staff was very friendly.
We had informed the hotel that we would bring two dogs with us and when we went to our room there was a nice bed for dog too! (We didn't bring the dogs after all because our friends took care of them).
Our room was on 7th floor with a great view. The room itself was a bit small for three persons but hey, who comes to Madrid to spend their time in a hotel room?
Shower was great but unfortunately the drain was half blocked.
I read some complaints about non working wi-fi but in our room it worked perfectly. Lap-top's screen was not very good but when we dimmed lights enough we could read it...
Maybe not a perfect hotel if you are expecting something exclusive but for few nights in this prize category - fine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for the great review you posted on trip advisor. All the staff works hard in the hotel to ensure the majority of our guests have an enjoyable stay.

I look forward to meeting you upon your return.

Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed for 5 days on my first trip to Spain. The hotel is within walking distance of major places of interest and one of the stops on the airport bus (which costs only 2 euros and is the best way to get to the city centre from Terminal 4). Hotel is clean and bed was very comfortable. Wifi was free. Walking distance to Starbucks, Plaza del Sol, Gran Via, Turibus stops, Prado Museum, Thyssen, Plaza de los Cibeles...there's a metro stop close by too. Downside is you have to climb stairs to get to reception. If you have a lot of luggage then that's an issue!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank SimplePleasures24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your complimentary review of HT. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights,
Breakfast was ok, could be a bit more complete
Location was perfect, the rooms were dirty, walking around in the room gave black feet,
bathroom had a bad smell from the sewer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richardti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 June 2012

Dear Client,

First of all, we are sorry about the inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for your comments, they help us to improve every day.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here for four nights with friends, had read some of the reviews before going and wasn't too sure what to expect? infact wanted to cancel and re book elsewhere.
On arrival, the lobby, which you have to go up some stairs to, isn't too welcoming, but the staff more than make up for it, they are so nice and extremely helpfull, nothing was too much of a problem, the rooms are small, but clean, Our friends asked to move rooms as theirs only had one window and was quite dark, they did get another room and it was fine.
the breakfast is very continental, but great, more than adequate and on par with other hotels that we have stayed at.
We wouldn't say it was the 4*'s that it's been sold at, more like 3*
Very central to all locations, ideal!
Great shower!!!
The girls at reception were fantastic in recomending local places to eat.
TV channels only in Spanish, at least a news channel in English would be good? maybe thats something the can work on.
Overall, a good, clean place to stay for the weekend.

Room Tip: do not use room 307 it has a pillar in the centre of the room and only one window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace Alcalá. I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay hope you will join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We were a group of 5 people travelling to Madrid for work and were looking for a 2 bed-room apartment.

We came across this hotel on booking.com and decided to book this place as we saw nice pictures of a 2 bedroom apartment room with 2 bathrooms that could fit 6 people comforatbly for approx. 550 euros for 3 nights.

We checked into the hotel at 1pm and got the biggest shock of our lives!!!

The first shocking experience at this hotel was no bellboy service in a so called above average place like this. The worst part was, they had an elevator that goes up to the first floor which is your reception, and that elevator couldn't hold more than 1 person + 2 big bags. We had to haul the luggage from one end of the floor to another to go to our room on the 6th floor. And this elevator happened to be even smaller than the first one!

We finally get to our "apartment"! Calling this a studio would have been an exaggeration. It was a single room with 2 double-beds and a bunk bed. When we entered with our luggage which was 5 big suitcases and 5 carry-ons, the only way we could maneuver was by jumping over beds. It also had just 1 bathroom with a translucent door and no lock!

When we confronted the receptionist regarding this confusion, she mentioned that they had two 6 people rooms, one of which was the apartment and the other was this room. The reason this room was given to us is because the apartment was occupied. We were not informed about this change in advance nor were we offered an alternative at the same cost. Instead she gives us an option to get another 2 people room at an additional cost of 250 euros for 3 nights!

After arguing our way out of this mess, she agreed to cancel our booking at no cost and gave us an hour to find another hotel. She also gave us her unwanted advice that we wouldn't be able to find anything else in Madrid at the same cost!

However, within 10 minutes, we found another apartment just 2 kms away from this hotel, in a better location, thrice the size, with better interiors, 2 bathrooms, 3 double rooms and CHEAPER! We stayed at the Palafox Central Suites which turned out to be a better option.

The following day, we received an email from booking.com saying that the hotel has charged us 160 euros for no show. We are now in the middle of disputing that.

I must say, Petit Palace should be renamed to Très Petit Palace!

Room Tip: Official pictures of this hotel on any website are very deceptive. Please do not trust them. Not eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janki28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I could write 3 pages in between : the bad service (attitude of the staff, poor education, not even good morning...) the poor quality of the rooms equipment, it is supposed to be a "high tech hhotel", they are 8 channels in spanish and 2 in german, the rest of the world of course does not exist, the hallways are so dirty, my room was incredibly dirty, hair in the towel (not mine) dusty shelving, paper under the bed, sheets, mirors... all is bad... AND you can not sleep !!!!
It is soooooooooooo noisy, from inside and outside... You will hear flushing all hotels, not talking about the housekeepers in the morning, doors... anyway... my worst stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed here in early Sept 2011 as a solo female (mid-40's) traveler. Location was pretty central. I was able to walk everywhere. Didn't take the public transport. I took a day tour to Toledo, which was very good. The breakfast and room it was served in was good. Always had yogurt, eggs, cured meats, cereal, good coffee, etc. The staff was polite and helpful. The bathroom was pretty large and modern for European standards. Body shower, rain shower and hand-held. Slate floors. I was in room 714 (I think), but I don't believe it was any different than any other room. Oh, and had a fridge in the room to store misc. pastries I had from the day. That was a plus. Italian restaurant around the corner was excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnygirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#115 of 438 in Madrid
774 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Alcala

Address: Calle Virgen de los Peligros 2 | (Esquina con Alcala, 23), 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Alcala Torre)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £70 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Alcala 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Petit Palace Alcala!! The hotel is situated it the heart of the city centre, in the well known "Alcala" street, right next to the famous "Puerta del Sol" in the historic and monumental district of the city. The outstanding building is a replica of a well known sky scraper found in Chicago and has a total of 12 floors, allowing privileged views of Madrid from the top 5 floors. All of the 60 modern rooms are equipped with the latest technological innovations; like hydro-massage showers, free Wifi Premium connection. Free use of Ipad (under request) With a complete renovation in 2008, the hotel is proud to offer comfortable accommodation with modern, designer furniture and decoration. Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants and shopping and possibilities to reserve local excursions. Double, triple or quadruple, with views of the city or interior - don't hesitate to contact us with your special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Palace Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing