We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Palace Alcala
Ranked #104 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern and well located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Rooms are big and well suited for two, as well as for a family (3). The restaurant is nice and confortable, good for breakfast.

Close to many places and Metro Madrid. Plaza del Sol is three blocks away.

A plus: rooms are fitted with laptops, fully internet connected. Also, Wi-fi is very good and free; even you can get the signal outside.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check-in was vey fast.

Lifts are pretty narrow, but very functional and secure. Using with large luggage may require several trips.

The hotel is secure in all aspects; I forgot a purse filled with personal items in the lobby, and the staff kept it safe till my return. Nothing was missing. That´s really a good plus for the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter. When arriving, there is a lift on the rigt side, so you avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C, Revenue Manager at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Enrique D!
We are very happy that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one and would like to thank you for sharing this with everyone on Tripadvisor.
Its true that our hotel is ideally located in the city centre and an area abuntant with bars and cafes and just a few metres walking from the city centre.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    256
    105
    55
    27
See reviews for
205
213
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights in this hotel in Madrid this week. I chose this hotel as it was ideally located in the heart of Madrid and right next to a tube station.
The first receptionist was a nice guy, he made us fill-in a lot of papers with our names and address during the check-in, which is weird as we made the reservation via their webiste and had to provide the same information... the room was just OK. The typical old hotel that has been quickly renovated by adding layers of painting on top of the old ones. As a result you get this weirdly furnished and decorated rooms that could seem quirky at first sight but that never really meet your expectations. There was a nasty smell in the corridors, probably due to the products they use to clean the carpets.
The icing on the cake was the receptionists we had on the last day. These 2 women were hasty, rude, and so uninterested. They talked to me like if I was a 5 year old that was getting on their nerves whereas I was only there to make my check-out and hand back my room keys. When I asked for a taxi, with the same impolite tone, they told me to get on in the street... my wife and I had 4 suitcases and wouldn't mind a bit of help or a bit of customer service... just forget about this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptitjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kielce, Swietokrzyskie, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Excellent location in the center. Very nice and helpful front desk staff. Laptop in a room is a big advantage. An earlier request was fulfilled nice room, I got a room with a balcony, which in comparison with others is a big advantage. At the end of advantages. The room was very small. I do not know how to meet the standard of 4 stars. The room was dirty, smelly cigarettes curtains, cobwebs. Window frame covered with black dirt. Price quite high, definitely worth to live farther from the city center for less money, in much better conditions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

stayed here for 3 nights 23-26 August. check in went really smooth, pleasant friendly helpful staff. bit disappointed with the room firstly only on the 4th floor (no higher floors available that day) which is a smoking floor and we don't smoke! secondly no view out of window so had to go onto the small balcony to see anything! room ok, bed really comfy, just a wardrobe to put things in, no draws to put anything in, and no mirror in room! bathroom wow that was modern, spacious and clean with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer! but has the only mirror so if 2 people are getting ready and one is using the bathroom the other has to wait!!!!! on the plus side there is a lap top in the room for you to use free of charge and also there is free wi-fi in the hotel! although busy outside day and night once you close the balcony doors you don't hear any noise. continental breakfast was included in our room rate and had plenty to choose from although the breakfast room could do with a lick of paint in places i.e. the steps and the chipped plates could be removed also light shades looked grubby!!! The hotel itself is in a fab location with plenty of sights within walking distance. do i recommend this hotel yes for location, as for rooms don't expect to much (obviously can only judge on our room) but then your not in Madrid to spend a lot of time in your room!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel. Hope see you again in one of ours hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great Communication when air conditioner went out they were very prompt at getting us in another near by hotel of equal or better value

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz C, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review of HT. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel earlier this year. I've had the opportunity to travel around the world and stay at many hotels. This hotel really fits in the category of "two ends of the spectrum." On one hand the hotel is located in a great location in close proximity to Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor, as well as many other great tourist streets and buildings nearby. On the other hand, the hotel does not meet the expectations of a "4-star" hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful and very nice. Raquel, in particular, was always smiling and very knowledgeable, and was definitely the most professional staff member I encountered at the hotel. She worked above and beyond what you would expect from the front desk, but really they are far overworked, and the hotel doesn´t support their hard work. The manager at the front desk was rude and unpolite, and I question her credentials and education to be in the position she is in. However, despite all Raquel's effort to give us the best experience at the hotel, sadly the hotel itself does not meet up to the expectations of a hotel that is "4-stars." I have a hard time believing this hotel is a 4-star hotel, because management decisions are extremely poor, some of the rooms are extremely small, and the maintenance and upkeep of the hotel is in poor condition (the showers were plugged, the heater didn´t work, the internet hardly ever works, and the beds are super uncomfortable). My first room was so small that I mistaked it for a maintenance closet. Thankfully, Raquel was wonderful and my room changed! Note there is no fitness area, the elevators are extremely small, and there is no bell-boy to help you carry your luggage up the stairs. Also, be prepared for an extremely expensive breakfast. It's much wiser for you to go outside the hotel, around the corner or across the street for breakfast for half the price. It's puzzling that a hotel that claims it is a 4-star hotel can have as many problems as this one does. I would come to expect some of these deficiencies from a 3-star hotel. Although the front desk staff and the location are great, the price you are paying to stay at this hotel is extremely high for the quality of this hotel. It's not a high tech hotel, as their name suggests. Don't be fooled by the beautiful lobby...the rest of the hotel does not meet these same standards. I would recommend this hotel only if you are coming to Madrid for a few days, with very little luggage. However, if you plan to stay more than 2 days, there's other great hotels in the same location for the city, with comparable prices for a better value for your dollar.

Room Tip: Hope you have Raquel at the front desk to help you. Otherwise, if you have to deal with their manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria G, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Alcala, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear guest:

First of all, thank you for your comment and your kind words to our reception department, because they always try their best to make your stay the best. On the other hand, we regret not having met your expectations. We promise to work on your comment to improve our services. Finally, thank you to recommend us for future stays. We hope to see you again in order to show the improvements that we will make.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Vincci Centrum
Vincci Centrum
#86 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#69 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#112 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#92 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Alcala

Property: Petit Palace Alcala
Address: Calle Virgen de los Peligros 2 | (Esquina con Alcala, 23), 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Alcala Torre)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Petit Palace Alcala!! The hotel is situated it the heart of the city centre, in the well known "Alcala" street, right next to the famous "Puerta del Sol" in the historic and monumental district of the city. The outstanding building is a replica of a well known sky scraper found in Chicago and has a total of 12 floors, allowing privileged views of Madrid from the top 5 floors. All of the 60 modern rooms are equipped with the latest technological innovations; like hydro-massage showers, free Wifi Premium connection. Free use of Ipad (under request) With a complete renovation in 2008, the hotel is proud to offer comfortable accommodation with modern, designer furniture and decoration. Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants and shopping and possibilities to reserve local excursions. Double, triple or quadruple, with views of the city or interior - don't hesitate to contact us with your special preferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Hotel Madrid
Petit Palace Alcala Torre Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing